English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 December 2001, 22:59   #1
poppe
Junior Member
poppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Umeå
Age: 43
Posts: 195
Send a message via ICQ to poppe
simon the sorcerer cd32..

Anyone got Simon the Sorcerer CD32 version up and running on the a1200 with cd? If anyone succeded please let me know how couse i´ve tried everything, i think....
poppe is offline  
Old 07 December 2001, 19:06   #2
steztheskinhead
 
Posts: n/a
Wink

You shouldn't have ANY problems running Simon the Sorcerer on a CD equipped A1200! It runs fine on my present system and it ran fine years ago on the Amiga 1200 setup I had when the game first came out. What exactly is happening when you try to run the game?
 
Old 08 December 2001, 12:00   #3
poppe
Junior Member
poppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Umeå
Age: 43
Posts: 195
Send a message via ICQ to poppe
well..

..i get no cd sound at all. The speach sort of hangs behind the animations and often is cut away. If I remember it right some graphic errors was experienced also.

Did it work right away for you or did you work alot with the cd32 emulation files?
poppe is offline  
Old 08 December 2001, 12:15   #4
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 3,704
Re: well..

Quote:
Originally posted by poppe
..i get no cd sound at all. The speach sort of hangs behind the animations and often is cut away. If I remember it right some graphic errors was experienced also.

Did it work right away for you or did you work alot with the cd32 emulation files?
Uhmmmm, you downloaded the ISO ?? Then you might miss some Music Tracks perhaps ?? Or are you speaking of Simon The Sorcerer 2 ? Then you will need a patch to get the game running with sound ! But since you mention the CD32 I think you´re speaking of the first part .....
RetroMan is offline  
Old 08 December 2001, 12:17   #5
poppe
Junior Member
poppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Umeå
Age: 43
Posts: 195
Send a message via ICQ to poppe
no..

..i got the original simon the sorcerer 1, the cd32 release. I´ve heard that people where having problems but i also heard people without problems...
poppe is offline  
Old 08 December 2001, 18:01   #6
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
@Retroman:

Regarding StS II, might this also help on the emulator?
I'd LOVE to hear speech in the Amiga versions, honestly, I didn't know there ever WAS speech at all.
I had played the MS-DOS version on the PC back then... *with* speech, of course.
StS 1 (Amiga) has no speech at all for me. I'm playing it on the emulator, though, so WHY is there no speech in either of the two parts and how can I get speech in emulation (if at all)?

Last edited by andreas; 08 December 2001 at 18:07.
andreas is offline  
Old 08 December 2001, 18:10   #7
poppe
Junior Member
poppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Umeå
Age: 43
Posts: 195
Send a message via ICQ to poppe
well..

...i don´t know. I try run it on my 1200 with cd32 emulation. It was no speach in the disk version of the game (no big suprice ehh..) but the cd32 version did have speach. But i fail to get them to work properly... Hmm. Not funny at all.. i want speach to.
poppe is offline  
Old 08 December 2001, 18:19   #8
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally posted by andreas
@Retroman:

Regarding StS II, might this also help on the emulator?
I'd LOVE to hear speech in the Amiga versions, honestly, I didn't know there ever WAS speech at all.
You should try the Update on this site : http://www.shoecake.com/simon2.html

Maybe it helps you out with sound&speech in STS2
RetroMan is offline  
Old 08 December 2001, 23:30   #9
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Thanks a lot for the link.
Hey, stupid me ...
I *thought* I had part II, but I don't.
If I can find this game somewhere, I might have a lot of use for this patch
andreas is offline  
Old 09 December 2001, 00:20   #10
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally posted by andreas
If I can find this game somewhere, I might have a lot of use for this patch
You may be lucky by checking your local Amiga-Dealer, cause STS2 is still on sale
RetroMan is offline  
Old 09 December 2001, 01:49   #11
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Grrr ... , you *are* aware that I'm now through with you forever, yeah?
You shouldn't have said that publicly at all!
Maybe someone wouldn't have known it and "accidentally" uploaded the disks on the Zone, heheh!
Now this chance is over, damnit!
Spoiler!

Last edited by andreas; 09 December 2001 at 01:56.
andreas is offline  
Old 09 December 2001, 02:43   #12
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 3,704
Well, due to the fact in comes on CD with speech and sound on it, it´s quite huge, so I doubt it fits on Disks
RetroMan is offline  
Old 09 December 2001, 03:00   #13
Doozy
 
Posts: n/a
Total conversion?

Did the game (sts2) undergo a total overhaul from the pc version i.e. file format change or did they just add an executable that would run a p.c. version on the Amiga?

Would be canny good if it were just an executable, cos then I could run my P.C. version on my miggy.
 
Old 09 December 2001, 03:36   #14
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 30
Posts: 4,662
I highly doubt it's that simple, otherwise game ports would be a doddle. If anything, STS2 (code) is ported/updated from the Macintosh.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 09 December 2001, 12:02   #15
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Quote:
Well, due to the fact in comes on CD with speech and sound on it, it´s quite huge, so I doubt it fits on Disks

Seriously ... yes, I thought so, of course.
andreas is offline  
Old 14 December 2001, 09:44   #16
coffeedotbean
 
Posts: n/a
I remeber there was a problem running CD32 Simon on a A1200/CD system, I did get it working but I had to fiddle with the CD32 emulation settings. I know thats not much help, but your CD is fine its an emulation issue.
 
Old 20 February 2006, 14:10   #17
poppe
Junior Member
poppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Umeå
Age: 43
Posts: 195
Send a message via ICQ to poppe
solved this problem the other day. using idefix i changed the idefix command to "LoadIDE reset quiet" in the startup-sequence. now the game runs fine with sound in sync and with no options disabled from the cd32emulator.
poppe is offline  
Old 20 February 2006, 20:15   #18
mr_0rga5m
Tik Gora :D

mr_0rga5m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Round yo momma's
Posts: 1,273
Give us more details please poppe mate .. and/or some .cfg files etc..
mr_0rga5m is offline  
Old 20 February 2006, 21:39   #19
poppe
Junior Member
poppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Umeå
Age: 43
Posts: 195
Send a message via ICQ to poppe
well. using my a4000, installed idefix to get my atapi-cdrom up and running, changing the startup-sequence line "c:idefix" to "LoadIDE reset quiet". Then using the cd32 emulator that comes with idefix to boot "simon the sorcerer cd32". You dont even have to change any settings in the cd32emulator program.
poppe is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting Simon The Sorcerer CD32 to run from an A1200 with HD? Legerdemain support.Games 12 12 June 2015 14:52
Simon the sorcerer cd32 talkie klapdeur Games images which need to be WHDified 12 22 April 2013 12:33
WTB: Simon the Sorcerer CD32 mk1 MarketPlace 0 01 October 2008 20:05
Simon the Sorcerer CD32 messyhead request.Old Rare Games 16 18 June 2008 17:17
Simon the Sorcerer Cd32 (talkie) Theformula request.Old Rare Games 6 27 February 2008 22:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12911 seconds with 15 queries