English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Old Rare Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 September 2006, 17:23   #1
Jimbo
Registered User
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Colchester Essex
Age: 42
Posts: 822
Wing Commander AGA

Hi There

I have been trying to find the AGA version of this game, im not sure if it was just the CD32 that got the AGA version? Would prefer a WHDLOAD version but im not fussy


Many Thanks For Any Help
Jimbo is offline  
Old 19 September 2006, 18:05   #2
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 45
Posts: 722
i think this is the only game to use the dedicated graphics chip of the CD32 (chunky pixels), so you cannot make it run on regular AGA miggys....and i never heard of any AGA release
pbareges is offline  
Old 19 September 2006, 18:08   #3
Jimbo
Registered User
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Colchester Essex
Age: 42
Posts: 822
Thanks for the reply

I thought there was cause I say CD32 AGA somewhere on a site but I guess this was wrong. So the CD32 version will not run on Winuae at all? I did forgot to mention I would be running it through Winuae with the correct Kickstarts if there isnt a WHDLOAD version.

Thanks for your help.
Jimbo is offline  
Old 19 September 2006, 18:22   #4
CFou!
Moderator
CFou!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 48
Posts: 3,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbo
Thanks for the reply

I thought there was cause I say CD32 AGA somewhere on a site but I guess this was wrong. So the CD32 version will not run on Winuae at all? I did forgot to mention I would be running it through Winuae with the correct Kickstarts if there isnt a WHDLOAD version.

Thanks for your help.
a vey fast patch exist to launch CD32 version in aga on a1200.... I am not name in my mind

Contact me via PM, i will try to found it (perhaps on aminet)
CFou! is offline  
Old 19 September 2006, 18:22   #5
pTah
Zone Friend
pTah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 72
it doesnt use the akiko. it runs fine on any aga-amiga. but you need the wc-patch from the aminet. just copy over all files form the cd and play with the wcpatch-exe...
pTah is offline  
Old 19 September 2006, 18:25   #6
CFou!
Moderator
CFou!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 48
Posts: 3,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by CFOU!
a vey fast patch exist to launch CD32 version in aga on a1200.... I am not name in my mind

Contact me via PM, i will try to found it (perhaps on aminet)
http://uk.aminet.net/game/patch/WCPatch.lha

yes is this patch
CFou! is offline  
Old 19 September 2006, 18:33   #7
Jimbo
Registered User
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Colchester Essex
Age: 42
Posts: 822
Thank you guys, Thank you very much
Jimbo is offline  
Old 19 September 2006, 19:06   #8
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 45
Posts: 722
is it legally possible to get wing commander cd32 posted in the zone?
pbareges is offline  
Old 19 September 2006, 19:46   #9
Jimbo
Registered User
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Colchester Essex
Age: 42
Posts: 822
I havent found the CD version as yet.

But:
http://www.planetemu.net/index.php?s...dat=257&page=w

Theres a 6 disc CD32 version there, I will try this with that patch later see what happens. But I would have thought the CD32 version would have had different music and intros?

Hope it was ok to post that :S
Jimbo is offline  
Old 19 September 2006, 19:58   #10
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 45
Posts: 722
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbo
Hope it was ok to post that :S
NO IT WAS A TRAP!!! YOU GET BANNED FOR THAT!!ENJOY YOUR LAST HOUR ON EAB!!!
pbareges is offline  
Old 19 September 2006, 19:59   #11
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 45
Posts: 722
btw, thanks a lot for that!
pbareges is offline  
Old 20 September 2006, 00:37   #12
pTah
Zone Friend
pTah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbo
I havent found the CD version as yet.

But:
http://www.planetemu.net/index.php?s...dat=257&page=w

Theres a 6 disc CD32 version there, I will try this with that patch later see what happens. But I would have thought the CD32 version would have had different music and intros?

Hope it was ok to post that :S
it doesnt have different music or intro. same as the ocs-version. only the graphics are pimped to 256colors but for me the difference is not that great...
pTah is offline  
Old 20 September 2006, 13:02   #13
viddi
Moderator

viddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 3,840
The music is enhanced thanks to 2 MB.

Compare the Origin FX-Intro music and you´ll hear the difference.
E.g.: the kettledrums

It´s not totally different of course but it sounds better
viddi is offline  
Old 20 September 2006, 14:57   #14
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 45
Posts: 722
for jimbo: checked it on my real 1200 and works great with wcpatch...so it may be a winuae bug..
pbareges is offline  
Old 20 September 2006, 18:21   #15
pTah
Zone Friend
pTah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by viddi
The music is enhanced thanks to 2 MB.

Compare the Origin FX-Intro music and you´ll hear the difference.
E.g.: the kettledrums

It´s not totally different of course but it sounds better
thx for the info! didnt know that...
i never realized that there is a difference.
pTah is offline  
Old 20 September 2006, 23:08   #16
viddi
Moderator

viddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 3,840
@ pTah:

Yep, that´s a musician "problem".
My ears are trained to hear and seperate sounds.

It´s hard for me to listen to music like "normal" persons do.
It makes you crazy, believe me!
viddi is offline  
Old 20 September 2006, 23:42   #17
Jimbo
Registered User
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Colchester Essex
Age: 42
Posts: 822
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbareges
for jimbo: checked it on my real 1200 and works great with wcpatch...so it may be a winuae bug..
Could well be, or its the setup im using, AmigaSYS with OS3.9. Have to check what my settings are and have a play.

Thanks for letting me know it works
Jimbo is offline  
Old 20 September 2006, 23:46   #18
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 43
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by viddi
@ pTah:

Yep, that´s a musician "problem".
My ears are trained to hear and seperate sounds.

It´s hard for me to listen to music like "normal" persons do.
It makes you crazy, believe me!
Same here, sometimes it's hard to listen to music because I can't hear all the channels together, I hear them sepperately....... in some songs I just choose to listen to the background piano playing (cause that's the part I like about that specific song) instead of the singing, drums, guitars going on, on the same time.. etc...

That's why I listen to odd music which noone I know like, because they don't hear them like I do.
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 21 September 2006, 08:57   #19
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironclaw
Same here, sometimes it's hard to listen to music because I can't hear all the channels together, I hear them sepperately....... in some songs I just choose to listen to the background piano playing (cause that's the part I like about that specific song) instead of the singing, drums, guitars going on, on the same time.. etc...

That's why I listen to odd music which noone I know like, because they don't hear them like I do.
I take it you don't listen to the radio station NRJ either?
Being brought up with Deep Purple, Uriah Heep, Chicago etc can really evolve you music "sense"
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 21 September 2006, 08:59   #20
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 43
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGAZ
I take it you don't listen to the radio station NRJ either?
Hell no! ... hate that shitty music.... rarely hear anything good.
Ironclaw is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wing commander spyros_s Games images which need to be WHDified 16 05 February 2014 21:39
Wing Commander CD32 on an AGA miggy JuvUK support.Games 11 23 March 2011 01:20
Wing Commander AGA on adf files Coldsteel support.Games 11 26 November 2009 00:55
Wing Commander CD32 Tony Landais Games images which need to be WHDified 5 28 December 2006 19:57
Wing Commander CD32 cebulba request.Old Rare Games 7 13 August 2004 12:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10684 seconds with 13 queries