English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 February 2015, 10:10   #1
zharn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 150
PFS3 errors large hdds

Hi, ive been using this setup for quite some time now and its been perfect

a1200 1d4, aca1231, custom 3.9 roms
scsi.device 46.0 (13.5.2013)

pfs3ds v18.5 id=0x50445303, mask= 0x7ffffffe, maxtransfer = 0x1fe00
sandisk 8gb (partitioned 741mb, 1.7gb, 4.5gb)

pfs3ds v18.5 id=0x50445303, mask= 0x7ffffffe, maxtransfer = 0x1fe00
sandisk 16gb (partitioned 14gb)

So with that config all is good...

Then i got a myself a IDEfix with Indivision branding, plugged in a 80gb and cdrom on the extra channels.

Ive patched IDEfix to 119.19 to fix the CF bug, set IDEfixPrefs with
Controller Type - a600/a1200/a500
4-Drive Adaptor - EB Standard

Then manually run the patched idefix to enable the second channel so i can see the 80gb and cdrom - cool...

Using HDToolBox - change drive type and read config from drive which gave me

Cylinders 155061, Heads 16, Blocks per track 63, Blocks per cylinder 1008
cylinders * heads * blocks per track * 512 = 80,026,361,856... So that looks right

setup up the drive with the same pfs3ds i was using
pfs3ds v18.5 id=0x50445303, mask= 0x7ffffffe, maxtransfer = 0x1fe00
4 partitions of 32760 cylinders (around 14.8gb each with a bit spare)

I can format the four new partitions, they appear every time in wb, as long as i load IDEfix. FTP to the partitions and dump from my other computer until they are full all good!! (very slow but it works)...

The wierd stuff happens when i delete files

PFS-3+ Error Requester
Device SDH3:
LRU update failed

PFS-3+ Error Requester
Device SDH3:
BETA WARNING NR 1

hmm reboot run pfsdoctor - wait .. it found 5 errors on the folder i was deleting and fixes them

Ive been trying all kings of things and i thought i had it sorted until today, hence this post
zharn is offline  
Old 04 February 2015, 11:43   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,738
If this is not driver size related problem, it can be caused be old and very rare PFS3 bug when partition size is larger than ~6G. You can try latest PFS3AIO from Aminet (it includes bug fix)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 05 February 2015, 23:58   #3
zharn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 150
Hi Toni,

I wiped the RDB on the 80gb, used PFS3AIO with the same identifier as pfs3ds, created the 4 partitions again same size, copied about 10gb of amiga isos over. Then deleted the folder and

PFS-3+ Error Requester
Device SDH3:
BETA WARNING NR 1

I think next ill try it without idefix, so ill have my boot CF as master then the 80gb as slave only (remove ide splitter and idefix) and see if that works over the weekend.
zharn is offline  
Old 06 February 2015, 08:11   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,738
PFS3AIO does not have any BETA warning messages. Perhaps you have another HD with other version of PFS3 installed? (With 100% same dostype)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 06 February 2015, 09:40   #5
zharn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 150
Yes 2x CF cards PF3DS and 80gb PFS3AIO all sharing same dostype. Can the PFS3AIO use any other dostypes?
zharn is offline  
Old 06 February 2015, 10:10   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,738
Quote:
Originally Posted by zharn View Post
Yes 2x CF cards PF3DS and 80gb PFS3AIO all sharing same dostype. Can the PFS3AIO use any other dostypes?
Yes, you can use different dostype. PFS3 won't care, as long as you don't use DOSx
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 06 February 2015, 22:27   #7
zharn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 150
Thanks Toni, it was the dostype - used 50445305 - PDS\05. Fill a partition then delete works. No errors.

Is there somewhere i can read about dostypes?

Ill convert my other CFs to PFS3AIO now.

Thanks for your help.
zharn is offline  
Old 07 February 2015, 14:20   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,738
Quote:
Originally Posted by zharn View Post
Thanks Toni, it was the dostype - used 50445305 - PDS\05. Fill a partition then delete works. No errors.
Great. Unfortunately this does not answer why standard PFS3 didn't work

Quote:
Is there somewhere i can read about dostypes?
DOSType is not very interesting, it is basically only an identifier to match partitions to filesystems. Some filesystems don't care about it, some use it to detect filesystem type if same filesystem handler supports multiple different filesystems. (for example OFS/FFS DOSx where x=type)

Quote:
Ill convert my other CFs to PFS3AIO now.
No need to convert anything, update filesystem in RDB = done.
PFS3 and PFS3AIO block structures have not changed.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 10 February 2015, 00:42   #9
zharn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 150
Glad to report that PFS3AIO is still working and the system is stable now. With confidence ive upgraded my boot CF to 16GB (750mb,750mb,rest), and the 80gb is working with 4 partitions.

Next i would like to make a single 75gb ish partition with PFS3AIO, but im going to have to play with HDToolBox numbers in the drive type to make this work by the looks.
Any suggestions or tricks before i try this?
zharn is offline  
Old 10 February 2015, 11:40   #10
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,484
No other suggestions than stick to the same partitioning program all the time so that you don't run into any geometry calculation incompatiblities.
Jope is offline  
Old 11 February 2015, 23:30   #11
zharn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 150
I found in HDToolBox if i create a very small partition 5mb then the next partition can the remainder of the drive. So im trying that now. Attempting to fill it, it will take a while at via ftp at 600k/sec.
zharn is offline  
Old 12 February 2015, 09:26   #12
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,484
If you have the latest scsi.device in your custom ROM, you could have made one big partition all the way. Never mind the strange numbers for the partition size in 3.1 hdtoolbox, it's the start + end cylinder that counts.
Jope is offline  
Old 12 February 2015, 09:34   #13
Solo761
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Croatia
Age: 40
Posts: 341
I've made a small calc to help me when partitioning, maybe it'll be useful to other people too. I've predefined few cards that I have so I don't have to enter them manually every time, but you can always enter numbers from HDToolBox/HDInstTools and use it from there.

You can save the file to your computer and use it offline, everything is contained in html file.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...AmigaCalc.html
Solo761 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PFS3 or PFS3 SCSI Direct xalakibaniou project.ClassicWB 105 27 July 2013 22:08
HDTOOLS LArge HD Version PFS3 Version diskers project.ClassicWB 14 18 September 2012 12:50
PFS3 continuosly giving "Block outside reserved area" -errors emuola project.ClassicWB 15 19 August 2012 19:47
HDDs gone missing Iznougoud support.Hardware 17 03 December 2009 20:24
PFS3 error: INVALID PFS3 COPY !!! WTF? keropi support.Apps 10 18 March 2008 22:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08623 seconds with 15 queries