English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

Old 24 September 2007, 12:19   #1
Andec

Just wanted to introduce myself

Hi all,

As I await the imminent arrival of my A500, I thought that I would write a brief description of how I got into Amiga's and computing in general.

I started late. Very late. My first computer was a System-80 (TRS-80 clone) that I bought in 1993 (I was 22). At the time, I was a musician and wanted a very basic computer to help me store MIDI patterns for my drum machine. The System-80 turned out to be the wrong choice. However, when I bought the Sys-80 ($15.00), it came with a ton of Micro-80 magazines and some Programming in BASIC books. I ended up so addicted to typing in the games and saving them to cassette, that we needed to buy a second TV.

Incidently, one of the absolute best "graphical" adventure games that I ever played was written for the Sys-80. The game was called "Asylum".

By the time the Sys-80 died in early 1994, I had been "improving" the games having taught myself programming. About the same time, my wife and I moved and our new neighbour had a C64. My neighbour and I would scour the newspapers each week looking for people that wanted to offload their old C64 gear and we ended up with quite a collection of both hardware and software. At about this time, our neightbour across the road bought their 11 year old son and A500 (second hand of course - IIRC it cost about $20). The very first game that I saw was SWIV.

I had to get one.

I managed to pick up an A500 (512k) a couple of weeks later. I started collecting software for the A500 and upgraded the RAM to 1mb.