English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 August 2012, 22:08   #1
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
[FS-UAE] Boot a real compact flash card on OSX ?

Is it possible de boot on a real compact flash on OSX ?

Foul can do it on linux.


In my configuration file I did:
hard_drive_0=/dev/disk5
hard_drive_0_label=DH0

Logs:
hfd open: '/dev/disk5'
HDF '/dev/disk5' opened, size=0K mode=3 empty=0
Internal error; file src/od-fs/hardfile_host.cpp, line 390

Thanks
gibs is offline  
Old 10 August 2012, 22:13   #2
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 3,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
Is it possible de boot on a real compact flash on OSX ?

Foul can do it on linux.

In my configuration file I did:
hard_drive_0=/dev/disk5
hard_drive_0_label=DH0

Logs:
hfd open: '/dev/disk5'
HDF '/dev/disk5' opened, size=0K mode=3 empty=0
Internal error; file src/od-fs/hardfile_host.cpp, line 390

Thanks
The access to the block device is probably restricted by default. You can check the permissions with:
Code:
ls -l /dev/disk5
Make sure you have read (and write) permission for the file -and then try again
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 10 August 2012, 23:20   #3
nexusle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Earth
Age: 43
Posts: 500
A little bit another question, but is it also possible to set a real CDROM/DVD drive in FS-UAE for OSX??
nexusle is offline  
Old 11 August 2012, 02:32   #4
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Frode,

This is what I did

I tried again now, same result (except that the disk is assigned to disk6 today)

hfd open: '/dev/disk6'
HDF '/dev/disk6' opened, size=0K mode=3 empty=0
Internal error; file src/od-fs/hardfile_host.cpp, line 390

Why hardfile_host.cpp ? it's not a hardfile :/
gibs is offline  
Old 12 August 2012, 23:00   #5
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 3,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by nexusle View Post
A little bit another question, but is it also possible to set a real CDROM/DVD drive in FS-UAE for OSX??
No, sorry. I have not made any effort to use native CD-ROM drives and and this has also a low priority for me, among other things because of the amount of work involved in supporting all platforms.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
Frode,

This is what I did

I tried again now, same result (except that the disk is assigned to disk6 today)

hfd open: '/dev/disk6'
HDF '/dev/disk6' opened, size=0K mode=3 empty=0
Internal error; file src/od-fs/hardfile_host.cpp, line 390

Why hardfile_host.cpp ? it's not a hardfile :/
Well, it sort of is a hardfile Or rather, FS-UAE only implements support for hardfiles (disk image files), not physical devices. But due to the everything-is-a-file nature of Linux/Unix, block devices, including hard drives, can be opened as files, and disk images files are just 1:1 byte copies of block devices anyway... So that's why foul can use /dev/something instead of /path/to/hdf on Linux -using the hardfile support. I suppose the same could work on Mac OS X.

Now, to debug your problem: It is important that you use a recent development version of FS-UAE to get support for large drives.

Also, you should attach FS-UAE.log to provide more debug information, but first you should make the log file a bit more useful.

Please set a specific environment variable in a console and run fs-uae from there -this will enable a bit extra relevant information in the log file:
Code:
export FS_DEBUG_HDF=1
fs-uae <parameters>
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 12 August 2012, 23:14   #6
nexusle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Earth
Age: 43
Posts: 500
It was just a question. No needness about this
nexusle is offline  
Old 13 August 2012, 15:28   #7
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
@Frode

Here is the complete report (screenshots/logs) :

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/1566495/Amiga/FSUAE.zip
gibs is offline  
Old 16 August 2012, 22:51   #8
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 3,860
Thank you for a very thorough and good report It looks you have done everything correctly

The problem is that the detected size of the device/file is 0 bytes. The hardfile code detects the size by opening the file (device in this case), seeking to the end and checking the file position. It is possibly that this is not supported for block devices on Mac OS X, and that one needs to use ioctls to get the size of the device. I haven't got a device to test with right now (and I'm not going to try to open the root partition ;-)).
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 26 June 2013, 10:45   #9
ascp
Pastafarian

 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Uppsala/Sweden
Posts: 290
Hello Frode! Linuxman as I am, tried mounting an empty sdcard as desribed:

hard_drive_0=/dev/MYSDDEVICE
hard_drive_0_label=DH0

and verified that permissions were rw for the device.
FS-Uae-lancher just frozee though. It it so that this only works for already partioned media?
ascp is offline  
Old 26 June 2013, 10:53   #10
amigafreak68k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Engelsdorf / Germany
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonathan View Post
FS-Uae-lancher just frozee though.
That's normal I think. On OSX I have the same behavior. I seems, that FS-UAE (Launcher) try to scan the media.

Just wait a little bit and don't close the Launcher when it seems frozen.
amigafreak68k is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8 GB Compact Flash card Kenan support.Hardware 6 07 June 2013 20:54
selling a compact flash card? anyone steve_uktv MarketPlace 14 07 February 2010 01:03
Compact Flash Card as a Disk in WinUAE? Tempest 2084 support.WinUAE 36 30 May 2009 19:35
Compact Flash card as floppy drive? Fingerlickin_B support.Hardware 4 31 July 2007 18:27
Formatting compact flash on real A1200 fc.studio support.Hardware 24 07 April 2007 09:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10059 seconds with 15 queries