English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Misc > MarketPlace

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 January 2020, 18:48   #1
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,275
Wanted: A3000 SUPER DMAC 4 390537-04 or RAMSEY 4 390541-04

Since I bought an AA3000+ board I'm hunting down all the ICs. The proper DMAC & RAMSEY is the hardest to come by.
I now have a DMAC 2 & RAMSEY 7, but that's supposedly not a stable combination.

So I'm looking for either a Super DMAC 4 390537-04 or RAMSEY 4 390541-04.
So if anybody has either of these ICs, for a reasonable price please let me know. I could even trade a RAMSEY 4 for a SUPER DMAC 2, since I have 2 now.

A (battery-leak) rotten A3000 mainboard with working RAMSEY 4 or (imagine) A4000T mainboard with DMAC 4 I will also consider.
spudje is offline  
Old 12 January 2020, 00:50   #2
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 41
Posts: 618
A4000T has no DMAC. The NCR SCSI controller in it can do DMA by itself on the motherboard 68030 local bus.
patrik is offline  
Old 12 January 2020, 09:59   #3
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 8,825
The DMAC4 was only shipped with the A3000T/040 as far as I know.

Good luck with your search! The last DMAC4 I ever found was back in 2008 or so, and silly me - I sold it with that A3000 back then instead of downgrading it back to DMAC2 + Ramsey4 before it went.
Jope is offline  
Old 25 September 2020, 18:05   #4
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by spudje View Post
Since I bought an AA3000+ board I'm hunting down all the ICs. The proper DMAC & RAMSEY is the hardest to come by.
I now have a DMAC 2 & RAMSEY 7, but that's supposedly not a stable combination.

So I'm looking for either a Super DMAC 4 390537-04 or RAMSEY 4 390541-04.
So if anybody has either of these ICs, for a reasonable price please let me know. I could even trade a RAMSEY 4 for a SUPER DMAC 2, since I have 2 now.

A (battery-leak) rotten A3000 mainboard with working RAMSEY 4 or (imagine) A4000T mainboard with DMAC 4 I will also consider.
Are you willing to sell your DMAC 02? Unfortunately I don't have a Ramsey 04 though. I had a DMAC die in my A3000.
DarrenHD is offline  
Old 25 September 2020, 20:01   #5
Wrangler
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London, UK
Posts: 357
@spudje: I've heard that DMAC 2 and Ramsey 7 are fine together. I wouldn't rush to rule out that combination until you've tried it.
Wrangler is offline  
Old 25 September 2020, 22:29   #6
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 2,053
I’ve had dmac 02 and ramsey 07 working ok in my 3000 and aa3000+ in the past
trixster is offline  
Old 25 September 2020, 23:03   #7
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,275
I'm still waiting for my AA3000+ to be built, so until then I want to keep a hold of both DMACs. As soon as the thing is running fine, I might consider selling one, or, keeping it as a backup.
spudje is offline  
Old 25 September 2020, 23:48   #8
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,797
You'll never, never, never (never?) get a DMAC -04. They only manufactured a few thousand for A3000T/040 and IIRC the MOS/CSG FAB process they used to make the chip closed. With the A4000 AGA chipset so close they didn't move to the next process so they didn't/couldn't make anymore and so they weren't offered as an upgrade to A3000 owners

Last edited by alexh; 26 September 2020 at 02:05.
alexh is offline  
Old 26 September 2020, 01:58   #9
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 2,053
Until last month I’d have agreed with you, but two dmac-04s sold on eBay recently for low prices. So miracles can happen.
trixster is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any reason an A3000 wouldn't enable ramsey burst mode with SC memory? patrik support.Hardware 10 20 September 2018 10:25
Wanted:Super DMAC-02 (390537-02) Brosol MarketPlace 0 14 May 2010 11:01
WTB: A3000 Super DMAC-02 or non working MB desantii MarketPlace 1 20 April 2010 23:24
WTB: Super Buster 09/11, DMAC-04, Ramsey-07 Brosol MarketPlace 20 09 February 2010 18:48
Wanted: Buster, Ramsey, DMAC Jope MarketPlace 0 19 November 2006 20:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07693 seconds with 13 queries