English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 January 2022, 19:06   #1
A1200_Tek
Registered User

A1200_Tek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Arizona USA
Posts: 14
Icon renaming wont save

Greetings,
I have posted in the intro section first before asking something here. Ok, I have bought Amiga Forever and loaded WinUAE. I am basically setting up my 1200 for the moment with a Zeb Elwood WHDload image. Per instructions, all he requires is to the user to make a kickstrarts directory in Devs and add the ROMS.
I have a virtual 1200 and booted from the Zeb CF card image. I have been able to bring up and add a linkable windows directory that has the ROMS.
The ROMS drive came up in Workbench. I dragged the ROMS to a newly made icon (Unnamed1) in Devs. The problem is when I go to rename the "Unnamed1" icon to kicketarts, it is not changing it.
It appears that the Read/Write is all enabled. I'm sure it's a setting or something minor. Has anyone run across this before?
Thanks!!
A1200_Tek is offline  
Old 25 January 2022, 19:42   #2
A1200_Tek
Registered User

A1200_Tek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Arizona USA
Posts: 14
Update:
I was finally able to rename the drawer by partially erasing the Unnamed1 name and typing something new in there. Now it saves. However, when I try to name it Kickstarts, the workbench windows will flash dark grey and not change it. I tried changing it to Kicktartz and it will accept that. Almost as if Kickstarts exists already somewhere. it doesn't complain that there may be a Kickstarts "Duplicate".
This is just so that WHDload will be happy with having Kickstarts in the Devs folder.
A1200_Tek is offline  
Old 25 January 2022, 20:11   #3
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 38
Posts: 1,896
If you are doing this via Workbench in a Emulator:

Open Devs folder, and right click mouse -> goto menu -> Show All Files. And see if the "Kickstarts" directory already exists or

Right click mouse -> Menu -> Execute Command -> "Dir Devs: #? all"
and see if the "Kickstarts" directory shows up in the directory list"
redblade is offline  
Old 25 January 2022, 20:58   #4
A1200_Tek
Registered User

A1200_Tek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Arizona USA
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by redblade View Post
If you are doing this via Workbench in a Emulator:

Open Devs folder, and right click mouse -> goto menu -> Show All Files. And see if the "Kickstarts" directory already exists or

Right click mouse -> Menu -> Execute Command -> "Dir Devs: #? all"
and see if the "Kickstarts" directory shows up in the directory list"
That was it! Thank You redblade! And Yes WinUAE 4.9.0. Bizarre why the Kickstarts drawer was hidden in the first place, but that did the trick!!
A1200_Tek is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wont Put Away/Leave Out an icon from Workbench R-Typer project.ClassicWB 13 27 March 2021 02:21
Amiga 1200 , Workbench clock issue (wont save?) nixxjsteve support.Hardware 6 10 January 2011 07:46
Configs wont save? ukdesigner support.WinUAE 4 15 October 2010 20:01
Resizing windows wont save using ClassicWB_ADVSP kipper2k project.ClassicWB 7 14 March 2009 00:23
Icon launch wont work Jherek Carnelia Coders. General 6 26 August 2008 16:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06788 seconds with 15 queries