English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 March 2002, 08:02   #1
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 59
Posts: 2,379
Question A64 Emulator

I have the first version of the A64 emulator, it comes with an adapter box that connects to the parallel port of an Amiga and then a standard 6-pin round DIN cable connects this box to either a 1541 or 1571 disk drive.

I'm wondering if this adapter has been used by any other emulator out there for either the Amiga or the PC? Anybody know more info on this? I've seen info about a X1541 cable and such for the PC emulators but no mention of this particular one.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 08 March 2002, 18:32   #2
barkingboy
 
Posts: n/a
Well, I am no expert but I bought something very similar called Ami-64-Link from a company called "York Electronic Research". It wasn't an emulator just file transfer programs but it worked very well.

Talking of Ami-64-Link, if anyone has the PC version (PC-64-Link) I would dearly love a copy of the software I can't find it anywhere!

Also ccs64? (for PC) can use a cable to link to the 15/17/1841 disk drive so try downloading that and see what happens!

I never found A64 that good a emulator compared to later software that was released for the Amiga though....

Good luck
 
Old 08 March 2002, 20:25   #3
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 59
Posts: 2,379
Thanks BarkingBoy, I'll have a lookout for that app and let you know what I find. I'll also keep an eye out for PC-64-Link you mentioned as well
jmmijo is offline  
Old 08 March 2002, 23:16   #4
barkingboy
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by jmmijo
I'll also keep an eye out for PC-64-Link you mentioned as well
Thanks dude!
 
Old 08 March 2002, 23:52   #5
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 50
Posts: 835
A box ?
I always thaught that it was just a cable...???
I think I somebody on usenet once mentioned that the A64 cable was also used by another program, but sadly I cannot remember anything more ( maybe I am even wrong ! )

I never had the schematics and so I never built a cable to hook the 1541 up to the Amiga.
But there is another cable & software on the sta.c64.org page that is called 'Easy-64' and can be used to hook up a 1541 to your Amiga
Never tried it, tough....
Overdoc is offline  
Old 09 March 2002, 00:11   #6
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 30
Posts: 4,662
Somewhere I still have the original release version of The A-64 Emulator that came with a cube-shaped attachment which allowed you to connect a 1541 drive (and I assume, a 1571). I haven't mucked with it in years, but that's what came with my original version, and probably the proper cable as well...I really can't remember.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 09 March 2002, 00:24   #7
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 59
Posts: 2,379
@barkingboy, this is the only info I've found so far:

The Ami-64-Link is available in two versions - budget £23.50 - standard £35.25 from:

York Electronic Research, The Paddocks, Jockey Lane, Huntingdon, York. YO3 9NE ( They also do a PC-64-Link at £32.25 ) ( prices as at December 98 )

It was taken from this web page:

http://www.icpug.org.uk/national/jou...ej299/art2.htm

I'll let you know if I can find more info on this.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 09 March 2002, 02:03   #8
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,618
My A64 hardware add-on is a compact rectangular box and is © 1990 Questronix. It doesn't need any special cable, just the ordinary C64 disk drive cable. I've got a home brew version of the hardware add-on too that works just as well. I vaguely remember that either add-on and a C64 disk drive could be used with another emulator on Amiga called Magic64, but my memory is certainly being stretched on that one.

In any case, A64 was the fastest of the C64 emulators on Amiga, but for true authenticity, Frodo was the emulator to choose. The only problem is that Frodo needs a lot of grunt- 060 or PPC- to run with any sort of speed or smoothness. Magic64, though, was almost as good and ran quite nicely on 030. The pity is that it's been a few years since Frodo or Magic64 were updated.

CORRECTION: Actually the A64 hardware add-on can be used with Frodo (and not Magic64 as I had originally thought).

Last edited by DrBong; 13 March 2002 at 15:11.
DrBong is offline  
Old 09 March 2002, 04:50   #9
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,517
Youcan find a few progs on the Aminet that use this link. I know I dloaded some the otehr day, but I Cant remember their names, and I dont have the interface :P

you can connetc C= printers to that thing, too! I think you can daisychain, quite convenient!
Akira is offline  
Old 09 March 2002, 09:09   #10
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 59
Posts: 2,379
Thumbs up

Thanks everyone for the feedback
jmmijo is offline  
Old 10 March 2002, 02:34   #11
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 50
Posts: 835
Anyone got schematics for this cable/adaptor, so that I could build one myself ?
Would be great
Overdoc is offline  
Old 11 March 2002, 07:00   #12
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 59
Posts: 2,379
Sorry no schematics for you

I've opened the white box itself, it's pretty simple really, they super glued the two box halves together, not a very good job as my Xacto knife cut it cleanly.

If I ever get the time perhaps I may draw it out by hand.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 11 March 2002, 23:03   #13
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally posted by barkingboy

Talking of Ami-64-Link, if anyone has the PC version (PC-64-Link) I would dearly love a copy of the software I can't find it anywhere!

Also ccs64? (for PC) can use a cable to link to the 15/17/1841 disk drive so try downloading that and see what happens!
Are you talking about the XE1541 cable? Because the PC64 cable is ofr other stuff.. you can find them at http://sta.c64.org

BTW, I dont think CCS64 uses the cable ... that "Parallel cable" option in the menu, I think is used to emulate a oarallel connection between the emulated C64 and the emulated 1541... like the one you get when you put some ROM modifications in the drive to make it faster...
Akira is offline  
Old 11 March 2002, 23:07   #14
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 3,704
On that site Akira mentioned you can also find the Star Commander (http://sta.c64.org/sc.html) which I personally use to write back D64 images to real disks using the X-1541 cable
RetroMan is offline  
Old 13 March 2002, 15:23   #15
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,618
@Overdoc

Here's some schematics for a cable connecting a 1541 fdd to Amiga via the parallel port. They've been taken from some old Frodo docs.

If you're also interested in accessing a real SID chip using the Amiga and Frodo, check out the FrodoSIDChip.zip archive in the Zone too.
Attached Files
File Type: nfo amiga-1541schematics.nfo (1.9 KB, 215 views)

Last edited by DrBong; 13 March 2002 at 15:46.
DrBong is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for VistaPro 3.0, A64 3.0 mr_a500 request.Apps 3 28 April 2014 21:52
C64 emulator´s (A64 by Questronix) bbsteal support.Apps 4 07 July 2011 18:49
Looking for Release copies of A64 EmulationGuy request.Apps 23 14 October 2010 15:04
A64 Emulator request tomcat666 request.Apps 16 26 February 2008 21:19
Frederic's Emulator inside and Emulator thread Fred the Fop Retrogaming General Discussion 22 09 March 2006 07:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09539 seconds with 16 queries