English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Amiga Forever

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 December 2020, 15:58   #1
steveis2
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Britain
Posts: 26
Amiga OS 4.1 FE classic on Amigaforever

Hi,

I'm thinking of trying the Amiga OS 4.1 in amigafoever. However I'm not sure about how to install it. Do you need to boot from the cdrom or have an adf file to start off? Is it straight forwared or complex. I don't mind which but it would be good to know in advance.
On a different angle are there any depositries of programs that can be run in OS 4.1 and can you run classic programs in it be it an application or a game?



Regards Steve
steveis2 is offline  
Old 04 December 2020, 16:14   #2
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,519
AmigaForever uses WinUAE, I enclose a video of me showing how to install OS 4.1 on WinUAE.

I enclose video, since a few days Google Drive doesn't convert my videos, sometimes it happens, if someone has some info I would like it, to see the video you'll have to download it.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1yTY...ew?usp=sharing
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 04 December 2020, 18:40   #3
steveis2
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Britain
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
AmigaForever uses WinUAE, I enclose a video of me showing how to install OS 4.1 on WinUAE.

I enclose video, since a few days Google Drive doesn't convert my videos, sometimes it happens, if someone has some info I would like it, to see the video you'll have to download it.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1yTY...ew?usp=sharing



Hi

Thanks for the video. I'll be studying it oever the weekend.


Regards Steve
steveis2 is offline  
Old 04 December 2020, 19:32   #4
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,130
here you find a video on how to install 4.1FE using the amigaforever package in all steps
[ Show youtube player ]
White is offline  
Old 05 December 2020, 17:51   #5
steveis2
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Britain
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by White View Post
here you find a video on how to install 4.1FE using the amigaforever package in all steps
[ Show youtube player ]

Hi

Thanks for a very detailed video. I never would have worked it out myself. On its basis I have installed OS 4.1 and got an old game called galaga 'nearly working', the fire key didn't work but everything else did.


I haven't suceeded in getting the internet working or figured out how to install something like abiwrite. Are there any guides on how to do those things? But for now atleast it's working and that's a really good result.



Thanks again.


Regards Steve
steveis2 is offline  
Old 05 December 2020, 18:01   #6
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,130
here how to activate the internet:
[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by White; 12 December 2020 at 10:54.
White is offline  
Old 05 December 2020, 18:11   #7
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,130
you can find some suggestions here:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=91368

here instead the "repository" for applications and utilities for 4.1FE
http://os4depot.net/
White is offline  
Old 05 December 2020, 21:08   #8
steveis2
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Britain
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by White View Post
here how to activate the internet:
[ Show youtube player ]

here the settings in the control panel for the network card:

Got it working. Thanks
steveis2 is offline  
Old 05 December 2020, 21:08   #9
steveis2
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Britain
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by White View Post
you can find some suggestions here:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=91368

here instead the "repository" for applications and utilities for 4.1FE
http://os4depot.net/



Hi
Plenty to read over the weekend.


Steve
steveis2 is offline  
Old 06 December 2020, 11:36   #10
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,130
you can install Abiword
the prerequisite is Amicygnix
you can always find it on osdepot

Last edited by White; 14 December 2020 at 12:22.
White is offline  
Old 06 December 2020, 15:30   #11
steveis2
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Britain
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by White View Post
you can install Abiword
the prerequisite is Amicygnix
you can always find it on osdepot

Hi

I have installed Amicygnix and abiword but it runs a bit slow and runs out of memory if I try to do anything. I think it must be a problem with the emulation per se. On the other hand I've got amiwrite working so it's not a massive problem, if a bit dissapointing.


Regars Steve
steveis2 is offline  
Old 06 December 2020, 15:46   #12
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,130
@steveis2
the system update is carried out with update1 this update enables you to use more memory up to a gigabyte of ram
with a registered copy it is possible to download the update1 from the hyperion website and the updates released over time
4.1FE emulation requires a fast processor to be used at its best.

Before purchasing the 4.1FE system it is recommended to have a very fast processor to use the most advanced applications

Last edited by White; 06 December 2020 at 15:54.
White is offline  
Old 06 December 2020, 20:13   #13
steveis2
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Britain
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by White View Post
@steveis2
the system update is carried out with update1 this update enables you to use more memory up to a gigabyte of ram
with a registered copy it is possible to download the update1 from the hyperion website and the updates released over time
4.1FE emulation requires a fast processor to be used at its best.

Before purchasing the 4.1FE system it is recommended to have a very fast processor to use the most advanced applications

Hi,
I do have a registered copy of OS 4.1 but haven't downloaded the update. In terms of emulation, if I install the update could I change the emulation to take advantage of the updates' abilities?.


Steve
steveis2 is offline  
Old 06 December 2020, 20:43   #14
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,130
Yes
you can download the update directly from the hyperion website and install it offline (strongly recommended)
this is because the online update of update1 generally fails
after this you will be able to use 1gigabyte of ram memory

also have a look at the suggestions to understand how to do it.
without skipping steps.
you will have to modify the startup-sequence to get the ram increase.
This will be the most tedious but necessary part to best configure the 4.1FE.
You will probably have to try many times to figure out how to configure the system. It only takes patience.
Later you can use uaegfx as a video driver and increase the graphics ram available.

separate note:
using amigaforever you can understand how 4.1FE works so you can install the packages you need and everything will work.
You will experience as with any other system
And how to use the 3.xx workbench for the first time as soon as it is installed you basically can't do anything about it.
The system must be built step by step.
The packages you need are written in the tips.
You can skip the part dedicated to G-Rex and orient yourself on Mediator or you can configure it later.

But it will be an important part later if you want to have a complete 4.1FE system and configure the audio in the right way is to have the right compatibility with some applications.

Once you understand how the installation of the whole system takes place, it will take just 10 minutes to have the whole system ready for use.

If you decide to do a second installation it will be much easier because you will already know what to do.
At that point you will probably feel the need to use winuae directly.

Last edited by White; 06 December 2020 at 21:18.
White is offline  
Old 07 December 2020, 06:09   #15
steveis2
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Britain
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by White View Post
Yes
you can download the update directly from the hyperion website and install it offline (strongly recommended)
this is because the online update of update1 generally fails
after this you will be able to use 1gigabyte of ram memory.....

.......once you understand how the installation of the whole system
takes place, it will take just 10 minutes to have the whole system ready for use.

If you decide to do a second installation it will be much easier because you will already know what to do.
At that point you will probably feel the need to use winuae directly.

Hi,
Thank you very much for all the advice and ideas. It will keep me busy for a good while.
I think I will stick with Amigaforever for now and try to improve it as far as I can and then maybe try win-uae. In the meantime by launching an app like AbiWord in standalone mode I've overcome the lack of memory issue and it runs much faster.
It could take some time but I think I will eventually get a very good set up.



Steve





Regards Steve
steveis2 is offline  
Old 11 December 2020, 19:57   #16
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,130
here the second part of the tutorial of 4.1FE for AmigaForever network configuration updates installing update1 increasing the ram z3:
[ Show youtube player ]
White is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga formatted CF card on WinUAE AmigaForever? KarlM support.WinUAE 17 09 July 2016 12:37
Using AmigaForever 2014! mechanic_2 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 41 08 December 2015 19:39
WinUAE or Amigaforever? superfly2000 support.WinUAE 11 13 April 2011 18:59
amigaforever 2008 turrican3 support.Other 4 27 November 2008 23:54
AIAB/AmigaForever komunita support.WinUAE 4 12 June 2006 11:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13015 seconds with 15 queries