English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 June 2014, 15:18   #1
Bladeforce
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 72
All of a sudden "Segmentation Fault"

Hi, I run my games using the command line in Ubuntu and getting the following error when running:

ade@ade-G41D3C:~/.local/share/applications$ fs-uae "/home/ade/Documents/FS-UAE/Configurations/Walker.fs-uae"
Segmentation fault
ade@ade-G41D3C:~/.local/share/applications$ fs-uae "/home/ade/Documents/FS-UAE/Configurations/Cannon Fodder.fs-uae"
Segmentation fault

Now i recently tried out the beta nvidia driver 340 series so i am presuming this is the problem so i will go back to the 337 series and see if the fault has gone...just reporting fs-uae is the only emulator i have problems with as regards this 340 beta driver

Edit..

I can confirm on my machine the beta 340 nvidia driver does indeed cause a segmentation fault on my machine when running fs-uae. I went back to the 337 driver and all is fine. With the 340 driver on fs-uae seemed to have this problem none of my other emulators had this problem

Last edited by Bladeforce; 02 July 2014 at 00:58.
Bladeforce is offline  
Old 02 July 2014, 21:14   #2
toxicshadow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: a
Posts: 14
Glad you posted this. It suddenly stopped working for me and I could not think what would have caused it.

Good catch on the beta driver. Hopefully the issue can easily be resolved from either the developer side or by Nvidia themselves. Sadly I will have to live without fs-uae for a little while as the previous drivers cause a weird flicker bug when using some simple apps such as gedit
toxicshadow is offline  
Old 02 July 2014, 22:54   #3
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
Well, the bug could be either here or there Perhaps it is slightly more likely a driver bug since it works on older drivers, and also on drivers from other vendors and on other platforms.

I probably will not be able test with the nvidia driver myself for a couple of weeks. Perhaps you can try to run fs-uae through gdb. Tip: include --no-automatic-input-grab when running, so your pointer won't be locked when gdb freezes the process. e.g gdb --args fs-uae --no-automatic-input-grab.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 13 July 2014, 13:42   #4
toxicshadow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: a
Posts: 14
Sorry for taking so long to respond. Attached is the response from GDB:

(gdb) start
Function "main" not defined.
Make breakpoint pending on future shared library load? (y or [n]) n

Starting program: /usr/bin/fs-uae --no-automatic-input-grab
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
Using host libthread_db library "/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libthread_db.so.1".

Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
__memmove_ssse3_back () at ../sysdeps/x86_64/multiarch/memcpy-ssse3-back.S:1698
1698 ../sysdeps/x86_64/multiarch/memcpy-ssse3-back.S: No such file or directory.
toxicshadow is offline  
Old 16 July 2014, 21:28   #5
hodge
 
Posts: n/a
Hello!

I've also started experiencing this on Arch Linux, again with the Nvidia 340 driver. I've tried FS-UAE versions 2.4.1 and 2.5.5dev (both built from the Arch AUR) and I get the segfault with both.


(gdb) start
Function "main" not defined.
Make breakpoint pending on future shared library load? (y or [n]) n
Starting program: /usr/bin/fs-uae
warning: Could not load shared library symbols for linux-gate.so.1.
Do you need "set solib-search-path" or "set sysroot"?
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
Using host libthread_db library "/usr/lib/libthread_db.so.1".

Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
0xf7731d35 in __memcpy_ssse3_rep () from /usr/lib32/libc.so.6
(gdb) backtrace
#0 0xf7731d35 in __memcpy_ssse3_rep () from /usr/lib32/libc.so.6
#1 0xf7c816ef in ?? () from /usr/lib32/libGL.so.1
#2 0xf6850496 in ?? () from /usr/lib32/libnvidia-glcore.so.340.24
#3 0xf7c618df in ?? () from /usr/lib32/libGL.so.1
#4 0xf7fe8aee in call_init.part () from /lib/ld-linux.so.2
#5 0xf7fe8c40 in _dl_init_internal () from /lib/ld-linux.so.2
#6 0xf7fdabaf in _dl_start_user () from /lib/ld-linux.so.2
 
Old 16 July 2014, 23:36   #6
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
@hodge thanks for the stack trace -It shows that the crash happens inside the OpenGL driver. I cannot 100% say that there is no problem with FS-UAE, but FS-UAE works with other OpenGL drivers (incl. nVIDIA) on multiple platforms.

Last edited by FrodeSolheim; 19 July 2014 at 15:00.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 19 July 2014, 14:27   #7
hodge
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the response! I'll check things out at nVidia's end and file a bug report if appropriate.
 
Old 23 July 2014, 20:29   #8
alkis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 53
Posts: 719
Got exactly the same problem (kubuntu 14.04-64bit with 340.24 nvidia driver)

__memmove_ssse3_back () at ../sysdeps/x86_64/multiarch/memcpy-ssse3-back.S:1698
1698 ../sysdeps/x86_64/multiarch/memcpy-ssse3-back.S: No such file or directory.
(gdb) bt
#0 __memmove_ssse3_back () at ../sysdeps/x86_64/multiarch/memcpy-ssse3-back.S:1698
#1 0x00007ffff3347d77 in ?? () from /usr/lib/nvidia-340/libnvidia-glcore.so.340.24
#2 0x00007ffff3347e58 in ?? () from /usr/lib/nvidia-340/libnvidia-glcore.so.340.24
#3 0x00007ffff6e9d6bd in ?? () from /usr/lib/nvidia-340/libGL.so.1
#4 0x00007ffff7dea0fd in call_init (l=0x7ffff7fc24f8, argc=argc@entry=1,
argv=argv@entry=0x7fffffffd158, env=env@entry=0x7fffffffd168) at dl-init.c:64
#5 0x00007ffff7dea223 in call_init (env=<optimized out>, argv=<optimized out>, argc=<optimized out>,
l=<optimized out>) at dl-init.c:36
#6 _dl_init (main_map=0x7ffff7ffe1c8, argc=1, argv=0x7fffffffd158, env=0x7fffffffd168)
at dl-init.c:126
#7 0x00007ffff7ddb30a in _dl_start_user () from /lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2
#8 0x0000000000000001 in ?? ()
#9 0x00007fffffffd59b in ?? ()
#10 0x0000000000000000 in ?? ()

Last edited by alkis; 23 July 2014 at 20:30. Reason: add the 64bit on the OS
alkis is offline  
Old 23 July 2014, 22:55   #9
alkis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 53
Posts: 719
Found a workarround.
This on terminal starts fs-uae correctly:
__GL_WRITE_TEXT_SECTION=0 fs-uae

And the relative documentation for it (/usr/share/doc/nvidia-340/html/openglenvvariables.html)
Disabling executable memory optimizations

By default, the NVIDIA driver will attempt to use optimizations which rely on being able to write to executable memory. This may cause problems in certain system configurations (e.g., on SELinux when the "allow_execmem" boolean is disabled or "deny_execmem" boolean is enabled, and on grsecurity kernels configured with CONFIG_PAX_MPROTECT). When possible, the driver will attempt to detect when it is running on an unsupported configuration and disable these optimizations automatically. If the __GL_WRITE_TEXT_SECTION environment variable is set to 0, the driver will unconditionally disable these optimizations.
alkis is offline  
Old 25 July 2014, 22:27   #10
hodge
 
Posts: n/a
I can confirm that the workaround allows fs-uae to start here as well, so thanks alkis .

(Oddly, I'm now experiencing a segfault when I *exit* fs-uae - though in practice that's not really a problem).

I started a thread over at the nVIDIA forums - no replies yet, but if more people make some noise we might get someone's attention .

http://tinyurl.com/fsuae-nvidia-segfault
 
Old 14 August 2014, 23:32   #11
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
I have tested the latest nVidia drivers ( 340.32 ) on Linux and I can confirm that it does crash (same stack trace as alkis).

The problem is that the nVidia driver crashes as part of the nVidia OpenGL library initialization, *before* FS-UAE is even started...

I don't have any good explanation why it causes FS-UAE to crash and not all other OpenGL-using apps. One possibility is that the problem occurs only in specific circumstances (depending on library load order, size of executable, and/or something else).

Until the problem is resolved, one possible workaround I can do is to set __GL_WRITE_TEXT_SECTION=0 by Launcher/Arcade before starting FS-UAE (thanks for finding the workaround, alkis )

Last edited by FrodeSolheim; 27 January 2015 at 22:02.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 14 August 2014, 23:35   #12
alkis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 53
Posts: 719
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
thanks for finding the workaround, alkis
You are quite welcome. Thank YOU for all the hard and amazing work, dude!
alkis is offline  
Old 27 January 2015, 22:03   #13
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
The bug in FS-UAE causing the crash has been identified... by NVIDIA

FS-UAE bugfix release and more information at http://fs-uae.net/2015/01/27/fs-uae-2-4-3-released.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 27 January 2015, 22:04   #14
Foul
Registered User
 
Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 49
Posts: 1,516
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul
Is NVIDIA playing with Amiga ?
Foul is offline  
Old 29 January 2015, 10:51   #15
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 51
Posts: 841
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
The bug in FS-UAE causing the crash has been identified... by NVIDIA

FS-UAE bugfix release and more information at http://fs-uae.net/2015/01/27/fs-uae-2-4-3-released.
Colour me impressed by nVidia... I wonder if Apple or Microsoft could've been bovvered to do the same if the bug was related OSX or Redmond instead of a driver.

Great that nVidia took their time to investigate
Doc Mindie is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to start FS-UAE because of segmentation fault [Solved] v3gard support.FS-UAE 2 18 March 2013 18:32
"Reminder "Lincs Amiga User Group aka "LAG" Meet Sat 5th of January 2013" rockape News 4 30 January 2013 00:06
CD32 Image-Name-Bug: "...(bla)[!].zip" -> "...(bla)[" / "...[test].zip" -> "...[tes" cfTrio support.WinUAE 8 18 December 2012 16:31
savestate.cpp => segmentation fault john4p support.Other 2 07 July 2010 08:55
Problems with "Thespywholovedme", "Flood", "Shinobi" sareks support.Games 12 03 May 2006 14:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:05.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09990 seconds with 13 queries