English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 February 2005, 22:18   #1
Smiley
Amiga-less!
Smiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,350
Floppy disk Using a pcmcia card for RAM (a600)

I need some more RAM for my a600 seeing as my new HD wouldnt be much use with only 1mb. I was going to buy a 1mb expansion board but they are becoming scarce and expensive. I was thinking about using some pcmcia RAM. Would any of these pcmcia cards work for RAM on an a600?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...746198696&rd=1

Please Dont bid on it!

Last edited by Smiley; 23 February 2005 at 22:30.
Smiley is offline  
Old 24 February 2005, 06:27   #2
TikTok
Registered User

TikTok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Malayasia
Age: 41
Posts: 657
They might work, but remember that PCMCIA RAM is slooooowwwwwww and will only increase your fast RAM, not your chip RAM.
TikTok is offline  
Old 24 February 2005, 09:35   #3
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 947
The speed of the RAM makes no real difference to the A600. Both the A600 and the RAM are 16-bit. On the 1200, you notice the speed drop because the 1200 is 32-bit.
ant512 is offline  
Old 24 February 2005, 09:38   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,746
All 3 of these cards are NOT PCMCIA cards and they DO NOT WORK with the Amiga A600 or A1200.

They are custom cards for IBM and TOSHIBA laptops, they have staggered pins instead of the inline ones in PCMCIA. They dont even fit in the Amiga slot.

Trust me I bought some by mistake
alexh is offline  
Old 24 February 2005, 10:45   #5
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 8,706
A quick google confirms that at least on the Toshiba part's behalf..
Jope is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A600/1200 4 Mb Pcmcia Fast Ram mikele MarketPlace 10 16 February 2012 15:21
PCMCIA ram card problems Nikolaj_sofus support.Hardware 5 20 January 2011 08:28
A600: CF in IDE, SRAM card in PCMCIA... how to add a 'to PC transfer card'? Photon support.Hardware 9 15 January 2011 18:17
Fast RAM on A600? *NOT PCMCIA* Akira Hardware mods 9 21 January 2009 18:07
PCMCIA CF card used as RAM with prepcard _ThEcRoW support.Hardware 13 07 March 2006 16:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06860 seconds with 15 queries