English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 September 2020, 23:23   #141
pipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 662
Good this shows, it works in principle!

Quote:
I dont understand you. I have doomsound_midi.library in libs:
I usually opt to not copy the libraries to LIBS: if I can; to not clutter the system folder too much :-)

Quote:
ZDOOM LOAD and I can listen the MIDI in the first screen. but when I select NEW GAME the game crash!
Same in RISE OF THE TRIAD. APOGEE LOGO is showed with MIDI music but when I push a button for load the game, it crash.
I don't have the source to these, so I can't know why that happens. It would be up to NovaCoder to help debugging this. If we know which call to doomsound.library causes it, we might find out whats wrong. It seems, though as if it is related to switching songs maybe?!

Quote:
(btw, your version runs to a lower framerate)
That's interesting, they should perform the same for identical resolution. Did you select different resolution for both?
pipper is offline  
Old 17 September 2020, 23:38   #142
Estrayk
Registered User
 
Estrayk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 514
Maybe there're any problem when change the song ?

BTW, Same resolution in both.
Estrayk is offline  
Old 17 September 2020, 23:43   #143
pipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 662
Just browsing the ROTT source (assuming this is what you have been trying) at https://github.com/lantus/ROTT
I can see a potential problem in

Code:
int MUSIC_StopSong(void)
{
    if (!fx_initialized)
    {
        setErrorMessage("Need FX system initialized, too. Sorry.");
        return(MUSIC_Error);
    } // if

    if (musicHandle)
    {
        Mus_Unregister(musicHandle);      <<<<< DONT UNREGISTER BEFORE CALL TO Mus_Stop()
        Mus_Stop(musicHandle);
    }
    
    return(MUSIC_Ok);
} // MUSIC_StopSong
'musicHandle' will be invalid after Mus_Unregister(musicHandle).

Maybe @Lantus360 can fix that? I am currently not set up to compile his sources.
pipper is offline  
Old 18 September 2020, 02:19   #144
NovaCoder
Registered User
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 4,405
Quote:
Originally Posted by Estrayk View Post
Maybe there're any problem when change the song ?

BTW, Same resolution in both.
Also, try AmiWolf RTG which uses the doomsound.library in a better way I think.



Code:
int MUSIC_StopSong(void)
{
    if (!fx_initialized)
    {
        setErrorMessage("Need FX system initialized, too. Sorry.");
        return(MUSIC_Error);
    } // if

    if (musicHandle)
    {
        Mus_Unregister(musicHandle);      <<<<< DONT UNREGISTER BEFORE CALL TO Mus_Stop()
        Mus_Stop(musicHandle);
    }
    
    return(MUSIC_Ok);
} // MUSIC_StopSong
ZDOOM doesn't do this but it doesn't use the channels properly, I think only AmiWolf/AmiSpear use the library properly.

I don't have much time to debug Amiga project's these days I'm afraid.

Last edited by NovaCoder; 18 September 2020 at 03:18.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 18 September 2020, 06:22   #145
pipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 662
CAMDoomSound only redirects the MUS_xxx functions. the SFX_xxx functions are all untouched. I don't think channel selection will have anything to do with the hang?
What will, though, is if MUS_Register/MUS_Unregister are not used properly or more than one song gets registered at any time.
pipper is offline  
Old 18 September 2020, 06:29   #146
NovaCoder
Registered User
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 4,405
Okay makes sense.

Well if someone can test AmiWolf/AmiSpear and it works then I could probably update ZDOOM to match
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 18 September 2020, 15:35   #147
Weaselrama
Registered Voter
 
Weaselrama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Neunkirchen aP, DE
Age: 62
Posts: 570
Has anyone experienced an issue in Doom2 with Level 6 (The Crusher)? The Spiderdemon and Baron of Hell characters randomize to characters from other games and upon dying because the Baron of Hell is impossible to kill, the level ends and when you try to move on from the text intro to Level 7, a software failure error occurs?

This may be an FS-UAE-only issue. I can provide screenshots if you wish. This occurs in both RTG and AGA versions of ZDoom.

OS3.9 w/AfA BB1-4, 68060 256M FASTRAM

Last edited by Weaselrama; 18 September 2020 at 15:39. Reason: Add Info
Weaselrama is offline  
Old 18 September 2020, 15:47   #148
NovaCoder
Registered User
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 4,405
ODAMEX is a better port for you I think.

ZDOOM is a nice port but ODAMEX seems more stable.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 18 September 2020, 15:52   #149
Weaselrama
Registered Voter
 
Weaselrama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Neunkirchen aP, DE
Age: 62
Posts: 570
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
ODAMEX is a better port for you I think.

ZDOOM is a nice port but ODAMEX seems more stable.
Ok, thanks Novacoder. I'll try it out.
Weaselrama is offline  
Old 18 September 2020, 22:22   #150
Estrayk
Registered User
 
Estrayk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Okay makes sense.

Well if someone can test AmiWolf/AmiSpear and it works then I could probably update ZDOOM to match
I downloaded AmiWolf 1.32
http://aminet.net/package/game/shoot/AmiWolf_RTG
and IT WORKS !!!

if I load pipper patch before, sounds via MIDI in the menu and in the game.

Last edited by Estrayk; 18 September 2020 at 22:31.
Estrayk is offline  
Old 19 September 2020, 02:59   #151
NovaCoder
Registered User
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 4,405
Very cool

I'll see if I can update ZDOOM to match AmiWolf
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 19 September 2020, 16:50   #152
Estrayk
Registered User
 
Estrayk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Very cool

I'll see if I can update ZDOOM to match AmiWolf
Please
Estrayk is offline  
Old 21 September 2020, 08:18   #153
pipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 662
I uploaded a fixed ROTT.exe to the Zone. This will work with CAMDoomSound.
Let me know if this is faster or slower than the original port, I'd like to know how the different compilers used to compile both did.
pipper is offline  
Old 21 September 2020, 10:23   #154
NovaCoder
Registered User
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 4,405
What did you have to change to get it working?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 21 September 2020, 13:56   #155
apex
Registered User
 
apex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 645
Lost the overview, is there a package for testing? I have a running MIDI system on my A500 with Vampire for testing.
apex is offline  
Old 21 September 2020, 16:33   #156
Estrayk
Registered User
 
Estrayk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by pipper View Post
I uploaded a fixed ROTT.exe to the Zone. This will work with CAMDoomSound.
Let me know if this is faster or slower than the original port, I'd like to know how the different compilers used to compile both did.
MIDI works like a charm. Great work pipper!
But I dont know really if runs more faster. Let me check it tonight, but MIDI works perfectly


Btw, for anyone interested, all testing has been done with a real A1200+vampire 1200+KS3.9+MIDI interface+CAMD+Roland SC-88

This is the interface that I use: (not advertising, just for your information)
https://amigastore.eu/en/590-midi-in...for-amiga.html
And this is the CAMD lib that I use:
http://aminet.net/package/mus/edit/camd
I know that there're a new version:
https://github.com/kmatheussen/camd
but doesnt work very well with my config. I used the old one.

Last edited by Estrayk; 21 September 2020 at 16:40.
Estrayk is offline  
Old 21 September 2020, 19:13   #157
pipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 662
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
What did you have to change to get it working?
https://github.com/mheyer32/ROTT/com...5afcd804ae4817

-> use 0 as "no music registered"
-> don't call Mus_Unregister before Mus_Stop
-> set musicHandle back to 0 after Mus_Unregister such that we don't attempt to unregister twice
pipper is offline  
Old 21 September 2020, 19:46   #158
pipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 662
Quote:
Originally Posted by apex View Post
Lost the overview, is there a package for testing? I have a running MIDI system on my A500 with Vampire for testing.
I don't want to hijack NovaCoder's thread, so I'll make it short.
I wrote a small tool 'CAMDoomSound' that redirects doomsound.library's music playback to CAMD. This allows a range of NovaCoder's ports to play music via real MIDI without modifying anything. The 'ADoom' archive in the zone has the tool.

I have been asked if Rise of the Triad (using doomsound.library, too) can be made do the same, but the ROTT port has a bug that crashes when CAMDoomSound does its thing. So I set out to fix that and uploaded the fixed executable to the zone as well 'ROTT.exe'
You will need the original port from Aminet ( http://aminet.net/package/game/misc/ROTT_V1.0 )and also follow the included instructions on how to patch the original WAD. Otherwise the sound is horribly distorted and no music playback will happen.
pipper is offline  
Old 21 September 2020, 21:33   #159
apex
Registered User
 
apex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 645
Thank you.
apex is offline  
Old 21 September 2020, 22:55   #160
Estrayk
Registered User
 
Estrayk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 514
BTW, pipper, I tested Strife today and seems that also work with your CAMDoomSound
http://aminet.net/package/game/misc/StrifeV1.2
Estrayk is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AmiWolf - new 68k Wolfenstein 3D port NovaCoder News 322 04 August 2023 12:21
DosBox v0.74 AGA 68k Port NovaCoder Amiga scene 20 07 June 2018 02:17
Quake 68k port for MAC Sandro request.Old Rare Games 11 02 September 2013 02:08
ScummVM (v1.0.0) 68K Port NovaCoder project.Amiga Game Factory 7 04 September 2010 12:58
Is there a 68k Quake 2 port for the Amiga? Ironclaw request.Other 7 22 September 2006 20:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:26.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09988 seconds with 14 queries