English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 January 2019, 22:25   #1
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,699
WHDLoad splash screen - requirements

Hi,

(Edit: Obviously, I meant 'splash' screen!)

Please can somebody tell me what the requirements are for the WHDLoad splash screen to appear when a game is launched.

I have a minimal startup-sequence and can load in to Workbench, with NewIcons seemingly working. However, when I launch a WHDLoad game from icon, the splash screen does not appear. With the same game in ClassicWB LITE, the splash screen appears.

I know there are specific WHDLoad options for the splash screen. But as I said, with the same game (same directory and files) in ClassicWB LITE, it works. But not in my minimal setup.

What are the requirements for the splash screen to appear?

Cheers!
solarmon is offline  
Old 15 January 2019, 23:02   #2
DamienD
Banned
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 45
Posts: 20,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarmon View Post
(Edit: Obviously, I meant 'splash' screen!)
Thread title updated from 'spash'

Regarding your question; that's a weird one indeed... even with a self-booting / bare-bones WHDLoad .HDF I've created i.e. no OS files / libs etc. the splash screen always appears.

You can test / look at this as an example:


Last edited by DamienD; 15 January 2019 at 23:10.
DamienD is offline  
Old 15 January 2019, 23:09   #3
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,727
Are you sure you are using the same WHDLoad.prefs on both systems?
StingRay is offline  
Old 15 January 2019, 23:28   #4
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Are you sure you are using the same WHDLoad.prefs on both systems?
You've hit the nail right on the head!

I thought they were both default, and I had just changed the DefaultKey option.

The one in the minimal setup was using a config with:

ConfigDelay=0

So that was why it was not showing, no matter what I did.

I've spent ages to figure out the difference between the two setups. I feel really stupid now...

Thank you for your help.
solarmon is offline  
Old 16 January 2019, 07:11   #5
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 50
Posts: 6,568
Is it me or whdload splash screen could use shortcut keys / joystick to be able to tick some boxes when 2 joysticks are connected? annoying to plug/unplug mouse just to set those setting boxes.
jotd is offline  
Old 16 January 2019, 09:49   #6
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
Is it me or whdload splash screen could use shortcut keys / joystick to be able to tick some boxes when 2 joysticks are connected? annoying to plug/unplug mouse just to set those setting boxes.
Yes - I wish it had native joystick support to cycle through the options and select/unselect it.

A workaround for the moment is to use something like JoyMouse and JConMousePro to allow the joystick to control the mouse.
solarmon is offline  
Old 20 May 2022, 21:17   #7
Wepl
Moderator
Wepl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 802
In the latest beta I added joystick/keyboard control for the splash window. Up/down to navigate and left/right to select. Feedback welcome
http://whdload.de/whdload/whd188.lha
Wepl is offline  
Old 21 May 2022, 11:38   #8
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Age: 43
Posts: 4,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wepl View Post
In the latest beta I added joystick/keyboard control for the splash window. Up/down to navigate and left/right to select. Feedback welcome
http://whdload.de/whdload/whd188.lha
Absolutely bloody fantastic mate. Well Done
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 21 May 2022, 19:52   #9
Torti-the-Smurf
Registered User

Torti-the-Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Earth
Posts: 558
Funny, after the setup ; i always hide the Splashscreen

SplashDelay=0

Looks cleaner, saves a tiny bit of memory and brings me faster into the game



SplashDelay=0 dosent work in later builds, thats why i stick to 18.3

Last edited by Torti-the-Smurf; 21 May 2022 at 20:08. Reason: Adding the Info about the non working SplashDelay option in later builds
Torti-the-Smurf is offline  
Old 21 May 2022, 20:31   #10
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 47
Posts: 3,814
It does, but you have to add
Code:
ConfigDelay=0
as well.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 21 May 2022, 21:11   #11
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 50
Posts: 6,568
This feature ticks all the boxes!
jotd is offline  
Old 22 May 2022, 09:13   #12
gizmomelb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: melbourne
Age: 53
Posts: 541
Thank you Wepl!
gizmomelb is offline  
Old 22 May 2022, 23:07   #13
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,699
@wepl,

Thank you so much for implementing this navigation feature - it will make is so much easier to choose the custom options now.

I've tested this on the A500mini, using Paul Vince's THEA500_210522.zip build (although, I did have to copy the WHDLoad binary from "boot-data\C" drawer to "boot-data".

I'm not sure whether this is just on the A500mini, but the navigation doesn't seem to quite work so well. When the splash screen first appear I can press the BUTTON button and the cursor is moved to the first option (or the UP button and the mouse cursor will go to the last option). However, when I press any subsequent DOWN (or UP) button, the mouse cursor jumps to the bottom of the screen, and subsequent DOWN (or UP) shifts the mouse cursor a jump to the left or right.

Pressing LEFT or RIGHT button changes the option appropriately. And the option that it is on does correspond to the amount of times you press DOWN or UP, it is just that the mouse cursor is not over it and is at the bottom of the screen.
solarmon is offline  
Old 25 May 2022, 01:40   #14
Wepl
Moderator
Wepl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 802
Hmm, ATM I have no idea what the problem is here.
Navigating using keyboard works well or has problems too?
Wepl is offline  
Old 25 May 2022, 22:05   #15
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,699
@Wepl,

I tried with the keyboard and I have the same behaviour.
solarmon is offline  
Old 28 May 2022, 19:49   #16
Wepl
Moderator
Wepl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 802
Please try new beta. Should work now.
Os3.0 behaves differently than 3.1.
Wepl is offline  
Old 29 May 2022, 12:48   #17
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,699
@Wepl,

Just tried the new beta and it works perfectly with gamepad and keyboard!

Thank you, this is such an awesome feature!
solarmon is offline  
Old 29 May 2022, 13:15   #18
zx80
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wepl View Post
In the latest beta I added joystick/keyboard control for the splash window. Up/down to navigate and left/right to select. Feedback welcome
http://whdload.de/whdload/whd188.lha
Cool, thank you very much. Makes live much easier. So far I used a wireless keyboard with touchpad and two USB Joysticks configured in Port 0/1 with Amiberries mouse auto switch to play two player games with my Joysticks, but be able to select trainers etc. from WHDLoad screen on my Retropie setups via touchpad. Should be easier now on my other setups too.

Highly appreciated.
zx80 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hide AmiTCP Splash Screen eva support.Apps 0 29 January 2015 00:56
HELP: Whdload memory requirements caiusfabricius project.WHDLoad 10 23 November 2009 23:06
registered name on splash screen SexyWayne project.WHDLoad 33 04 October 2007 20:47
Splash screen in WHDLoad spannernick project.WHDLoad 5 04 August 2007 00:33
Min requirements for WHDLoad? Gnorman project.WHDLoad 1 19 February 2006 12:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10728 seconds with 13 queries