English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 October 2009, 22:31   #1
Muzer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 146
Anything special to set HW clock?

I've recently bought a RAM board that also contains a battery backed clock for my A1200. (This one: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...=STRK:MEWNX:IT ). It is unbranded and if it came with any software, I didn't get it.

When you set the clock, should it stay after a reboot automatically or do you need to do anything special to write it out to the hardware? If the former, presumably the battery is dead. What would be the best way to replace it? (It seems to be soldered on).
Muzer is offline  
Old 01 October 2009, 22:34   #2
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muzer View Post
When you set the clock, should it stay after a reboot automatically or do you need to do anything special to write it out to the hardware? If the former, presumably the battery is dead. What would be the best way to replace it? (It seems to be soldered on).
Use the SETCLOCK comand from CLI:

SETCLOCK LOAD|SAVE|RESET
prowler is offline  
Old 01 October 2009, 22:34   #3
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 53
Posts: 3,556
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
yep sounds like a flat battery

but try what prowler said first as it might just work
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 01 October 2009, 22:37   #4
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
Sounds like the battery is dead if you've set the clock and clicked save it should stay.

They are good little ram expansions...i had one.

The bracket holding your battery is spotwelded to the battery...best bet would be to de-solder it and buy a coincell holder and solder that in it's place...or whip one off an old motherboard.
DoogUK is offline  
Old 01 October 2009, 22:37   #5
davideo
Amiga Tomcat

davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston Lincs
Posts: 1,348
You can get those batteries from CPC. Have a look at this thread http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=35291

Dave G
davideo is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Combitec Clock 77 Tomcat support.Hardware 0 16 July 2011 10:48
Alien Breed Special Edition'92 - special level mailman Nostalgia & memories 7 14 April 2010 09:03
A502/16 Clock not being detected? quantum112 support.Hardware 10 07 June 2009 21:12
Xsurf II Clock ports Zetr0 support.Hardware 8 24 June 2007 12:21
Battery Backed Up Clock NytroX86 support.Hardware 24 17 December 2002 20:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12912 seconds with 13 queries