English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 March 2013, 18:34   #1
tesla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Vista, Calif
Posts: 194
My 2 A2000's

Hello,
I just purchased 2 A2000's. Both had bad scsi drives, which means that I had to procure functioning drives, and now I have to start all over again.
I have the following disks:

WB1.2, 1.3.3
Install disk 3.0 ver 34.34


I am trying to install my copy of OS 3.9, but no-longer have the (included) boot disk that came with it.
Both came with scsi hard drives, but I need software disks to install them. The Trumpcard had an installation disk, but it was corrupted, and couldn't be fixed. The Blizzard 2060 needs installation also, but I don't have a disk.
I have downloaded both drivers onto my PC from "The Big Book Of Amiga Hardware, but I have no way to burn them to floppy, (even though my PC has a floppy drive) and I have no close-by friends to do it for me. Do you have any suggestions? (I can't use a PC-to-Amiga null modem transfer cable, since neither Amiga has a functioning HD drive as of now).

Thanks!

Gene


Ok, I just had the HD come up! I have not seen it before.

Now, I somehow need to get it to be first in the startup sequence. I know this is easy for many of you, could you help me?


Edit:

I think I have am going to have to procure the 3.1 disks, and possibly a 3.1 rom to go along with it. Does that sound right?

Or can I skip all that, and just install 3.9 with a bootdisk?



Thanks

Last edited by tesla; 13 March 2013 at 18:45.
tesla is offline  
Old 13 March 2013, 18:54   #2
Turran
Moderator

Turran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 47
Posts: 1,293
You will need 3.1 ROMs for OS 3.9, that much I can say =)

http://www.amigahistory.co.uk/amigaos39.html
See "Basic system requirements:"
Turran is offline  
Old 13 March 2013, 22:10   #3
tesla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Vista, Calif
Posts: 194
Turran ,

I have a 3.1 rom in my other machine. I will need it for the 2.04 machine also.

I [think] I will need a copy of 3.1 startup disks also, I believe. Then, I will need a copy of the disk(s) for my Blizzard 2060 card, and a good copy of the Trumpcard scsi controller. Does anyone know of a place I can purchase them?

Thx
tesla is offline  
Old 13 March 2013, 22:55   #4
Turran
Moderator

Turran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 47
Posts: 1,293
Blizzard 2040/2060 drivers: http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/blizzard2060
Trumpcard SCSI drivers: http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/trumpcardpro2000

I dont know where to pick up workbench though, legally...
Turran is offline  
Old 13 March 2013, 23:21   #5
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 41
Posts: 4,166
The Amiga Forever CD would probably be one place to get it, or some originals from ebay.

If adf files are enough, I'm sure that google would quickly locate some..
demolition is offline  
Old 14 March 2013, 03:37   #6
tesla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Vista, Calif
Posts: 194
thanks

Turran,

My mistake, I didn't explain my problem well. I can't make copies. I did download them to my PC, but I have no way of transferring them over to the Amiga. Floppy won't work, (Wish there was a way to get my PC floppy to burn Amiga disks, or my Amiga to read PC disks, without a Bridgeboard) I can't use a null-modem cable, because my operating system is is basically booting off of a 1.3.3 floppy. I do have a CD drive on both machines, but I can't read CD's right now. If I could, I would install 3.9, which is what my goal is.

If I could get a 3.9 install disk, which, if I remember came with 3.9, I guess I could install 3.9.

So, as I see it, I need a 3.1 disk, to boot off of, and the two Blizzard disks, and the Trumpcard disk to complete my installations on both machines.

It's like getting a job as a teen, can't get a job because you have no experience, and can't get experience because you don't have a job.




Quote:
Originally Posted by Turran View Post
Blizzard 2040/2060 drivers: http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/blizzard2060
Trumpcard SCSI drivers: http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/trumpcardpro2000

I dont know where to pick up workbench though, legally...
tesla is offline  
Old 14 March 2013, 04:42   #7
Cymru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Dorathea/AT
Posts: 376
My 2 A2000's

Would it be possible for you to ask someone for a set of 3.1 install disks or possible to buy a 3.1 ROM?

Could they be mailed to you?
Cymru is offline  
Old 14 March 2013, 04:59   #8
tesla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Vista, Calif
Posts: 194
Cymru,

I can wait for the 3.1 rom, and I know that they are commonly available.
As for the rest, i'm not sure of the legality of it, at least of the 3.1 disks.

The other software is freely available. Yes, they could be mailed to me, and I would compensate them for the trouble.

Thx for the interest.
tesla is offline  
Old 14 March 2013, 05:14   #9
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by tesla View Post
....I can't use a null-modem cable, because my operating system is is basically booting off of a 1.3.3 floppy.
Yes you can..
http://adfsender.stoeggl.com/adfsend...l/methods.html

As you have a WB floppy, I would think A2 from the page above would work best.

You use that to transfer the transdisk tool to the Amiga using your WB disk and the "type" command.

Then, you use the transkdisk tool to write from your PC to the Amiga floppy directly.

desiv
Note: when people have issues with the instructions, it seems to be with this part:
PC:
send any file again, this releases the break on the amiga as it is still waiting for data. Afterwards press Cancel on PC.

After you send the file and hit ctrl-c on the Amiga, you still have to send any file from the PC to the Amiga. It's just to flush the buffer I believe..
desiv is offline  
Old 14 March 2013, 06:30   #10
tesla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Vista, Calif
Posts: 194
thx

Thanks Desiv, looks like I have something to keep me busy.
tesla is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My A2000 so far. rkauer Hardware pics 99 23 December 2012 04:47
A2000 Musicman Member Introductions 0 12 December 2012 08:05
My new A2000! fitzsteve Hardware pics 6 27 July 2012 11:33
Impact A2000-HC+8 Series II & BridgeBoard A2386 on A2000 rev6.3 cyberfox_it support.Hardware 3 17 June 2012 23:38
Making an OCS A2000 (Rev 4.6) to an ECS A2000 Drake008@ support.Hardware 15 27 February 2007 23:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07818 seconds with 13 queries