English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General > Coders. Releases

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 August 2022, 21:24   #201
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,119
@paraj

I'm not having that issue, but I'm also using a 68040 emulation. My issue is that the game flat out refuses to work without giving UAE a big wedge of imaginary chip memory.
Karlos is offline  
Old 16 August 2022, 21:27   #202
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,119
Here it is running the result of the most recent commits that fix the fullscreen water submersion crash: [ Show youtube player ]
Karlos is offline  
Old 16 August 2022, 21:49   #203
abu_the_monkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 1,938
I do not understand how one of my setups runs everything you can throw at it and all the rest die on their arse. I had this when I was trying the develop a 68k quake engine for Qbreed and flat gave up as it made no sense. I put it down to my lack of knowledge.
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 16 August 2022, 22:18   #204
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,119
The devpac build definitely doesn't have the weird massive ChipRAM requirement in UAE. I'm going to have to carefully read the vasm and vlink docs.
Karlos is offline  
Old 16 August 2022, 22:25   #205
abu_the_monkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 1,938
I was not using vasm for the quake builds, but, was developing in winuae. that is not that odd, but, when everything works on your dev setup only? odd.

also, the devpac build was a much older version of the source code.

Last edited by abu_the_monkey; 16 August 2022 at 22:30.
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 16 August 2022, 22:37   #206
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,119
The "works on my machine" phenomenon in enterprise software ultimately led to shipping everything in docker containers... Allegedly.
Karlos is offline  
Old 16 August 2022, 22:39   #207
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,119
What I'm keen to do is test one of these executables on my real A1200. That will involve putting the HD back in, cleaning out dust and most terrifying of all, turning the damn thing on.

Last edited by Karlos; 16 August 2022 at 22:47.
Karlos is offline  
Old 16 August 2022, 23:16   #208
abu_the_monkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bicester
Posts: 1,938
fingers crossed it don't release any magic smoke.
abu_the_monkey is offline  
Old 16 August 2022, 23:58   #209
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,119
Yeah, there's no chance it will happen before the weekend. And little that it will happen during lol
Karlos is offline  
Old 17 August 2022, 00:15   #210
pipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 652
I pushed some experiment to the 'link_with_gcc' branch.
It links with GCC and tries to emulate assembling devpac. Let me know if it makes a difference.

This is a really puzzling bug - for me the executables work just fine in WinUAE and on a real A1200 with either 060 or 030 accelerator in it.

The only thing odd on the real machine is that the music replay seems off timingwise.
Maybe its time to invest some effort into getting actual debugging working. WinUAE debugging seems impossible. Bebbo's bgdbserver is ill suited for the task. Maybe something native + WinUAE's ability to inject NMI's will do...
pipper is online now  
Old 17 August 2022, 00:50   #211
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,119
The memory issue in UAE is definitely something I need to compare to a real system to rule out some chicanery of it just being a UAE thing.

Something I'm keen to look at instead in the meantime is the water, lighting and vector object animation speed. Unlike sprite and projectile animations which continue to work normally, these seem to update a fixed amount per frame and end up ludicrously fast when running under emulation. Running the game at a rock solid 50fps but not having an epileptic fit to go with it will be nice.
Karlos is offline  
Old 17 August 2022, 16:47   #212
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,119
In semi related news, I think I've found the project directory and editor assets for my mod.
Karlos is offline  
Old 17 August 2022, 19:25   #213
pipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 652
I have been trying to reproduce the startup problem and got some form of lead.
I created a barebones 3.1 A1200 030 with 32MB of ZIII fastram. It will crash pretty much immediately after startup.
In this config the WinUAE debugger seems to work. It even supports a form of "source level" debugging.
I.e. one can create a label in the source like 'Test:' and then in the debugger run
Code:
f Test
g
which will then break into the code at the line Test.

The commands 'z' and 't' let you single-step the code.
I followed the code until the crash... weirdly it happens when opening the Intuition window here
https://github.com/mheyer32/alienbre...eensetup.s#L46

Somewhere deep down in the OS code it copies some data from inaccessible addresses to somewhere else.
pipper is online now  
Old 17 August 2022, 19:53   #214
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,119
So maybe it's a value being interpreted as an address that happens to fall into the region where the new "32-bit addressable" chip memory is located in UAE. Specifically somewhere between $10000000 and $10ffffff which is where showconfig reports it to be.
Karlos is offline  
Old 17 August 2022, 20:42   #215
paraj
Registered User
 
paraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,098
Great that you're making progress on the debugging. Unfortunately the code is much too complicated for me to make good suggestions, but one thing I tried was to use the repo just before the "sysfriendly" change and just change the interrupt from COPPER to VERTB and it still worked FWIW.

If I were you I'd try to comment out as many parts of the code as you can and see when it stops crashing starting with anything that's run in interrupt context.
paraj is offline  
Old 18 August 2022, 09:09   #216
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,119
Is the taglist for the open window correctly terminated?
Karlos is offline  
Old 18 August 2022, 11:16   #217
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,119
More generally, I was thinking that if the goal is to make a more system friendly version, perhaps it's better to implement new parts that handle resource allocation like windows, bitmaps and such (especially for RTG) as external C files that export assembly language callable entry points and link them. I'm certainly more familiar with writing this sort of code in C than I am 68K these days. We aren't talking about performance critical operations here, just ease of implementation and safety. Thoughts?
Karlos is offline  
Old 18 August 2022, 16:52   #218
Angus
Amiga Games Database
 
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 1,240
Purely as a player, (no coding skills) I thought TKG attempted to be a high res AB3D sequel for faster Amigas, but largely failed as it seemed like it attempted to do too much and perhaps required more time and resources for the author to optimise things.

I don't know if it's even an option but maybe a system friendly version would allow specific parts of the engine to be "reduced" so that the game could deliver a good player experience on an 030 AGA type machine?

Would there be any implications for an easier the TKG editor which I gather was a bit of a nightmare to use?
Angus is offline  
Old 18 August 2022, 18:16   #219
Karlos
Alien Bleed
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 4,119
I think there's a lot of scope for performance improvement but much of that involves extensive rewriting of the rendering code.
Karlos is offline  
Old 19 August 2022, 19:49   #220
pipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 652
One more data point: using 3.1.4 ROMs in WinUAE makes the 'hires' executable start up instead of crashing. I have no idea why... TKG is not using any fancy 3.1.4 features...
pipper is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
UltraNarwhal
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alien Breed 3D II The Killing Grounds RTG patch Angus Retrogaming General Discussion 63 14 December 2022 15:20
Alien Breed & Alien Breed '92: SE - delay when picking up items / opening doors Ian support.WinUAE 16 23 December 2016 15:50
Alien Breed 3D II : The Killing Grounds code booklet alexh support.Games 19 10 October 2012 22:17
Alien Breed 3D 2 - The Killing Grounds Ironclaw support.Games 12 13 September 2005 13:07
HD Version of Alien Breed I ? Kintaro request.Old Rare Games 20 31 July 2003 10:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:30.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.16757 seconds with 14 queries