English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 November 2017, 23:53   #1
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 44
Posts: 854
Problems with Indivision A604n

So I have the A604n chip RAM expansion with the Indi ECS attached. Had them for a few years now.

Here is the problem. I originally had this in my A600 with REV 1.5 motherboard along with the ACA 620. I seem to remember I had problems getting the A604n chip RAM to show up when I first installed it a few years ago. I had to move and find the right angle for the card. And it had been working up until now that I have recapped the motherboard.

It will no longer show 2MB chip ram in Workbench. however, the Indivision ECS which is connected to the A604n works just fine. So does everything else on this Amiga. Expansion contacts looks nice and shiny but I still cleaned them some more.

Same expansion is working just fine in my A600 REV 2D motherboard.

And yes, I tried without the ACA 620, without the Indivision ECS, still same problem. Will not show up that extra 1MB chip ram from the A604n.

What could be causing this?
turrican9 is offline  
Old 16 November 2017, 21:13   #2
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 44
Posts: 854
Any certain connection between the trapdoor connector and a certain chip leg inside the Amiga I could test for continuity that has to do with activating the extra 1MB chip RAM from the A604n? Keep in mind, it is currently working with the Indi ECS on it on this REV 1.5 board and it is fully working in my A600 2D motherboard. Only thing wrong here is that it refuses to show up the 1MB extra chip RAM on my A600 Rev 1.5 motherboard
turrican9 is offline  
Old 18 November 2017, 17:42   #3
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 44
Posts: 854
Some good news. Reason I did not want to use my A600 with 2D motherboard as main A600 was because it could not read any of my CF cards through PCMCIA which would make it a hassle to transfer stuff to it. I would need to take out the internal IDE CF card and mount it in WinUAE to transfer files.

now I have been cleaning this motherboard some more, removing rust from shielding, ports etc and cleaning the rest of the flux away and stuff like that. By doing this I found a cold solder joint for some components that sits above the PCMCIA slot and below the power connector on the edge of the board. They are some square blocks with silver colour. Not really sure what they are. I reflowed that with fresh solder and now my PCMCIA port will see and read the CF cards I have that is known to work for my rev 1.5 A600 and A1200. Previously these CF cards would only show up as NDOS on he 2D board, and could not be used.

So now I use this 600 as main together with A604n, ACA 620 and Indi ECS. I did not bother to take the 3.1 kickstart from the 1.5 board and instead use ACATune to load kickstart 3.1. I had to load an A1200 40068 rom for classic workbench to work, as it did not work with the A600 40063 ROM. Even though that is the hardware rom installed on the 1.5 board. Failed to find any bad connections on the 1.5 board thus far. Will see if it detects the other chip ram expansion I have on the way. I am pretty sure there must be a broken trace or solder joint as I had problems getting my A604n to work in the past. Only this time, after recap, cleaning and everything I could never get it to detect the 1MB extra chip RAM on the 1.5 board.

Anyway, at least I have my 2D board fully working with everything

Last edited by turrican9; 18 November 2017 at 17:48.
turrican9 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problems with indivision ecs systmcrsh support.Hardware 4 26 January 2016 19:45
Indivision AGA MK2 problems. Please help .. turrican9 support.Hardware 1 25 December 2015 19:57
Indivision ECS noise problems supercompman support.Hardware 24 07 May 2014 17:14
Indivision CD32 problems :( gibs project.CD32 Conversion 29 15 January 2010 16:32
Indivision A1200 Problems........ ARASHIKAGE support.Hardware 3 26 December 2009 01:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06468 seconds with 15 queries