English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

View Poll Results: Which is the best one to use..???
Amithlon 11 100.00%
Amiga OS XL 0 0%
Voters: 11. You may not vote on this poll

Old 24 June 2012, 18:21   #1
spannernick
Retro Nuts

What is the best Amiga OS for PC(Amithlon or Amiga OS XL)

I want to be able to boot the Amiga OS from my hard drive on my pc without using WinUAE..??

Which is the best on to use..???

I need help to do this cos I have never done it before so a setup guide would be good right now..

Last edited by spannernick; 24 June 2012 at 18:43.
Old 24 June 2012, 18:33   #2
ptyerman

Amithlon

Quote:
Originally Posted by spannernick View Post
I want to be able to boot the Amiga OS from my hard drive on my pc without using WinUAE..??

Which is the best on to use..???

I need help to do this cos I have never done it before so a setup guide would be good right now..
I voted for Amithlon as I have used it in the past and it is brilliant. A setup guide can be found here: https://www.box.com/shared/hisnu6o4lc
Alternatively, google for amithlon and you'll get all the links you could need!
Old 24 June 2012, 22:30   #3
prowler
Global Moderator

Yes, Amithlon is the way to go.

AmigaOS XL has stood still since it was released, needs a specific version of QNX (6.1 IIRC), and you can't do much with it when it's installed (I find myself rather playing solitaire on the QNX desktop each time I boot it up ).
Old 26 June 2012, 04:00   #4
shaf

I'd also recommend the Amithlon System. But there are a few issues to watch out for such as RAM Configuration , Audio Card and Chipset support. Almost any AMD Processor and NVidia Chipset can be used but keep the RAM to single channel and no more than 1 GB. Also the recommended Audio Card is a Soundblaster Live.
Old 04 September 2012, 16:07   #5
fishyfish
Banned