English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 August 2011, 11:52   #1
willbloke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Poole , Dorset
Posts: 136
AGA games using WHDload ?

I'm using an un-accelerated A1200 to play games .

I had to muck about adding the Kickstart ROMs to get it to work .
Am I right in saying that for AGA games the machine has to emulate an A1200 ?

Because I have been playing Pinball Fantasies ECS to reasonable level , but with the AGA version I couldn't hit a cow with a banjo !
The game looks lovely with the extra colours , but it "feels different" ??

Does it need an accelerator to work properly ?

Confused !
willbloke is offline  
Old 26 August 2011, 11:58   #2
retrogamer
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sweden
Age: 41
Posts: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by willbloke View Post
I'm using an un-accelerated A1200 to play games .

I had to muck about adding the Kickstart ROMs to get it to work .
Am I right in saying that for AGA games the machine has to emulate an A1200 ?

Because I have been playing Pinball Fantasies ECS to reasonable level , but with the AGA version I couldn't hit a cow with a banjo !
The game looks lovely with the extra colours , but it "feels different" ??

Does it need an accelerator to work properly
Confused !
What do you mean?

Very few amigagames take advantage of acceleratorcards?
retrogamer is offline  
Old 26 August 2011, 17:56   #3
willbloke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Poole , Dorset
Posts: 136
EDIT: I didn't mention it was running within WHDload in the first post , sorry for the confusion !

Well I presumed that the AGA version would be the same , but it "feels" less responsive , so I was wondering if because it's running within Workbench using WHDload ,that somehow the overheads were higher ?

I guess try the AGA version from floppy and see if it's the same ?
willbloke is offline  
Old 01 September 2011, 21:22   #4
Vollldo
 
Posts: n/a
You're sure about this ??? I didn't notice any differences with the A500 version and i and my brother are very very good at this game.
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WhdLoad and AGA Anders1984 Retrogaming General Discussion 3 18 August 2013 16:50
Why Does WHDload run only 20% of my AGA games?? magnetic support.Games 12 16 June 2012 16:03
Cant get AGA games to work with WHDLOAD magnetic project.WHDLoad 4 07 May 2011 10:32
whdload aga games questions _ThEcRoW support.Apps 11 11 April 2006 21:27
Running old AGA games with ppc and whdload Giana support.Games 0 16 October 2002 16:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10003 seconds with 13 queries