English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 March 2004, 16:21   #1
kokoko3k
 
Posts: n/a
Winuae + magicmenu = BIG BUG !

Hi all, since the early versions i've this problem.
Try installing magicmenu (latest or the beta one).
Now, try to press Rmouse Button and, without realeasing it, press the left too.
Now release the Right one, release the left also.

Mouse will get stuck. no way.
Without magicmenu (or on a real amiga) problem goes away.

Any workaround for this ?

Thanks in advance

the sequence to reproduce the bug is this:

RMOUSE down , LMOUSE down , RMOUSE UP , LMOUSE UP
 
Old 01 March 2004, 16:36   #2
Chuckles
The Ancient One
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas City/USA
Age: 66
Posts: 685
One workaround for this problem would be to avoid the following sequence of actions like the plague:

RMOUSE down , LMOUSE down , RMOUSE UP , LMOUSE UP

Of course, Toni might be able to come up with a more definitive answer, but in the meantime this should reduce the level of inconvenience a bit.
Chuckles is offline  
Old 01 March 2004, 17:19   #3
kokoko3k
 
Posts: n/a
eheh

Don't know why, but i do that several times without paying much attention to it.
I used amiga for more than 10 years (my last was a 604e+bvision) but this never happened.


Does the bug "works" for you too ? I use win2000 + wireless mouseman from logitech
 
Old 01 March 2004, 17:55   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,035
Magicmenu (being not so clean system hack) probably expects event timing that never happens under 68020+ emulation modes.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 01 March 2004, 17:57   #5
Chuckles
The Ancient One
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas City/USA
Age: 66
Posts: 685
I don't really know if I'd have the same problem or not with my setup, but mine is quite different. First, I'm not using magicmenu, besides which I'm using Win98 with a non-wireless mouse. If you have a regular mouse handy, it might be worth swapping it out briefly just to see if that fixes the problem. I've never used a cordless mouse before, but I wouldn't rule out the driver software for the mouse as a possible culprit until I saw that I had the same problem with a different mouse and driver. Just a thought.

Oops! I see now that Toni's reply was posted while I was still typing mine in, and since he knows the emulator better than anybody, I'd certainly give his theory a lot more credence than my own.
Chuckles is offline  
Old 01 March 2004, 18:32   #6
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,352
Re: eheh

Quote:
Originally posted by kokoko3k
I used amiga for more than 10 years (my last was a 604e+bvision) but this never happened.
Which is why in his first post he said it never happened on a real Amiga.
Enverex is offline  
Old 26 June 2004, 12:02   #7
kokoko3k
 
Posts: n/a
Smile An update...

Tried Winuae on a different Machine:

PIII 1000Mhz, 2560MB Ram, normal PS2 Mouse (not logitech, not wireless).
Windows 2000, and IT HAPPENED AGAIN !

BTW is more difficult to reproduce that bug on this machine.

Please FIX !
 
Old 26 June 2004, 12:41   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 25,035
It is magicmenu bug as I said ages ago (or maybe Windows DirectInput weirdness which is also possible..), nothing to do with uae. Mouse handling is simple, press mouse button = bit in CIA register changes to 0, release = bit changes to 1. It is that simple..
Toni Wilen is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MagicMenu Task Priority NovaCoder support.Apps 2 10 February 2013 10:42
Big bug found in WinUAE 2.3.1 b12 (and certainly older...) Cosmos support.WinUAE 10 05 June 2011 13:35
MagicMenu 2.35 LHA Archive Leandro Jardim request.Apps 6 25 August 2010 01:49
WinUAE and UAE freez up when using MagicMenu BiL0 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 9 28 May 2006 11:02
BIG BIG BIG WINUAE CRASH (with .dmp file included) The Rom Alien support.WinUAE 4 31 August 2004 20:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08819 seconds with 13 queries