English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 July 2022, 18:46   #1
jotd
This cat is no more
 
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 52
Posts: 8,161
Prince Of Persia - fastmem

Someone reported that Prince of Persia could be slow at times:


http://mantis.whdload.de/view.php?id=4569



I've computed reloc tables for one UK version you can find it in the drop box attachment of the bug report.


Can someone who's seen the issue test?
jotd is offline  
Old 09 July 2022, 19:32   #2
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
 
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 46
Posts: 10,412
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Prince of Persia Amiga is notoriously slow. It's slower than any other versions.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 09 July 2022, 19:39   #3
Superman
Super Member
 
Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 48
Posts: 1,334
I havent noticed the current slave being any slower than normal to be honest. I did just download this new version but it crashed with an error about disk.1 being compressed with XPK compression and needs an extra file in LIBS:
Superman is offline  
Old 09 July 2022, 20:08   #4
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere
 
Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 50
Posts: 8,986
Prince of Persia is heavy on the blitter, over blitting on some screens hence the slow downs, but not where the game is actually crawling.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 09 July 2022, 23:07   #5
jotd
This cat is no more
 
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 52
Posts: 8,161
look at that blitter code

Code:
lb_053a2:
	LINK.W	A6,#0			;053a2: 4e560000
	MOVE.L	8(A6),D0		;053a6: 202e0008
	MOVE	SR,D1			;053aa: 40c1
	MOVE	#$2700,SR		;053ac: 46fc2700
	MOVE.L	#$00000001,blitter_done_flag.w	;053b0: 21fc000000011a24
	MOVE.W	D0,BLTSIZE		;053b8: 33c000dff058
	STOP	#$2000			;053be: 4e722000
lb_053c2:
	TST.L	blitter_done_flag.W		;053c2: 4ab81a24
	BEQ.S	lb_053ce		;053c6: 6706
	STOP	#$2000			;053c8: 4e722000
	BRA.S	lb_053c2		;053cc: 60f4
lb_053ce:
	MOVE	D1,SR			;053ce: 46c1
	UNLK	A6			;053d0: 4e5e
	RTS				;053d2: 4e75
That's the first game I see which uses STOP to wait for a blitter interrupt (in the meantime, other code can run). Most of the time it's either blitter interrupt enabled or active wait for blitter end.

Maybe I could patch this code so it uses normal blitwaits. Interrupts are notoriously slow (specially on high end machines, and I suspect that the STOP method (plus all the hacking around with SR) is even slower than chaining blitter interrupts like Shaun Southern does. If another interrupt occurs, the code has to check the flag and loop on STOP until the blitter interrupt clears the flag... I think I can patch this easily.

I have updated the dropbox link to include both slaves: 1 fastmem slave and 1 fastblitter slave (no fastmem). If someone can test and report back (I have unpacked the diskfile too)

Last edited by jotd; 09 July 2022 at 23:22.
jotd is offline  
Old 18 July 2022, 11:32   #6
jotd
This cat is no more
 
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 52
Posts: 8,161
anyone could test & report about speed on the new slaves?
jotd is offline  
Old 18 July 2022, 18:54   #7
DanyPPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 729
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
anyone could test & report about speed on the new slaves?
A1200/030@50Mhz
MiST Latest Minimig AGA Core (11 mips)

Prince of Persia slave 3.4 WHDLoad 18.8

In both machine PoP works good, same speed. It's not slow, for me is standard as other versions.
DanyPPC is offline  
Old 18 July 2022, 22:05   #8
lilwshu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 243
Tested on my A2000/TF536 - 030@50Mhz:

PrinceOfPersia.Slave = same speed as original slave with or without Faster Blitting enabled

PrinceOfPersiaFast.Slave = Considerably faster, similar in speed to MS-DOS version as seen here [ Show youtube player ]
lilwshu is offline  
Old 18 July 2022, 23:50   #9
jotd
This cat is no more
 
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 52
Posts: 8,161
Minimig: not surprising as code in chip is only a speed issue on real amigas.

Glad that it's seen running much faster. It means that it's worth releasing then.
jotd is offline  
Old 19 July 2022, 15:32   #10
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985
 
turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 48
Posts: 3,913
Do you think that shadow warriors could be enhanced the same way ?
You have slowdowns from time time to time.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 19 July 2022, 17:32   #11
jotd
This cat is no more
 
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 52
Posts: 8,161
I'd say that it's possible, yes.
jotd is offline  
Old 21 July 2022, 21:50   #12
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985
 
turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 48
Posts: 3,913
Do you think you'll have time to have a look ?
turrican3 is offline  
Old 22 July 2022, 22:54   #13
jotd
This cat is no more
 
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 52
Posts: 8,161
just checked the source code from whdload install and directory is a mess, it contains 6 or more slaves, I don't know which one I should start from. Maybe CFou! knows better (after all he wrote that)
jotd is offline  
Old 28 July 2022, 19:35   #14
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985
 
turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 48
Posts: 3,913
gunship 2000 could be a cool game to accelerate to.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 29 July 2022, 02:12   #15
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985
 
turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 48
Posts: 3,913
a noob question : is it possible to make an adf version ?
A noob question because i'm pretty sure that's impossible if you don't have the source code.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 29 July 2022, 14:22   #16
jotd
This cat is no more
 
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 52
Posts: 8,161
I remember being able to put JST slave of Prince of Persia on a floppy. Runs with 2MB on A500 from floppy. Probably possible to do the same with whdload slave (using JST). The disk image is small, it fits on 880kb without any issues.

So you'd need an .adf of the game running in fast memory. Means you have an accelerated amiga and no HD...
jotd is offline  
Old 30 July 2022, 23:53   #17
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985
 
turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 48
Posts: 3,913
Myself, i need nothing, i'm playing with winuae.
I didn't think about the solution to use jst, but that's true that someone with an accelerator will often have an hdd or a cf card.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 31 July 2022, 00:14   #18
jotd
This cat is no more
 
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 52
Posts: 8,161
plus you can't save the game...

Currently playing with the fastmem version. I don't see a big different with chipmem version. Maybe in transition screens? or when the game has a lot of work to do? Anyway it works fine and it has to be faster.
jotd is offline  
Old 31 July 2022, 02:47   #19
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985
 
turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 48
Posts: 3,913
to have a good speed with winuae i need to set "immediate blitter" and then it flies.
Like said flt, it's really blitter intensive.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 31 July 2022, 11:35   #20
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
 
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 14,332
I'm not particularly knowledgable about patching but can blitter routines be easily detected and patched to equivalent CPU routines?

Ambermoon for example runs a speed test at the start of the game and if it thinks the CPU is faster for blits than the blitter it uses different routines.
alexh is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Prince of Persia Ivan78 support.Games 29 30 March 2022 16:56
Prince of Persia ST frikilokooo Retrogaming General Discussion 5 28 April 2020 14:32
Prince of Persia clenched project.Maptapper 2 25 July 2013 01:04
Prince de perse aka Prince of persia dlfrsilver HOL data problems 21 09 March 2011 21:27
Prince of Persia (german) mai HOL data problems 0 03 July 2009 20:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:51.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09669 seconds with 13 queries