English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 September 2021, 10:23   #401
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
 
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 4,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hypex View Post
Given FS-UAE is running primarily on little endian, and emulating a big endian computer, I am surprised it could be ignored at all or even require little work. It doesn't make sense that it would be harder to get it working on native big endian than it is easily working on little endian. The world doesn't make sense!
No-one said it was harder. I even said that it wasn't complicated. But it is *some* extra work. For example, in some cases you need to convert values between big-endian and little-endian *if* the host is little-endian, and not if it is big-endian. Or maybe you need to specify different OpenGL texture format flags on little-endian vs big-endian. So you might need if-statements (or compiler defines) and write code for both cases. If you forget do this in one place, or ignore it on purpose for now to get it working at all for little-endian, then it won't work properly on big-endian.

In all cases, written code needs to be tested to ensure it is written correctly. So it hasn't really got anything to do with difficult vs. easy, but rather more about what hardware I can/will test on and what host platforms I officially support. That's what I'm going to focus on. I'm aware of big-endian vs. little-endian and usually take that into account when writing code.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 08 January 2023, 17:45   #402
DJBase
Amiga is my Religion
 
DJBase's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 578
What was the latest build for a G3 or was there any? And can someone put in the Zone please?
DJBase is offline  
Old 12 February 2023, 15:07   #403
Stormiboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Location: Marseille / FRANCE
Posts: 1
Hello there. Looking for it in The Zone too. ??
Stormiboy is offline  
Old 18 May 2023, 17:09   #404
eastone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Vaasa
Posts: 23
Hi,
I'm digging up an old topic. I'm working on a simple launcher for FS-UAE PPC as part of learning programming. But that's not what I want to write about.
During testing, I noticed that the only configuration that works without any slowdowns is the A4000. This applies to all versions of FS-UAE from version 2.5.x to version 3.0.5 (f.e. version 2.4.1 works correctly)
It also seems to me that some config file options are being ignored. For example, the speed of the floppy drive is much slower for the A500 configuration than for the A4000, despite setting them to 800%

I'm pretty sure there's never been a problem like this before. I had a long break from using Fs-uae and I don't remember well.
Could someone check if he has the same problem with the emulator?

I attach logs for A500 and A4000

Adf used: http://www.insertdisk2.com/demo/major-release
Everything on PM G5 11.2


Regards,
Kristoffer
Attached Files
File Type: zip a500logs.zip (12.3 KB, 52 views)
File Type: zip a4kLogs.zip (12.4 KB, 49 views)
eastone is offline  
Old 19 May 2023, 02:31   #405
ztronzo
Registered User
 
ztronzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Montreal
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by eastone View Post
Hi,
I'm digging up an old topic. I'm working on a simple launcher for FS-UAE PPC as part of learning programming. But that's not what I want to write about.
During testing, I noticed that the only configuration that works without any slowdowns is the A4000. This applies to all versions of FS-UAE from version 2.5.x to version 3.0.5 (f.e. version 2.4.1 works correctly)
It also seems to me that some config file options are being ignored. For example, the speed of the floppy drive is much slower for the A500 configuration than for the A4000, despite setting them to 800%

I'm pretty sure there's never been a problem like this before. I had a long break from using Fs-uae and I don't remember well.
Could someone check if he has the same problem with the emulator?

I attach logs for A500 and A4000

Adf used: http://www.insertdisk2.com/demo/major-release
Everything on PM G5 11.2


Regards,
Kristoffer
no doubt there would be a considerable difference when setting the emulator to run as fast as possible with "cpu_speed=max" in compared to a locked 7Mhz 68k Amiga 500... floppy drive speeds should be the same but the time processing data will be dramatically sped up.
ztronzo is offline  
Old 19 May 2023, 10:33   #406
eastone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Vaasa
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by ztronzo View Post
no doubt there would be a considerable difference when setting the emulator to run as fast as possible with "cpu_speed=max" in compared to a locked 7Mhz 68k Amiga 500
Is there any way to "unlock" A500 speed? Setting cpu_speed to max does not work.
eastone is offline  
Old 20 May 2023, 20:43   #407
eastone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Vaasa
Posts: 23
The "uae_" prefix solved the problem (RTFM? )
Now A500 flies

Last edited by eastone; 24 May 2023 at 15:32.
eastone is offline  
Old 18 June 2023, 15:26   #408
eastone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Vaasa
Posts: 23
Here is a short video of how the launcher on os x ppc works. Not yet ready for release at this stage. This is only a test version. A more extensive version is under development.

[ Show youtube player ]
eastone is offline  
Old 08 August 2023, 18:04   #409
SnakeCoils
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 164
Well, after a bit of patching here and there I was able to build the latest stable FS-UAE version 3.1.66 for OSX PPC machines, as usual AmigaOS 4 and JIT compile are disabled.

It seems that making it compatible again with SDL 2.0.3 was a matter of commenting out a single line in src/fs-uae/device-helper.c (SDL_HINT_MAC_BACKGROUND_APP that is supported from SDL 2.0.4+).

The only caveat other than the usual patches I applied to the source was to disable the automated fs-uae.dat copy from the final script and adding it manually (pasted in place from the 3.0.5 version) in the executable bundle because otherwise a report of "file not found" was keeping the process from a succesful end.

From preliminary tests I've seen no loss and no gain of speed compared to the previous 3.0.5 version but everything seems to work fine including the RTG graphics.

The executable can be found in The Zone.

Enjoy! :-)

Last edited by SnakeCoils; 08 August 2023 at 19:00.
SnakeCoils is offline  
Old 08 August 2023, 20:23   #410
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,840
many thx man!
vulture is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE for G4 ppc OSX 10.5.8 elowan support.FS-UAE 35 10 November 2014 19:22
[QUESTION] Will we see PPC support in FS-UAE too? amigafreak68k support.FS-UAE 39 09 September 2014 22:28
JIT on E-UAE PPC? _ThEcRoW support.OtherUAE 8 06 May 2011 23:55
PPC Emulation in UAE Beakster support.WinUAE 9 15 March 2008 11:28
PPC UAE on os 3.9 DDNI request.UAE Wishlist 7 26 October 2006 19:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:09.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10665 seconds with 16 queries