English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 June 2014, 23:33   #1
benas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 36
Moonstone disks running on real Amiga 500 (1MB RAM)

I have a problem with original Moonstone game disks running on real Amiga 500 (1MB total). Game doesn't go to menu. After intro FDD start generating loud noise and menu doesn't appear. (adf disks working on real amiga 500)
But i want to go real original game (not cracked). Could someone help me?
Can You try Your original disks on real Amiga 500 ?
Please help (disks are 100% correct, tested with x-copy, no bad's, working silently).
benas is offline  
Old 07 June 2014, 01:02   #2
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 44
Posts: 8,857
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
No. this can't happen. This game is protected with copylock, and as such it can't be imaged in ADF format.

"Cracked version is the only way of the force"
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 07 June 2014, 10:32   #3
benas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 36
Moonstone (IPF) written with Kryoflux didn't work properly. (after intro loud noise from fdd and freeze, should be: "please insert disk B")
Could someone check it and write it (disk1 IPF) to real amiga disk ? (all games written working without this one).
benas is offline  
Old 07 June 2014, 11:48   #4
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 46
Posts: 3,709
Some drives writes better than others.

Let's take Snow Bros for an example.
A while back I used a TEAC FD-235HF, a drive I've used to write several ipf images back to disk.
It supposedly went fine in DTC but it failed to load properly in my A500, then I dug out an old ALPS DF354H911C drive and wrote the ipf once again on the same floppy and voila.. it worked.
So if you have more than one drive lying around, try it, it just might work.

[edit]

Moonstone SPS 0360 written back to disk, all three images and it works.
I went ingame to make sure it accepted and loaded disk 3, and it did.

Last edited by Retroplay; 07 June 2014 at 14:14.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 07 June 2014, 12:23   #5
benas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 36
What brand of FDD(hardware) did You use for writing ? Did You used Tosec ipf's ?
benas is offline  
Old 07 June 2014, 12:31   #6
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 46
Posts: 3,709
Yes, TOSEC/SPS and the ALPS floppy drive mentioned in the post above.

[edit]
I had to disable my external drive (Power Computing PC880B) as it fails to load disk 2 from that.
Picky drive I suppose.

Last edited by Retroplay; 07 June 2014 at 12:43.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 07 June 2014, 13:33   #7
benas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 36
Unfortunately, game dont working, i was written using:SFD-321B, ALPSDF354H068E,SONY MPF920-E, always loud noise after intro on my Amiga 500. (I have Amiga with sign: Commodore A-500 not C= ).
I dont know where is a problem.
benas is offline  
Old 07 June 2014, 13:46   #8
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 44
Posts: 8,857
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
i use a sony MFP-920 too for writing IPF. And it works fine

like i said, maybe the floppy disks brand you use.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 07 June 2014, 14:39   #9
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 45
Posts: 1,382
Maybe Amiga drive misaligned? True DD disks used?
mr.vince is offline  
Old 07 June 2014, 16:33   #10
benas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 36
Real DD Amiga disk used (and the same problem, nothing changes), what brand FDD (of Amiga drive) do You have in Your Amigas ? (and Moonstone are working ?)
benas is offline  
Old 07 June 2014, 16:57   #11
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 46
Posts: 3,709
I have a Panasonic drive.
I can't remember the exact model, but I swapped it from a CBM A1200 I installed a new AmigaKit drive in.
It needed a little fiddling about to fit into the A500 but it works 100%.
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=899211&postcount=12
Retroplay is offline  
Old 09 June 2014, 01:11   #12
breech
Registered User
breech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Syd
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by benas
SFD-321B, ALPSDF354H068E,SONY MPF920-E
Have you opened the floppy window and inspected the surface? (if you are confident, carefully rotate from metal notch) There should be no imperfections. The same fault across 3 drives generally indicates a bad disk.
breech is offline  
Old 09 June 2014, 10:04   #13
benas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 36
I was tested many disks dd and hd (100% good disk's surface) and first disk dont working properly, tested on Amiga 500, Amiga 600, and Amiga 1200 (with set options in early menu). Disk 1 working almost but after intro should ask me for disk 2 but only loud noise from fdd (on all 3 Amiga's). Nothing change.
benas is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clock for Amiga 500 (1MB chip-ram) StevenMarshall support.Hardware 3 07 February 2017 22:45
RUN PUFF!! AMIGA 500 1MB Download Amiten project.Amiga Game Factory 11 09 February 2013 11:10
trying to get an Amiga 500 running mechanicalmike support.Hardware 4 08 July 2009 10:33
Amiga 1000 - 1MB RAM? Haxxy support.Hardware 3 21 June 2009 19:13
Windows 2000 to Amiga 500 (1Mb RAM) problem pakipaki support.Hardware 3 20 September 2007 16:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13696 seconds with 15 queries