English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

Old 05 February 2020, 23:56   #1
Pixelfill

Question noob question

So I'm just starting out, and fascinated by the 68000 optimisations thread

which got me wondering, I've seen numerous ways of clearing registers, and was wondering which of the following is the recommended way to clear a data register.

Code:
sub.l dn, dn 

moveq.l #0, dn 

eor dn, dn 

clr.l dn
similarly which is "best" for an address register.

Code:
movea.l #0, an 

suba.l an, an 

moveq.l #0, dn 
move.l dn, an 

eor dn, dn 
move.l dn, an 

clr.l dn 
move.l dn, an
I appreciate "best" is subjective, and affected by context, but I would appreciate some insight into the pros and cons of each approach, and what any side-effects may be (clobbered registers / flags etc.) I'm sure there are other alternative approaches too …

I'm very green when it comes to 68K assembler, so this is probably way too deep a topic for me, but as I said the optimisation thread piqued my interest.

thanks

Mike
Old 06 February 2020, 01:13   #2
phx
Natteravn

Code:
        moveq   #0,Dn
        suba.l  An,An
Old 06 February 2020, 09:12   #3
sparhawk

This should be
Code:
        moveq   #0,Dn
        move.l  D0,An
But this is the same as
Code:
        suba.l  An,An

Last edited by sparhawk; 06 February 2020 at 12:40.
Old 06 February 2020, 10:37   #4
Cyprian

@sparhawk
that's two separate instructions/aims:

1) clear data register
"moveq #0,Dn"

2)clear address register
"suba.l An,An"
Old 06 February 2020, 12:40   #5
sparhawk

Yes. That makes sense.
Old 07 February 2020, 14:42   #6
roondar

While the above is 100% correct (in that the examples for clearing registers are either the fastest/smallest or both), I'd argue that focusing on this kind of optimization might not be the best way to go about it.