English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 January 2004, 13:52   #1
THX1138
Amiga Centurai
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK
Age: 52
Posts: 526
Fusion Forty Problems :(

Ok........Just installed a Fusion Forty 040 accelerator board
into my A2000.

Tested the results with sysinfo and it reported a Dhrytstones
result of 1805.....which is very poor indeed considering my 68030
in my other A2000 gets 5479 !

Now,i haven't yet installed the Fusion Forty installation disk yet,but do you really think this would make a difference

Also the A2000 only has 0.5 of chip ram,dunno what difference
that woud make.....

Sysinfo also reports no FPU in use,

I was expecting to get a result of rougly twice as much as my 68030 processor !

Any comments much appreciated.

Last edited by THX1138; 25 January 2004 at 14:04.
THX1138 is offline  
Old 25 January 2004, 14:49   #2
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 3,704
Any Accelerator is pretty useless without any FastRam

It makes HELL of a difference, just try a Blizz 2040 with and without Ram .... there are worlds between the results
RetroMan is offline  
Old 25 January 2004, 15:24   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,859
Missing 68040.library?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 25 January 2004, 16:47   #4
THX1138
Amiga Centurai
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK
Age: 52
Posts: 526
Quote:
Any Accelerator is pretty useless without any FastRam
Sorry.....forgot to mention that it has 20mb of fastram

I will try installing the software to see if that will make ne difference
THX1138 is offline  
Old 14 December 2005, 02:16   #5
just4funuk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: UK
Age: 48
Posts: 17
Smile Got Fusion forty 2 weeks ago here are my sysinfo V3.24 scores

Well I have just purchased a Fusion Forty and I ran sysinfo and mine also has 20MB of fast ram but I do have 1MB of chip memory to.

My scores are

Drystones 9855
A600 68000 7Mhz 18.62 Times Faster
B2000 68000 7Mhz 14.09 Times Faster
A1200 EC020 14Mhz 8.09 Times Faster
A2500 68020 14Mhz 4.79 Times faster
A3000 68030 25Mhz 2.12 Times faster
A4000 68040 25Mhz 0.54 Just over Half speed of A4000 040 25Mhz

Mips 10.28 Mflops 5.31
just4funuk is offline  
Old 14 December 2005, 08:52   #6
DoctorQ
What?? Who?? DoctorQ!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Rødding/Denmark
Age: 40
Posts: 314
Send a message via MSN to DoctorQ
What Kickstart are you guys using (THX1138 & just4funk)? I was quite disappointet as well when I installed a 030 accelerator in my A500 and only getting a third of what a 020 accelerator scored in the same machine. Since the 020 had Kickstart 3.0 installed and the 030 had Kickstart 1.3 I'm hoping that if I upgrade to Kickstart 2.0 or 3.1 that I will get higher scores, based on the thought that it might be the Kickstart that is setting the limit regarding accelerators. I don't know if they are, but it's worth a try.
DoctorQ is offline  
Old 14 December 2005, 19:51   #7
THX1138
Amiga Centurai
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK
Age: 52
Posts: 526
Well i got rid of my Fusion Forty,as i wasn't very happy with its performance.....maybe it was me....dunno !

But since i posted this thread nearly 2 years ago.......I have now acquired a screamingly fast Blizzard 2060,and very nice it is too
THX1138 is offline  
Old 14 December 2005, 21:03   #8
just4funuk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: UK
Age: 48
Posts: 17
Fusion Forty

Im happy wth scores My Fusion Forty is returning.

8.09 Times Faster than A1200
4.79 Times faster than A 2500
2.12 Times faster than A3000
half the speed of A4000/040

The the 68040 on mine is the Full 68040 not cut down version dont know if Fusion forty's where available with different versions of the 68040.

Kickstart Version on my machine is quite old
37.175 (Ver 2.00)

Have just started to give this A2000 a new lease of life after its been sitting at my mothers for nearly 5 years.

Thanks to ebay

Got Fusion Forty from USA
Got SCSI card from UK

What next?

Have to wait little while money tight at the moment.

A2000
Fusion Forty (68040 + 1MB Chip 20MB Fast memory)
1GB SCSI HD (Big enough for Now)

Would like to put CDrom on it
Using 720K PC floppies takes to Long :-(.

Have the CDROM Drive but limited where to put HD if put CDROM in machine.(but needs to be done) As have loads of Cover CDs want to play with.

Might attempt this over the Christmas period .


THX1138

What sort of Results do you get wth your new board?

Last edited by just4funuk; 15 December 2005 at 00:45.
just4funuk is offline  
Old 16 December 2005, 18:55   #9
THX1138
Amiga Centurai
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK
Age: 52
Posts: 526
Dhrystones reports : 37418

30 x quicker than a stock 1200
18 x quicker than a stock 2500
8 x quicker than a stock 3000
2 x quicker than a stock 4000 !

I love this card.......hahaha

Upgrade to 3.1 roms and put a graphics card in there as well !

I have a Cybervision 64\3D and a Cdrom drive in mine too !

Most look straight at my 3000T & 4000T,but lurking in the dark corner
of my room is this monster........hahaha........I love it !

Last edited by THX1138; 16 December 2005 at 19:07.
THX1138 is offline  
Old 18 December 2005, 22:58   #10
just4funuk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: UK
Age: 48
Posts: 17
Fusion Forty

Well I was happy before you posted your scores.

Knew 68060 was going to be faster but didnt expect that much of a gap.

Might try sysinfo on pc running emulator see what scores I get.

Still am happy with Fusion (It was a lot cheaper than your 68060 I suspect) 1/4 price = 1/4 the speed. :-) Well thats what Im going to keep telling myself.
just4funuk is offline  
Old 19 December 2005, 19:44   #11
THX1138
Amiga Centurai
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK
Age: 52
Posts: 526
Well,i don't know what price you paid for your Fusion Forty.......and i can't remember exactly how much i paid for my 68060,but i wouldn't of got much change out of £150.00 !
THX1138 is offline  
Old 20 December 2005, 00:37   #12
just4funuk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: UK
Age: 48
Posts: 17
Fusion Forty

Paid £75 for the Fusion Forty.(More than I wanted but it came from the states.As I hadnt seen many A2000 accelerators around. Mainly seem to be A1200 Accelerators thought I better get it.Getting up at 5 in the morning did sort of help to.Didnt want to get up for nothing.

Sounds like you got your Accelerator for a good price.

.
just4funuk is offline  
Old 20 December 2005, 02:13   #13
just4funuk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: UK
Age: 48
Posts: 17
Fusion Forty

Have just found util on Fusion Forty Disk Called FFCache that enables Cache.

Didnt Expect much Difference But Im Glad I was wrong.

Inst: Cache Noburst
Data: Cache No Burst

New WELL Improved Sysinfo scores

Dhrystone 20662
A600 6800 7Mhz 39.05
A2000 6800 7Mhz 29.55
A1200 EC020 14Mhz 16.97
A2500 68020 14Mhz 10.04
A3000 68030 25Mhz 4.46
A4000 68040 25Mhz 1.13

Mips 21.56 Mflops 5.47
Chip speed VS A600 2.03

Well Im Very Happy with Scores above.

As its Faster now than the A4000 EC/030 I sold in 1999. (If only it had AGA Graphics )
just4funuk is offline  
Old 29 December 2005, 22:18   #14
Calabazam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: France
Posts: 168
just4funuk:

You definitely have to install setup disks
I was amazed by your previous sysinfo, knowing that 68040 boards on A1200 are hitting about 20000 dhrystones!
Calabazam is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fusion Forty Plug'N Go ROMs! TjLaZer support.Hardware 24 21 September 2013 14:40
Fousion Forty and gfx board? is it possible? radzik Hardware mods 3 15 June 2009 10:44
Fusion Forty (68040) and A2091 Troubles fortytwo support.Hardware 3 28 March 2007 08:41
Fusion; where to get it? Flashlab support.Apps 9 11 February 2006 20:47
Looking for Forty Thieves Washac request.Old Rare Games 8 04 March 2003 07:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.14136 seconds with 13 queries