English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 January 2022, 13:46   #101
rabidgerry
Registered User

rabidgerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: N.Ireland/Belfast
Posts: 1,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSzili View Post
Oh I see, they are called Reverse and Forward. This nomenclature comes from Commodore, so you can blame them for it.
Got it! Reverse and Forward now assigned. Actually some more useful functions by including double reverse and double forward. I might actually have the inventory scroll through assigned to some of those buttons too.

Great port BSzili really enjoying it.

Would the inclusion of music affect performance? I haven't added that yet.
rabidgerry is offline  
Old 23 January 2022, 15:21   #102
stevelord
Registered User

stevelord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabidgerry View Post
What setup have you got? It is grease lightning for me! I actually can't keep up at times lol

Amiga 4000, OS 3.2.1, ZZ9000, Cyberstorm MkII at 55mhz, 386mb of RAM and a PFS CF running off a Fastata. Absolutely screams. I have a fairly fast Duke port for Mac, but that's nowhere near these speeds.
stevelord is offline  
Old 23 January 2022, 15:36   #103
mateusz_s
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 118
It suck me in for a few hours and get thru a couple of levels - works great!
I cant display FPS But I guess its over 50fps in some places

I noticed something - buy I am not sure if it engine or my mouse problem.
When trying fireup for example shotgun - not always fires when first mouse clicked,
and sometimes when I am using right mouse click for action the weapon switches.. Did somebody noticed that too or is it just my problem?
mateusz_s is offline  
Old 23 January 2022, 17:27   #104
BSzili
Registered User

BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 764
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabidgerry View Post
Got it! Reverse and Forward now assigned. Actually some more useful functions by including double reverse and double forward. I might actually have the inventory scroll through assigned to some of those buttons too.

Great port BSzili really enjoying it.

Would the inclusion of music affect performance? I haven't added that yet.
I'm glad it works now. The music depends on the format. MP3 via MHI should have no impact on, WAV and CAMD MIDI has a slight impact.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevelord View Post
Amiga 4000, OS 3.2.1, ZZ9000, Cyberstorm MkII at 55mhz, 386mb of RAM and a PFS CF running off a Fastata. Absolutely screams. I have a fairly fast Duke port for Mac, but that's nowhere near these speeds.
It's faster than the Mac version? I'm intrigued, I've got to install ShapeShifter one day.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mateusz_s View Post
It suck me in for a few hours and get thru a couple of levels - works great!
I cant display FPS But I guess its over 50fps in some places

I noticed something - buy I am not sure if it engine or my mouse problem.
When trying fireup for example shotgun - not always fires when first mouse clicked,
and sometimes when I am using right mouse click for action the weapon switches.. Did somebody noticed that too or is it just my problem?
It would be good to know if anyone else has this problem, so we can try to narrow down the cause.
BSzili is offline  
Old 24 January 2022, 00:50   #105
Jpor
Banned

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevelord View Post
Amiga 4000, OS 3.2.1, ZZ9000, Cyberstorm MkII at 55mhz, 386mb of RAM and a PFS CF running off a Fastata. Absolutely screams. I have a fairly fast Duke port for Mac, but that's nowhere near these speeds.
Can’t wait to get my A4K back from repair to try this on my Cyberstorm
Jpor is offline  
Old 24 January 2022, 08:41   #106
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSzili View Post
Oh I see, they are called Reverse and Forward. This nomenclature comes from Commodore, so you can blame them for it.
Or Rewind and Fast Forward.
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 24 January 2022, 10:01   #107
BSzili
Registered User

BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 764
There could be other names I'm not aware of, I just used the ones Commodore gave them in the lowlevel.library SDK:
http://amigadev.elowar.com/read/ADCD.../node0624.html
BSzili is offline  
Old 24 January 2022, 12:27   #108
rabidgerry
Registered User

rabidgerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: N.Ireland/Belfast
Posts: 1,195
I could be wrong but I think this is running better than Blood for me. May be cause I'm using the music with Blood, I dunno.
rabidgerry is offline  
Old 24 January 2022, 23:47   #109
Estrayk
Registered User

Estrayk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 357
I have captured a video with my Vampire in case anyone is curious how many fps it gets. (the fps counter is on the top left of the screen)

[ Show youtube player ]
Estrayk is offline  
Old 25 January 2022, 01:37   #110
mateusz_s
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 118
Hi,
so as I am continue playing Duke,
the thing with automatic gun switching
when right mouse button is pressed..
It happens when the right mouse is pressed and
I am moving mouse up or down.

But I guess its not port bug but something in
my Amiga Intuition settings - when RBM is pressed and mouse
is moving is acting like a horizontal and vetical scrolling..
mateusz_s is offline  
Old 25 January 2022, 07:48   #111
BSzili
Registered User

BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 764
You can probably verify this by starting the game without startup-sequence after the SetPatch and Stack commands.
BSzili is offline  
Old 25 January 2022, 08:11   #112
Mr-Z
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by mateusz_s View Post
Hi,
Just tested on V1200 (AmigaOS3.2) with Atomic Edition ,
works ultra fast and smooth in 320x240
Thanks Great JOB!

One thing is the STACK SIZE, the original size 4096 was to small -
and caused crash, I increased to about 50000 and was OK, finally I let it 300000...

300000 wasn't even enough for me, set it 500000 now it runs perfect.
Maybe it should be in the readme or a new upload to aminet with stack set high enough by default.
Mr-Z is offline  
Old 25 January 2022, 08:42   #113
BSzili
Registered User

BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 764
The stack issue is known, and will be fixed once I figure out why the stack swap code built into the executable doesn't work.
BSzili is offline  
Old 25 January 2022, 12:18   #114
mateusz_s
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSzili View Post
You can probably verify this by starting the game without startup-sequence after the SetPatch and Stack commands.
Its my coccolino mouse adapter driver
mateusz_s is offline  
Old 25 January 2022, 14:15   #115
rabidgerry
Registered User

rabidgerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: N.Ireland/Belfast
Posts: 1,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Estrayk View Post
I have captured a video with my Vampire in case anyone is curious how many fps it gets. (the fps counter is on the top left of the screen)

[ Show youtube player ]
I was gonna make a video and then I saw this..............
rabidgerry is offline  
Old 25 January 2022, 15:03   #116
mateusz_s
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabidgerry View Post
I was gonna make a video and then I saw this..............
Amazing speed! I knew it must be over 50 fps, but its even 60..
How did you turn on the frame rate display?
mateusz_s is offline  
Old 25 January 2022, 15:50   #117
Estrayk
Registered User

Estrayk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by mateusz_s View Post
Amazing speed! I knew it must be over 50 fps, but its even 60..
How did you turn on the frame rate display?
write in the keyboard:

dnrate
Estrayk is offline  
Old 25 January 2022, 16:08   #118
rabidgerry
Registered User

rabidgerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: N.Ireland/Belfast
Posts: 1,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by mateusz_s View Post
Amazing speed! I knew it must be over 50 fps, but its even 60..
How did you turn on the frame rate display?
I'll measure that later on and get back to you. It's not 50 that's for sure. I'm going to have a guess and say it's about between 15fps and 25fps. During a lot of explosions and stuff it can get slow but not enough to ruin the experience, it's still a lot of fun.
rabidgerry is offline  
Old 26 January 2022, 03:33   #119
mateusz_s
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabidgerry View Post
I'll measure that later on and get back to you. It's not 50 that's for sure. I'm going to have a guess and say it's about between 15fps and 25fps. During a lot of explosions and stuff it can get slow but not enough to ruin the experience, it's still a lot of fun.
I have almost 50fps all the time..
mateusz_s is offline  
Old 26 January 2022, 10:55   #120
rabidgerry
Registered User

rabidgerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: N.Ireland/Belfast
Posts: 1,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by mateusz_s View Post
I have almost 50fps all the time..
You have a vampire though right?
rabidgerry is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duke Nukem 3D for Classic WarpOS Wrangler Coders. Releases 24 28 February 2019 19:11
WTB: Duke Nukem 3D for PC vroom6sri MarketPlace 3 05 February 2018 09:47
Duke Nukem 3D cv643d support.Games 47 11 June 2017 09:00
Duke Nukem 3D for Amiga available Bobic Amiga scene 3 28 July 2003 18:53
duke nukem on amiga? matthew request.Old Rare Games 6 29 April 2002 14:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.15631 seconds with 14 queries