English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 August 2011, 22:19   #1
tcook1943
 
Posts: n/a
Virtual Drive Limit ?

Hi Toni, Could you give me a quick heads up re a problem I am experiencing?

I am attempting to sort out a WinUAE system where just about all the WHD Load files available are sorted into separate files/virtual drives by alpha/numeric sequence.

Initially everything was fine than as I carried on adding new additions the whole thing crashed.

At first sight it looks like there might be a physical limit as to how many files/drives WinUAE can handle at one go, can you confirm and indicate how many per setup I can squeeze in please.
 
Old 19 August 2011, 10:41   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,848
Limit is 20 or so. (and no, it won't be increased)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 19 August 2011, 12:22   #3
tcook1943
 
Posts: n/a
Hi Toni, thanks for the heads up, as a matter of interest, (I hope) after sorting all the WHD files into Alpha/Numeric I got as far as the 'C' section after testing each separately to ensure quality which went fine. When I tried loading all at once the whole issue went sideways.

The thing that puzzles me is that I am as yet nowhere near the physical limit for actual hardware, (As I remember it) of 4GB per drive.
 
Old 19 August 2011, 12:38   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,324
Quote:
the whole thing crashed
Did WinUAE crash or did AmigaOS crash? The 4GB limit would only let AmigaOS crash. If WinUAE crashed, then there's something wrong with WinUAE.
thomas is offline  
Old 19 August 2011, 14:08   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,848
Most likely no one has ever attempted to mount over 20 drives... (wrong/missing limit check somewhere)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 19 August 2011, 18:32   #6
tcook1943
 
Posts: n/a
Amiga Os went sideway's, WinUAE was fine
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtual CD Drive on A600, Possible? hansel75 support.Apps 6 01 April 2013 18:48
virtual cd-drive on amiga ? kas1e support.Apps 14 13 December 2012 16:17
Maximum Hard Drive Size Limit On A Cyberstorm MK3 CU_AMiGA support.Hardware 9 29 November 2010 10:07
Amiga 500 SCSI Hard Drive upper limit size? GF_Workman New to Emulation or Amiga scene 21 19 April 2008 11:35
Amiga 1200 Hard drive limit AMIGrAve support.Hardware 3 01 March 2007 00:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08401 seconds with 13 queries