English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.OtherUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 June 2021, 20:31   #1
RuySan
Registered User
RuySan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Portugal
Age: 40
Posts: 107
Using WHDload and physical mouse on Retroarch

So, i've been using WHDload files on FS-UAE for a very long time, and it just launches directly to the game after a splash screen.

On Retroarch/P-UAE, I get a window like what i posted below, and anything I select, I get a readme of all the updates the WHDload of that particular game had since 1.0.

I just have no idea how to launch the game.

Besides, I just can't get the physical mouse to work. It's activated on the core options, but it just doesn't work. I also activated game focus mode, and still the same issue.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Agony-210605-192940.png
Views:	114
Size:	333.5 KB
ID:	72212  
RuySan is offline  
Old 08 June 2021, 23:59   #2
sonninnos
Commodork

sonninnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Finland
Posts: 50
Since there exists "install.info", that is not a proper pre-installed WHDLoad archive, which means there is no game data, which means there is no way it could work as-is. Retroplay LHAs will launch directly.

Game focus has nothing to do with mice, only keyboards. I haven't found a single platform yet where mouse does not work out-of-the-box, so no idea about that.
sonninnos is offline  
Old 22 June 2021, 15:16   #3
Anubis
Retro Gamer

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Underworld
Age: 49
Posts: 3,304
I am not sure what are you trying to accomplish. I use LaunchBox with RetroArch, but for easy setup for Amiga games I use FS-UAE setup described in this video. The way I did it, I setup all of my WHDLoad games to create folders where process created folder per game with single file in it. LaunchBox installer recognizes those as Amiga games and adds them.

After creating folder, I first used Total Commander to separate OSC/ESC games from CD32 and AGA games. Then from each group I selected to install only one I plan to play. This way I did not end up with 3k games in LaunchBox and I was able to separate games into those 3 categories Amiga 500, Amiga 1200 and Amiga CD32.

[ Show youtube player ]

It takes some work, but well worth it if you like to run games by single mouse click from Windows.
Anubis is offline  
Old 24 June 2021, 07:20   #4
Storm
SYS64738

Storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 99
Good video. I have been doing this for a while and it works well.
Storm is offline  
Old 08 July 2021, 11:28   #5
twenty90seven
twenty90seven
twenty90seven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 163
To solve the retroarch issue, have you checked that you have put the kickstart roms in the retroarch/system folder and that you are not using the Aros bios?
twenty90seven is offline  
Old 08 July 2021, 12:34   #6
sonninnos
Commodork

sonninnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Finland
Posts: 50
No, that is not it. AROS does work fine in many cases, even though there will be warnings about "lowlevel.library".

The original problem is simply because the LHA is downloaded from whdload.de, and those do not have game data in them, so they can't work directly.

The screenshot clearly shows that there is no "Agony.info", but "Install.info".
sonninnos is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PUAE Amiga core for Retroarch: Multiple harddisks Crazy C support.OtherUAE 15 27 July 2021 19:43
Retroarch Android P-UAE core performance endre1952 support.OtherUAE 7 25 February 2021 13:09
new uae4arm core on retroarch (vita & arm board) Chips support.OtherUAE 0 28 January 2021 16:59
Retroarch PUAE Amiga core for Vita (and Switch) rsn8887 support.OtherUAE 0 17 March 2020 19:22
Android RetroArch P-UAE doesn't work? kasperkaal support.OtherUAE 3 01 March 2019 07:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07835 seconds with 16 queries