English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 January 2022, 11:20   #21
Torti-the-Smurf
Registered User

Torti-the-Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Earth
Posts: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt_H View Post
Before everyone starts flipping out about this, does the shipping product actually use WHDLoad? Or is it designed to be compatible with WHDLoad as a way of users adding their own games (i.e., users provide their own WHDLoad executable)?
The majority of games that are on the A500 Mini use some sort of Copy Protection.

So there is no other way other than to use WHDLoad.

( or they would have to sell us cracked games; or ship the A500 Mini with a copy protection sheet for every game included )

WHDLoad makes the A500 Mini possible in the first place
and i will not accept this kind of rude behaviour against Master Wepl or the WHDload slave community !

I usually always try to be positive, but this behaviour makes me really mad

Last edited by Torti-the-Smurf; 02 January 2022 at 13:37. Reason: typo
Torti-the-Smurf is offline  
Old 22 January 2022, 21:33   #22
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 52
Posts: 1,557
Well it looks like I am sitting on the side lines with a bag of Popcorn with this one. I was going to preorder but I will hold off.

WHDLOAD is a deal breaker, and i cannot believe they did not license WHDLOAD.
whiteb is offline  
Old 22 January 2022, 22:37   #23
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 46
Posts: 1,148
I have heard that they have now made contact regarding this but as yet no agreement has been reached.

The clock is ticking.....
Superman is offline  
Old 01 February 2022, 15:33   #24
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 5,358
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
What is the situation regarding the use of WHDLoad slaves in a commercial product?
Will the A500 mini owners need to contract with each slave author?
DDNI is offline  
Old 01 February 2022, 15:38   #25
girv
Mostly Harmless

girv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,030
Each slave has it's own license, so some or all may be compatible with commercial use. Retro Games would need to check each slave individually.
girv is offline  
Old 01 February 2022, 17:14   #26
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,352
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
The OWNER of WHDLoad begs to differ
Guess they were wrong indeed, or I mis-interpreted the info on the forum.
Guess another Amiga-related soap then Let's see if they get something arranged before official release date.

You would expect a company of this caliber to have sufficient legal knowledge/people to check all of this way earlier. On the other hand, they've got the games itself licensed I guess, so they could go for adf only solutions.

As long as they keep the WHDLoad support in there, hehehe.
spudje is offline  
Old 01 February 2022, 17:20   #27
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 48
Posts: 8,396
This has now been resolved as of today
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 01 February 2022, 17:27   #28
kriz
Junior Member

kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 40
Posts: 2,998
Hope they payed all involved!
kriz is offline  
Old 02 February 2022, 04:25   #29
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 52
Posts: 1,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
This has now been resolved as of today
Awesome. I would still like to know some of the aspects of the hardware inside the thing, like CPU and base Operating system.

I would like to see it getting hacked so it could run HDF files and boot to a workbench for example, assuming it uses linux with say fs-uae.

A few people I have spoke to about it have said "you know there are emulation software that is free", and I am like "Ummm yeah and I have them".
whiteb is offline  
Old 02 February 2022, 04:27   #30
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 52
Posts: 1,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriz View Post
Hope they payed all involved!
Paid ?

You can bet that WEPL would have pushed for the appropriate remuneration for the use of WHDLOAD.

The crux of the matter is that Retro Ltd or whatever they are called, wanted to use WHDLOAD in a commercial product, that they were selling for profit.
whiteb is offline  
Old 02 February 2022, 09:58   #31
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 52
Posts: 1,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
What is the situation regarding the use of WHDLoad slaves in a commercial product?
Will the A500 mini owners need to contract with each slave author?
My understanding, as a non commercial user, you would be covered under the basic usage conditions as you would be with Winuae on your PC now.

So for the slaves, they are provided for the benefit of the Amiga community, but the moment you use them in a commercial sense (Like Retro Games LTD) then you need agreements with WEPL and the Install creators.

As a plain user, you are 100% in the good basket. But the moment you try and provide through retail, anything to do with WHDLOAD, you need a commercial agreement.
whiteb is offline  
Old 02 February 2022, 10:33   #32
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,352
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
This has now been resolved as of today
That's good news!
spudje is offline  
Old 02 February 2022, 16:12   #33
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 52
Posts: 1,185
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
This has now been resolved as of today
if you’re happy we’re happy

cheers to Torti-the-Smurf for sniffing this issue out
klx300r is offline  
Old 03 February 2022, 16:00   #34
haps
Rumpig

haps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The bottom of the bottle
Age: 90
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by klx300r View Post
if you’re happy we’re happy

cheers to Torti-the-Smurf for sniffing this issue out

WTF does that meddling smurf have to do with anything when it was that spanner named nick that started the thread?

You and torti been on the smurf berries again?
haps is offline  
Old 03 February 2022, 19:02   #35
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 52
Posts: 1,185
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by haps View Post
WTF does that meddling smurf have to do with anything when it was that spanner named nick that started the thread?

You and torti been on the smurf berries again?

hehe indeed cheers go to spannernick the thread startermust have had too many late night 'refreshments' and thought the smurf started it
klx300r is offline  
Old 04 February 2022, 22:28   #36
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 46
Posts: 1,148
Good to hear this has been resolved and I hope it is a satisfactory resolution for all parties involved.
Superman is offline  
Old 05 February 2022, 21:51   #37
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 4,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteb View Post
Awesome. I would still like to know some of the aspects of the hardware inside the thing, like CPU and base Operating system.

I would like to see it getting hacked so it could run HDF files and boot to a workbench for example, assuming it uses linux with say fs-uae.
I would assume you wrote that message on a computer that can run FS-UAE already.

Please don’t support the creation of more electronic junk that only hurts our environment.
idrougge is offline  
Old 08 February 2022, 17:21   #38
apex
Registered User
apex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 643
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
This has now been resolved as of today
Very good news!
apex is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AmigaOS / Workbench Licence Question MrClump support.Other 3 26 November 2020 18:13
trying to have free licence for porting old games ?? turrican3 support.Games 6 22 June 2015 17:33
80's Top Games - OVER 2000 Retro games playable in your Browser! Neil79 Retrogaming General Discussion 8 18 April 2013 02:11
Suggestion - Licence: On Compilation NPI HOL suggestions and feedback 0 20 December 2010 22:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12007 seconds with 15 queries