English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > Games images which need to be WHDified

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 June 2005, 14:37   #1
twardy
 
Posts: n/a
Championship Manager 2

On WHDLOAD page there's an info that it is in work in progress state, and that it is 60% complete . But the info is 1,5 years old. Maybe Galahad coul comment on that ...
 
Old 22 June 2005, 14:40   #2
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 9,265
Galahad doesn't have a lot of time to always complete installs..

Like the rest of the team.. I'm sure he will comment
BippyM is offline  
Old 22 June 2005, 15:09   #3
twardy
 
Posts: n/a
Yeah, I can imagine. CM 2 is a cool game, but it suffers a lot from being disk only, and incredibly slow. The fairlight HD installer that I once had didn't work for me (AFAIR it rebooted tha amiga, and copied game data to rad: or smth). So i anxiously wait for a WHD installer.


I'm also curious if this game could work faster. Now it doesn't matter if you have 020 or 040 (you have to turn the cache off). It uses extra ram though.
 
Old 08 August 2005, 00:10   #4
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 48
Posts: 8,196
That HD installer was the first version, I released a second version a week later that didn't need to use RAD: at all. There was a bug in the game that was writing in memory space it wasn't supposed to use, hence the lame RAD: version. When I have time, I will complete CM2, but its a terribly badly written game and WHDLoad doesn't like it at all.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 20 August 2005, 15:28   #5
Neil34
 
Posts: n/a
Does anyone have those original installs, or know where they can be found.????
 
Old 20 August 2005, 18:42   #6
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 48
Posts: 8,196
I will dig it out, so long as it wasn't lost with a load of other stuff. I'm sure I still have it, and it also worked on o6o as well
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 20 August 2005, 19:18   #7
Neil34
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks, that'd be great. For the life of me i cannot fathom why Domark chucked a game like this out without an HD installer when they had with previous incarnations.!
 
Old 21 August 2005, 01:34   #8
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 9,265
Release deadlines etc.. are most likely and also copy protection had a part to play!
BippyM is offline  
Old 26 August 2005, 21:28   #9
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 48
Posts: 8,196
Because it had nothing to do with Domark... it was Eidos. Although Eidos bought up Domark, Sterling Software did the conversion, who were not the original team behind the previous incarnations (Intellek I think), and their versions were hard drive installable.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 30 August 2005, 15:46   #10
Neil34
 
Posts: n/a
I think you may be spot on. i remember CM Italia had an Intellek loading screen if memory serves right. Did you have a chance to look for the installer Galahad.?
 
Old 28 October 2007, 16:20   #11
meckert
Registered User

meckert's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Posts: 179
Any news on that ?? Still waiting...
meckert is offline  
Old 28 October 2007, 17:27   #12
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 48
Posts: 8,196
Dr.Bong has it, he sent it to me, but I've since had to replace this crappy PC with another one.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 29 October 2007, 11:14   #13
meckert
Registered User

meckert's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Posts: 179
What ? The whdload installer ? or the 50% faster version you've mentioned ... anyhow I WANT IT
meckert is offline  
Old 29 October 2007, 15:37   #14
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,619
The last CM2 installer that Galahad made for FLT is in the Zone. It runs from HD (not RAD: ) on 020-060 CPUs and has a quit back to WB option.

@Galahad
Slap this on a CD and put it in the vault m8! It took me a long time to find this one again and, you never know, my Amiga HD and CDs could spontaneously combust tomorrow or something
DrBong is offline  
Old 29 October 2007, 16:33   #15
meckert
Registered User

meckert's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Posts: 179
Yeah, but AFAIR Galahad worked on a WHDLOAD version, and also on a turbo version of CM2.
meckert is offline  
Old 29 October 2007, 17:04   #16
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 11,104
Does anyone have a version of the game already installed?
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 29 October 2007, 19:05   #17
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 48
Posts: 8,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBong View Post
The last CM2 installer that Galahad made for FLT is in the Zone. It runs from HD (not RAD: ) on 020-060 CPUs and has a quit back to WB option.

@Galahad
Slap this on a CD and put it in the vault m8! It took me a long time to find this one again and, you never know, my Amiga HD and CDs could spontaneously combust tomorrow or something
I still can't fathom where you found it in the first place!
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 30 October 2007, 14:07   #18
nikvest
Vertigo User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Belgrade/Serbia
Age: 44
Posts: 314
Does anyone know where can I find CM2? All the sites only have CM1 with variations...
nikvest is offline  
Old 30 October 2007, 17:10   #19
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,619
Quote:
Originally Posted by meckert View Post
Yeah, but AFAIR Galahad worked on a WHDLOAD version, and also on a turbo version of CM2.
Best that Galahad comments on the WHDLoad version. The turbo version (mentioned in the readme of the CM2 installer in the Zone) was never released. Galahad confirmed as much when I asked him in another thread a while back:

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=294838&postcount=6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
I still can't fathom where you found it in the first place!
I had a little help from an ex-Amiga friend God knows my warez backups on (corrupted) jaz disks from way back when were fuck-all help!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikvest View Post
Does anyone know where can I find CM2? All the sites only have CM1 with variations...
CM2 is rare too? In the Zone.....

Last edited by DrBong; 30 October 2007 at 17:51.
DrBong is offline  
Old 30 October 2007, 17:20   #20
nikvest
Vertigo User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Belgrade/Serbia
Age: 44
Posts: 314
Yeeeeeeeey...... Thank you.
nikvest is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Championship Manager 2 de55 support.Games 10 09 April 2020 09:25
Championship Manager 2 thesaintv7 request.Old Rare Games 53 26 February 2018 08:57
Championship Manager 2 tuki_cat request.Old Rare Games 9 16 August 2016 14:59
Championship Manager 2 MethodGit support.Games 7 19 March 2006 18:28
Championship Manager 2 fc.studio request.Old Rare Games 4 31 August 2004 17:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10461 seconds with 13 queries