English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 June 2012, 12:33   #1
magnetic
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 244
Exclamation Why Does WHDload run only 20% of my AGA games??

Hey guys
I'm running latest whdload registered on my a1200 060 128mb. Its really weird, only about 20% of AGA games will launch with WHDLoad - the rest of them fail at launch with an error about the kickstart file kickstart 400068 not being present. The file is present in the directory.

What the heck is going on? I'm dying to play aga titles. Thanks
magnetic is offline  
Old 12 June 2012, 12:45   #2
spyros_s
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Greece
Posts: 21
The best accelerator for whdload amiga is 030! There are compatibility problems with the 040-060 cpus!! I think that this is your problem!
spyros_s is offline  
Old 12 June 2012, 12:48   #3
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 52
Posts: 2,824
i see this all the time.

what files do you actually have in the kickstart drawer?can you type them out exactly as they are spelt in the drawer please?

as i also have a few 060 based amigas and most if not all games work here.
roy bates is offline  
Old 12 June 2012, 13:56   #4
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 47
Posts: 8,077
I suspect you don't have all the relevant files needed. There is the .rtg file I think the extension is, and the kickrom itself, both have to be correctly named.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 12 June 2012, 14:03   #5
diablothe2nd
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 1,236
Do you have CyberPatcher installed? if not, try installing it as it gives more compatibility and in cases of software like lightwave etc a significant speed boost.

edit reread the post... i think i'm a little off target with this but if you haven't got it installed then it's worth doing anyway.
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 12 June 2012, 15:35   #6
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 46
Posts: 1,509
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnetic View Post
Hey guys
I'm running latest whdload registered on my a1200 060 128mb. Its really weird, only about 20% of AGA games will launch with WHDLoad - the rest of them fail at launch with an error about the kickstart file kickstart 400068 not being present. The file is present in the directory.

What the heck is going on? I'm dying to play aga titles. Thanks
maybe because kickstarts files must be in :devs/kickstarts directory

http://www.whdload.de/docs/en/need.html

Last edited by Foul; 12 June 2012 at 15:41.
Foul is offline  
Old 12 June 2012, 15:35   #7
magnetic
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 244
Thanks for the replies guys.. 060 is no problem for all the ecs stuff its not that its the kickstarts its confusing.. Yes I run Cyberpatcher.

I 'll list my kickstarts..
magnetic is offline  
Old 12 June 2012, 19:18   #8
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,830
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
You have the kickstart for AGA machines missing....known error
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 12 June 2012, 19:22   #9
diablothe2nd
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 1,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
You have the kickstart for AGA machines missing....known error
so even though you're running it on an AGA machine, it still needs an image of the rom instead of taking it from the hardware?
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 12 June 2012, 19:27   #10
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 52
Posts: 2,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by diablothe2nd View Post
so even though you're running it on an AGA machine, it still needs an image of the rom instead of taking it from the hardware?


yep
roy bates is offline  
Old 12 June 2012, 20:00   #11
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,830
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Roy +1
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 12 June 2012, 21:10   #12
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 6,612
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Are you sure you don't have a MaxTransfer issue? - is it set to 0x1FE00 ??

If you have the defaults then Kickstart images (and any files over 256 kbytes) will become corrupt

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 16 June 2012, 16:03   #13
cugar124
Registered User

cugar124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Belfast
Posts: 66
fix for whdl

HI Buddy
I had this problem in the end only way I could get it to work was find the Kickstarts and put them in the Devs folder in a folder called Kickstarts see my Folder.

Al

Hope that helps

If you buy Amiga Forever there is a link to get the New 2012 version discounted on Amibay, when you load it you can use Amiga SYS there is a folder in Devs there. Copy it to your CF card if you have one or burn it to CD then copy it to your Miggys Devs folder that should help.

Unless some of the other guys have another way to get them.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0182.jpg
Views:	289
Size:	411.5 KB
ID:	31869   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0184.jpg
Views:	290
Size:	341.5 KB
ID:	31870  

Last edited by cugar124; 16 June 2012 at 16:18.
cugar124 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Run WHDLOAD Games in Amithlon (E-UAE) Amiten support.OtherUAE 3 03 February 2016 20:47
WHDLoad registration to run games Dagon support.Games 5 28 February 2011 15:41
When OCS games run also in AGA systems ? Another World support.Games 3 01 October 2008 23:11
Some WHDLOAD games do not run whenpicasso96 for PiccoloSD64 is installed... keropi project.WHDLoad 2 13 February 2005 12:03
Some WHDLoad games won't run alkis21 support.Games 18 20 September 2002 01:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.14144 seconds with 14 queries