English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 December 2009, 19:19   #1
Dave_wb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wootton Bassett England
Age: 63
Posts: 189
Blizzard 1230iv battery change

Hi chaps,
Hope you enjoyed Xmas and did'nt put on too much weight....... I have.Anyway,can you tell me if a standard Pc motherboard battery can replace
that of a Blizzard 1230iv.I really want to use the clock facility in workbench so I need a new battery.I have removed the soldered on original battery but I dont know if a Pc battery is the same spec as the CR2032 offered on Amigakit.com.I promise not to type "battery" again as I have used it quite enough in this message.Thanks in advance
Dave (aka battery boy)....doh!
Dave_wb is offline  
Old 28 December 2009, 20:45   #2
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
not done myself, wait until someone confirms: you need a rechargeable coin cell. something like this:
http://www.cellpacksolutions.com/Sea...ID=VL2020-1HFE

since you can see this type/model on this picture: http://amiga.resource.cx/photos/phot...res=hi&lang=en
hit is offline  
Old 30 December 2009, 09:38   #3
Chaeo
Monkey Slapper
Chaeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: UK
Age: 49
Posts: 71
Oh dear. I've just taken that very card out of my A1200 - I'm about to buy a new keyboard and floppy drive, so I thought I'd throw in a new battery as well - there's no easy way to replace this though? Or am I missing something? Solder jobs are definitely not my thing.
Chaeo is offline  
Old 30 December 2009, 10:27   #4
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
if the coin-cell looks the same on your card, than you have to fire-up a solder iron. no way around. there are only two solder-points - fortunatly bigger-ones. dont mix orientation of the new one, when soldering it.
maybe a friend or a skilled neighbour could help you, soldering it ?!
hit is offline  
Old 30 December 2009, 10:40   #5
Chaeo
Monkey Slapper
Chaeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: UK
Age: 49
Posts: 71
hrm, yeah - I think I could persuade my neighbour to do this, he's pretty handy with the electrical stuff.
Chaeo is offline  
Old 30 December 2009, 10:57   #6
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
good choice i guess. so he also might confirm my suggestion for the replacement
hit is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phase 5 Blizzard 1230IV accelerator Exit! support.Hardware 2 18 January 2007 00:38
change battery on blizzard card.. BarrySWE support.Hardware 2 12 December 2005 17:58
Blizzard 1230iv FP problem a1200mon support.Hardware 0 06 February 2004 18:12
A1200 / Blizzard 1230IV / CD Rom Problems - Please Help [Mr_L] support.Hardware 6 07 January 2004 17:35
Blizzard 1230IV ram question? ElectroBlaster support.Hardware 5 13 January 2003 00:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08780 seconds with 13 queries