English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 October 2021, 10:12   #21
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 50
Posts: 5,791
it"s a 96k demo that needs 2 megs
jotd is offline  
Old 03 October 2021, 12:20   #22
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,947
what about the CD32 > HD rip what are it's system requirements?
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 03 October 2021, 12:40   #23
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 50
Posts: 5,791
cd32 version does not run from a1200 hd. it uses lowlevel cd32 io routines that doesnt work on cdtv cd
jotd is offline  
Old 03 October 2021, 12:59   #24
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,947
I assume Lotus Trilogy hardisk version by DC is from the CD32 version

looks like there's a few versions see post above

Am I blind I can't see them on the EAB ftp
there's the quaterback rip but no idea what's inside


DC
TLC

Last edited by Retro1234; 03 October 2021 at 13:17.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 03 October 2021, 15:43   #25
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 50
Posts: 5,791
Ah I wasn't aware of that version. If it exists then maybe it can run on a CDTV but maybe not. There's always the issue with cdtv.device sending unhandled interrupts when OS is off.
jotd is offline  
Old 03 October 2021, 15:52   #26
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,947
Someone on here might have it, shame it was never put straight on the file server
maybe mai or Retroplay have it
claudido was banned but might be on Amiga.org
I'll put a request in the old thread

it is probably somewhere in the bbs collections but I don't have time to go through them.


There is the quaterback version and the back2roots version on the eab file server as far as I can tell the back2roots version just uses jst as a degrader "JST >nil: start EXECUTE NTSC NOCACHES HDLOAD"

Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
Ah I wasn't aware of that version. If it exists then maybe it can run on a CDTV but maybe not. There's always the issue with cdtv.device sending unhandled interrupts when OS is off.
I'm sure it was you that once explained it to me but I've forgotten now.
There's some issue where I can only get some games to work from cd by removing the music files???

Last edited by Retro1234; 03 October 2021 at 15:58.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 03 October 2021, 17:30   #27
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 50
Posts: 5,791
when the game uses the OS, I think that there isn't any issue. When the game doesn't, cdtv.device needs to be handled.

for instance whdload & JST disable cdtv.device when running games. It has to be re-enabled to read from CD of course.
jotd is offline  
Old 03 October 2021, 17:42   #28
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,947
I mean something more like this and this is the only example I can think of at the momnet
Lionheart won't run on CDTV or CD32 unless I replace the sound files with empty files, it just sticks loading. Another game I think is Titus the fox there are many games like this but if there small enough to be copied to Ram there no problem?

:in those examples I'm only talking about loading from CD

this was the biggest hurdle I had when trying to create a CDTV compilation with games that normally run from HD without JST or WHDload etc.

Last edited by Retro1234; 03 October 2021 at 19:46.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 03 October 2021, 20:41   #29
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 50
Posts: 5,791
Yes, running games on CDTV CD is the most challenging thing. 1 meg ram only, some taken by the CD buffers, CD hardware sending interrupts...

But Titus The Fox runs on CDTV. Amigajay did a compilation with it. But you need to use the proper executable. Common cracks won't work as the disk is still accessed.

The crack I did from the whdload version removes disk access and then the game runs.
jotd is offline  
Old 03 October 2021, 21:03   #30
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,947
Titus the fox isn't one then, I'm obviously not explaining the problem with the music properly.

ok I found the thread you said it was level 2 interrupt for CIA and it was you who fixed this in Titus the fox

Last edited by Retro1234; 03 October 2021 at 21:09.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 04 October 2021, 02:15   #31
ImmortalA1000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: london/england
Posts: 444
I don't like Lotus 1, half the screen is wasted for the silly animation of mechanics working on the Lotus and the penalty for hitting an object is an almost dead stop despite the cars driving through road obstacles like in the road works course. Lotus II fixes these annoyances, Lotus II is the most important on ECS, Lotus III needs AGA to run as smooth as Lotus II sadly and you can easily find Lotus Trilogy for CD32 anyway.....now if I could just find my laptop with Nero and DVD/RW in good condition and Win XP Pro I might have kept it on the desk....no point not using those 25 CD-Rs for something.

Sad to say I packed away the CDTV today, I can only have on computer on the desk so I will be unboxing one of my A1000s when I finish demolishing my double kitchen and get a bit of time. I hope to do a video of the unboxing as all my gear has been boxed up for 6 years now since I moved into this Victorian house that was disgusting and needed everything doing in every room...including getting a gas leak sorted! lol

I wouldn't mind Shadow of the Beast 1 on CDTV. That's a 512k game so deprotecting it would be the problem but it should be fine as is with disk loading replaced with CD loading. Unless the kickstart is completely trashed by the game engine, dunno. I suppose I could play that on CD32 if I get the cabling sorted or manage to lift the 25" approx Sony Trinitron upstairs to the games room Actually would really like to play that on real hardware with a zipstik on a Sony portable CRT I had in 1987 with my A1000. I should have a Sizzlers budget copy somewhere, not one single pirate copy I can backup with X-copy though despite having 1000s of crack disks supplied via all the Amiga bundles I bought over the last 2 decades. Need to sort out a Gotek in an external disk drive. I have a duff CDTV drive so if I can get away with no case modding and close up the case I would possibly get the CDTV back out of the crate. I do have 2 other CDTVs with keyboard/mouse/CDTV fdd each and the CDTV fdd doesn't have the disk drive port on the back of it so you can only ever use one black CDTV fdd at a time on it (another dumb idea and probably why it is not coming out of the box to play floppy disk based games).

The problem with the CD32 is the lack of RGB output. S-video is a weird cable, don't have a SCART adaptor for S-video connector anyway and I find below RGB analog the digitizer inside the plasma TV is arse and it looks like low quality Mpeg2 with artefacting up the yin yang. Also if I have 2/3 external drives I could possibly play It Came from the Desert/Wings/Sword of Sodan via the wireless keyboard with no disk swaps so I can play it like a PS3 game from the couch with just the controller.....something I can't do on CD32 as there is no floppy port or RGB without an expansion unit.
ImmortalA1000 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lotus Trilogy CD32 (Lotus 1 flickering graphics issue after the first race) Amigos support.FS-UAE 6 26 June 2019 22:49
WANTED - CDTV Keyboard & some CDTV parts Dougal MarketPlace 0 23 May 2015 01:02
WTB: CDTV laser, or CDTV drive, or CDTV chiark MarketPlace 15 09 February 2010 11:04
WTB: CDTV case / faulty CDTV / dead or alive chiark MarketPlace 7 26 September 2009 00:07
EPIC working on WinUAE-CDTV, but not on a real CDTV mk1 support.Games 8 23 March 2009 20:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09063 seconds with 14 queries