English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Game Factory

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 October 2021, 12:59   #41
VincentGR
Registered User
VincentGR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Greece
Posts: 160
Top quality!
VincentGR is offline  
Old 18 October 2021, 01:14   #42
Muzza
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Sydney
Posts: 92
Looks great Daniel. This seems to be a popular game for Amiga conversions. I too had thought of making Robocop my next project not that long ago. Looking forward to seeing it progress!
Muzza is offline  
Old 18 October 2021, 10:22   #43
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 3,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by New Sky View Post
Hello,
Great ! I was thinking about an Arcade version on Amiga not long ago !
Good luck for the future !
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muzza View Post
Looks great Daniel. This seems to be a popular game for Amiga conversions. I too had thought of making Robocop my next project not that long ago. Looking forward to seeing it progress!
No worries, there is still room for a "Shinobi" port
malko is offline  
Old 18 October 2021, 18:12   #44
VincentGR
Registered User
VincentGR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Greece
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by malko View Post
No worries, there is still room for a "Shinobi" port
VincentGR is offline  
Old 18 October 2021, 23:09   #45
gian2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Italy
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielAllsopp View Post
Update #2

It seems I've gotten right back into my 68k coding learning zone as I've been tinkering with the engine over the last couple of nights. It has taken me a while to pick up some relative speed but it's coming back and it's a nice distraction from Swift!

So, in this update I've added the ability to switch between different sprites at different locations in the game.

For example, in the first level the background city in the middle of the level is created using four 64 pixel wide sprites, equalling 256 pixels, but because the screen is 288 pixels wide (the arcade is 256 pixels wide) they need to be automatically repeated across the whole screen using the SSCAN2 feature of the chipset.

Realistically the bosses at the end of the level will also need to use the sprite hardware as they're so big; 128x110 pixels for ED-209 in this level and that would kill a lot of raster time if it were implemented as a blitter object.

At the end of the level the engine will now automatically switch from using SSCAN2 and the city sprite data to using standard 64 pixel attached sprites for ED-209, totalling 4 hardware sprites. A nice benefit here leaves me with 4 spare hardware sprites to play with which I'm sure I can utilise for something nice!

I did come across one problem at this point, relating to the 288 pixel wide screen this Amiga version is utilising: when ED-209 appears on the screen in this resolution, there is a 32 pixel wide column on the left of the screen which still shows some of the city scape!!
Do you use fetch mode 4x for sprite e fetch mode 1x for bitplane?
gian2k is offline  
Old 19 October 2021, 15:37   #46
DanielAllsopp
Registered User

DanielAllsopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Northumberland, UK
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by gian2k View Post
Do you use fetch mode 4x for sprite e fetch mode 1x for bitplane?
I was under the impression that there is only one fetch mode available and it affects the bitplanes only, in which case I'm using 4x fetch mode for bitplanes and 64 pixel wide sprites.
DanielAllsopp is offline  
Old 19 October 2021, 15:49   #47
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielAllsopp View Post
I was under the impression that there is only one fetch mode available and it affects the bitplanes only, in which case I'm using 4x fetch mode for bitplanes and 64 pixel wide sprites.
Technically, the 64 pixel wide sprites are achieved using 4x fetch mode for sprites. Hence, both bitplane fetch and sprite size are set using the same register, FMODE.

By the way, I loved the ED-209 sprites. Looks so much better than the original Amiga version
roondar is offline  
Old 19 October 2021, 16:34   #48
rothers
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 239
Would you consider improving the visuals over the arcade? I've been playing with an A500 version and I have added a few extras, inc a 3rd closer layer of parallax.

I used this technique:

[ Show youtube player ]

I'm not sure if I'm going to take it any further but it looks nice.
rothers is offline  
Old 19 October 2021, 19:26   #49
gian2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Italy
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielAllsopp View Post
I was under the impression that there is only one fetch mode available and it affects the bitplanes only, in which case I'm using 4x fetch mode for bitplanes and 64 pixel wide sprites.

4 sprites attached at 64 pixels wide plus scrolling hardware in the 288 pixel window is not possible. You lose DMA slot. I think you are setting fetch 4x (64bit burst) for sprite and fetch 1x for bpl (16 bit)
gian2k is offline  
Old 19 October 2021, 22:39   #50
DanielAllsopp
Registered User

DanielAllsopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Northumberland, UK
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by gian2k View Post
4 sprites attached at 64 pixels wide plus scrolling hardware in the 288 pixel window is not possible. You lose DMA slot. I think you are setting fetch 4x (64bit burst) for sprite and fetch 1x for bpl (16 bit)
I'm not scrolling using the sub-pixel mode of AGA, so that respect I am only scrolling at 16bit level, but I am using 4x fetch mode (infact if I switch 4x fetch mode off and adjust my values below so it uses 1x fetch mode then I get a significant drop in performance).

Code:
  dc.w FMODE,$800f
  dc.w DIWSTRT,$2c91
  dc.w DIWSTOP,$2cb1
  dc.w DDFSTRT,$38
  dc.w DDFSTOP,$b8
Indeed, if I went for a full 320x256 window with hardware scrolling then I would lose the last sprite.

Last edited by DanielAllsopp; 19 October 2021 at 22:53.
DanielAllsopp is offline  
Old 19 October 2021, 22:50   #51
DanielAllsopp
Registered User

DanielAllsopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Northumberland, UK
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by roondar View Post
Technically, the 64 pixel wide sprites are achieved using 4x fetch mode for sprites. Hence, both bitplane fetch and sprite size are set using the same register, FMODE.
Yes, by setting bits 0 and 1 of FMODE you set the fetch mode, so $11 is 4x fetch mode and by setting bits 2 and 3 you can set the sprite size, so in my case I'm also setting both of those bits to $11, giving me a 64 pixel wide sprite.

Obviously using a combination of those bits you could use a 4 x fetch mode and 32 pixel wide sprites.

But yeah, all set using the same register FMODE, at $dff1fc

Quote:
Originally Posted by roondar View Post
By the way, I loved the ED-209 sprites. Looks so much better than the original Amiga version
Thanks, I wish I could take credit for the beautiful pixel art, but alas I'm just not up to the task of doing it justice so a rip from MAME is all I can do
DanielAllsopp is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Robocop 3 Help rodi support.Games 23 25 May 2006 16:51
Robocop 3D Souleh support.Games 12 20 June 2004 20:59
Robocop 3 Parsec support.Games 8 06 July 2003 03:58
robocop 3 Unregistered support.WinUAE 10 04 September 2002 16:23
Robocop 3 turk182 request.Old Rare Games 20 25 November 2001 09:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08034 seconds with 14 queries