English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 September 2010, 02:02   #1
Megatron-UK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 30
Radeon on Mediator 1200 PCI

Can anyone confirm that a 5v Radeon 9200/9250 should work on the vanilla Mediator 1200 PCI (not SX, TX, LT2 or LT4)?

I've got a no-name one here thats properly keyed for 5v PCI (single notch on the right) and am having real trouble getting the Amiga to reliably boot up, and when it does, it's not listed by the Mediator pciinfo tool (although my Realtek 8193c NIC is). With the Radeon removed, it boots every time.

PCI ID's are 1002, 5960 and 1002, 5940 (ATI Technologies RV280 / 9200 PRO).

Running the following sequence of software:

Mediator CD 1.10
Mediator UP 3.12
Mediator CD UP 1.31
Then the latest pci.library (8.1) and radeon.card (2.9) installed on top.

I was under the assumption that the 5v cards would work in the older Mediator 1200 boards. Has anyone managed to do so?
Megatron-UK is offline  
Old 04 September 2010, 02:42   #2
Megatron-UK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 30
Just a small addendum. Installed the latest Mediator UP 2.0 and there's no difference - still won't boot properly with the Radeon card in.
Megatron-UK is offline  
Old 04 September 2010, 04:10   #3
Megatron-UK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 30
Got an old S3 Virge card detected and (partially!) configured using the 3rd party Virge96.card drivers (haven't managed to configure any screen modes that I can display on my lcd monitor yet though!). So that rules out a problem with the Mediator - it has to be the Radeon....<sigh>....
Megatron-UK is offline  
Old 09 September 2010, 04:52   #4
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Megatron-UK View Post
Just a small addendum. Installed the latest Mediator UP 2.0 and there's no difference - still won't boot properly with the Radeon card in.
Even though it may be keyed as a 5V PCI card, it may not be. I have such a card with the same PCI connector layout and it does not work.

However, another Radeon card I have DOES work.

The bottom line, is keep trying cards, or if you want a 100% working card, buy one from Elbox. I bought two such cards from Elbox and they work.

I guess I got lucky that one of my two Radeon's I had lying around did work.

If you want to know, it's a Sapphire Radeon 9250 PCI with 256MB. It works.
DarrenHD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
my 256mb +3.3V ATI Radeon in v1 1200 mediator johnim Hardware mods 5 01 May 2011 12:43
Mediator PCI 4000Di MK-II + Radeon 9200 + 256MB cosmicfrog MarketPlace 29 25 August 2010 08:27
FS: Mediator PCI 1200 BinoX MarketPlace 5 24 January 2008 08:59
Help! Mediator PCi 1200 lopos2000 support.Hardware 24 01 September 2006 09:51
MediaTor 1200 PCi KuLaK_w_GLaS support.Hardware 3 23 August 2003 23:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10153 seconds with 13 queries