English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 February 2010, 03:20   #1
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 5,174
KeyRah

I've thought about buying a KeyRah Amiga and a US layout A500/+ keyboard (green capslock led version, with springs). Some questions:

- Can I even connect the KeyRah to the A500 keyboard? What do I need?

- What's the remapping like? Any "showstopper" unmapped but necessary keys? I guess numpad is mapped to PgDn etc, since it says it has a "Daily Windows Use" mode. I want to use it as my main PC keyboard. I don't mind remapping keys and using AutoHotkeys to correct malplaced keys.

- Is it hard to fit inside an A500 case? I don't mind using the Dremel, and I might even try to mod it heavily to make it about normal PC keyboard size

- Any "bad" things about it?
Photon is offline  
Old 08 February 2010, 10:33   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 9,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
- Can I even connect the KeyRah to the A500 keyboard? What do I need?
It will be tight. If your keyboard has only one flat cable to the controller board, it is electrically compatible, but the keyrah board's flat cable connector may be in such a position and orientation, that it doesn't fit. Then you might want to desolder the connector from the keyrah and solder a bunch of wires between it and the keyrah.

Quote:
- Is it hard to fit inside an A500 case? I don't mind using the Dremel, and I might even try to mod it heavily to make it about normal PC keyboard size
That's partially related to the above question. If you take the connector from the keyrah board and put it on the end of some wires, you get to decide where to position the keyrah board yourself.

No idea about the mapping I'm afraid, never tried the Amiga keyrah.. The C-64 one wasn't very nice for general PC use. (surprise)
Jope is offline  
Old 08 February 2010, 16:38   #3
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 5,174
Yeah, I wouldn't want to type Ctrl+Alt+numpad keys to get Home/PgUp etc. But as long as it doesn't block me from remapping in Windows all is fine.

"- Can I even connect the KeyRah to the A500 keyboard? What do I need?"
That was mostly a solder/signal question, not a physical/mechanical question. I'll have a look.

Just dawned on me that I can use springy type A1200 keyboards instead. Cos the 'missing chars if typing fast' bug was in the controller only, right?
Photon is offline  
Old 08 February 2010, 19:12   #4
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 9,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
Just dawned on me that I can use springy type A1200 keyboards instead. Cos the 'missing chars if typing fast' bug was in the controller only, right?
Yes.
Jope is offline  
Old 09 February 2010, 14:42   #5
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 5,174
Actually, all my A500s had springy keyboards, so I'm all set and gonna save some money

Any ideas for how to cut the cases off nicely and perhaps make the slant a little less severe?
Photon is offline  
Old 09 February 2010, 15:01   #6
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 9,100
Dremel, sandpaper, epoxy glue, bondo, a coat of paint.
Jope is offline  
Old 09 February 2010, 20:32   #7
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 5,174
Actually, I think I'll go with the circular table saw this time too. I guess since I cut off the back half I will make the angle slightly better too.
Photon is offline  
Old 10 February 2010, 22:34   #8
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 5,174
Cool

After focusing my chi on a Shakti (tm) spike mat and convincing myself that A500s were the root of all evil, thereby temporarily inverting my personality, I took a deep breath and precision karate chopped the case in half.

(Or maybe I took it to a friend with a dulled 2mm circular table saw and turned away in horror as he cleft her in twain. )

After much cursing at the chosen method to attach the A1200 keyboard cable, and replacing one of the wingnuts with an M3 nut because it hit the C128 port, carefully checking that I didn't bend the PCB too much when tightening, I put it all inside the A500 case and sniggered with delight as the keyboard was installed correctly as a HID unit.

All the doubts I had were swept away - it works flawlessly & I couldn't be happier, kudos to Jedi-Jens
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	hiiya!.jpg
Views:	423
Size:	373.4 KB
ID:	24247   Click image for larger version

Name:	Keyrah-A1200-in-half-A500.jpg
Views:	463
Size:	246.0 KB
ID:	24248  
Photon is offline  
Old 17 February 2010, 02:56   #9
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 5,174
After extensive testing (and using it as we speak) I must say that Keyrah is lovely and great with only a few flaws, like the method of connecting the ribbon cable, but perhaps more seriously certain Ctrl+Alt+<key> combos that worked with my PC keyboards don't take anymore. But that could be the A1200 keyboard I'm using, of course. Maybe even likely.

All other keycombos I've tried work fine. Worked fine with keyboard registry hacks, WinUAE input panel remappings and Autohotkey (I'm running all three).

I bought mine from GGS-Data in Sweden, they have a good price specifically on the Keyrah.

Verdict: *** HIGHLY RECOMMENDED *** top stuff

Update: Ctrl+Alt combos work, if you bind them to ctrl+win instead.

Last edited by Photon; 19 February 2010 at 16:41.
Photon is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Keyrah V2 amigakit.com MarketPlace 4 18 May 2013 02:42
KeyRah test! Photon support.Hardware 2 21 February 2010 19:58
MiniMig + Keyrah ? sidchip_fr Amiga scene 6 22 June 2008 03:58
Keyrah Question Charlie support.Hardware 4 25 November 2007 13:52
prob with keyrah Raislin77it support.Hardware 0 22 August 2007 20:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08473 seconds with 14 queries