English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language > Coders. AMOS

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 December 2023, 15:00   #1
DrkStarr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Detroit / USA
Posts: 37
Hiding Load IFF with Get Block

Hello, I started playing with AMOS again, but I'm running into a graphic glitch.

I'm trying to grab some blocks with Get Block.
I load the iff with Load Iff, and I'm even putting it on Screen 2, when I'm looking at Screen 0 or 1.

But it still flashes very quickly on the screen under emulation.

Is there a proper way to load the image to an unseen page and get the blocks from there?

- Just wondering
DrkStarr is offline  
Old 30 December 2023, 15:57   #2
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!
 
Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Waterville, MN, USA
Age: 49
Posts: 2,187
Generally, you copy the blocks to a bank and save and load it as a bank file. An object bank can hold as many as 4096 images.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 30 December 2023, 17:44   #3
DrkStarr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Detroit / USA
Posts: 37
Thanks for the reply.

Getting blocks and sticking them in a memory bank so I could load them later wasn't the idea. I looked into it, but got stuck at: putting block into memory bank.

I dug around some more and was able to get this code to work.

Code:
Load Iff "WallSet01",1
Rem Hides The IFF Loaded
Screen Hide 1 : Screen To Back 1
Get Block 1,0,0,22,104,1

Rem Shows The Current Screen
Screen 0 : Screen To Front 0
The screen hide, and screen to back are doing to trick. I don't totally understand it. I had to show screen 0 at the end also.

- Thanks again
DrkStarr is offline  
Old 31 December 2023, 14:14   #4
adrazar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Oslo
Posts: 90
Auto View Off
adrazar is offline  
Old 09 February 2024, 11:55   #5
Arne
Hobby/Indie gamedev
 
Arne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Southern Sweden
Posts: 110
It's possible to use the...uh, whatsitcalled, direct mode console thingy and do a little of the work from there, such as saving banks and listing banks, or clearing, or even test drawing specific blocks. For my AMOS pro programs I sometimes make a standalone asset program which loads the iff and grabs and processes the images, finaly producing the bank which can then be loaded elsewhere. This unclutters the main program (from all the .iff loading and coordinate grab stuff). Since programs are saved with their banks (sounds, graphics) and sometimes you don't want that, direct mode can be used to clear the banks and reduce saving time to floppy. I load banks manually since it allows me to do a cool loading bar/screen. Otherwise the whole program+gfx+sound will probably have to load before one can show anything on screen.

Direct mode is pretty powerful since you can continue to manipulate graphics and inspect variables from there.

Last edited by Arne; 09 February 2024 at 12:04.
Arne is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need An IFF/8SVX and an IFF/ANIM Player for PC searcher request.Apps 24 02 July 2020 12:09
ClassicWB dual boot - hiding desktop icons portis support.Apps 5 29 February 2020 13:27
Problems with load IFF rcman Coders. Blitz Basic 4 26 June 2019 16:50
Hiding DOS prompt Marchie support.Hardware 12 15 April 2019 01:13
Disabling / hiding partitions Turran support.Hardware 30 15 July 2015 20:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:30.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07091 seconds with 15 queries