English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language > Coders. AMOS

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 August 2022, 02:04   #21
DisasterIncarna
Registered User

DisasterIncarna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: England
Posts: 358
fixed a few dumb errors in the above poor mans starfield example code.
DisasterIncarna is offline  
Old 02 August 2022, 10:11   #22
GamerGrug
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisasterIncarna View Post
fixed a few dumb errors in the above poor mans starfield example code.
Thanks DisasterIncarna! I appreciate the sharing, it really helps me to learn by example.

I ended up looking into the Amos Turbo extension examples and it is very smooth on my A2000! Now to add some Bobs!

I also noticed an extension in Aminet: http://aminet.net/package/dev/amos/stars
Anyone have any experience with that one? I might give it a go.

Thanks again all!
GamerGrug is offline  
Old 02 August 2022, 11:40   #23
DisasterIncarna
Registered User

DisasterIncarna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: England
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by GamerGrug View Post
Thanks DisasterIncarna! I appreciate the sharing, it really helps me to learn by example.

I ended up looking into the Amos Turbo extension examples and it is very smooth on my A2000! Now to add some Bobs!

I also noticed an extension in Aminet: http://aminet.net/package/dev/amos/stars
Anyone have any experience with that one? I might give it a go.

Thanks again all!
Never actually tried any amos extensions back in the day, or recently, probably should have, oh and adding bobs? i had a similar idea, probably shoulda made bullets sprites tho.

[ Show youtube player ]

Demonstration ahoy, some crappy bobs i drew up and throwing in some classic music for the feels.

Last edited by DisasterIncarna; 02 August 2022 at 11:45.
DisasterIncarna is offline  
Old 02 August 2022, 23:46   #24
GamerGrug
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 7
ok that is REALLY awesome! thank you!
I had another go last night but yours looks a lot better than the Turbo example, and my Bob is not sitting nicely on screen 1.. a lot of interference/corruption? Apparently Turbo uses interrupt to draw stars so I cannot do double buffering - would that be the reason? Attached (hopefully) is my code so far (but I am going to try your stars tonight).
Attached Files
File Type: txt starfield-ship.txt (581 Bytes, 11 views)
GamerGrug is offline  
Old 03 August 2022, 06:13   #25
DisasterIncarna
Registered User

DisasterIncarna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: England
Posts: 358
yeah didnt use double buffering, did all the updates manually, heres an archive with a program, 1 shooty sound and an iff used for 2 player ships and their laser beam, basically the bare minimum, remember im doin this via emulation, this will probably choke the real thing, its meant to be a demo of the starfield, which does work.

Add in bobs/etc and it will probably implode on a proper amiga, disable them and it will work fine, the idea is to see how the statr work and bolt something
similar into your own work, thats why what i made has no tricks/screen copys/screen offsetting/etc because your own routines will be doing something similar.

Theres far better examples out there, this is mostly for someone to look at and immediately become inspired to improve on this junk by 1000%, again i only did it because ive never tried anything like this and certainly havent used amos in ages, so wanted to give it a shot

[ Show youtube player ]

Feel free to use/abuse it as you wish, can also use the shitty bobs i drew up in dpaint if you are reall desperate and scraping the barrel
Attached Files
File Type: lha Example-Shooter.lha (21.4 KB, 11 views)

Last edited by DisasterIncarna; 03 August 2022 at 15:17.
DisasterIncarna is offline  
Old 03 August 2022, 23:59   #26
GamerGrug
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 7
Hi @DisasterIncarna, didnt get a chance to try your code last night, hopefully tonight.. Can you see any reason in my code the bob is playing up? Any way to fix? I am sure it is something super simple.
GamerGrug is offline  
Old 04 August 2022, 05:33   #27
DisasterIncarna
Registered User

DisasterIncarna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: England
Posts: 358
probably due to the lack of double buffer, or if not using double buffer, doing a simple Wait Vbl : Screen Swap
.
DisasterIncarna is offline  
Old 04 August 2022, 14:58   #28
GamerGrug
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 7
Hi DisasterIncarna, tried loading up your code but AMOS 2 tells me it is not an AMOS program when loading the AMOS file? Are you able to check or send to me as a text file?

I also tried adding Wait Vbl : Screen Swap to my existing code but it did not help, it just slowed it down?
GamerGrug is offline  
Old 04 August 2022, 18:50   #29
DisasterIncarna
Registered User

DisasterIncarna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: England
Posts: 358
not an amos program? damn, i must have resaved it in amos pro unity, ill redo it in regular amos pro, once i find out why my normal amos pro is complaining about missing files.
DisasterIncarna is offline  
Old 04 August 2022, 23:08   #30
GamerGrug
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 7
No hurry, I noticed you posted a txt version on page one of this thread? Is that the same thing?
GamerGrug is offline  
Old 05 August 2022, 04:05   #31
DisasterIncarna
Registered User

DisasterIncarna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: England
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by GamerGrug View Post
No hurry, I noticed you posted a txt version on page one of this thread? Is that the same thing?
similar, but not the same.
DisasterIncarna is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Wip] Amos Professional X : Bring AGA to Amos Pro! freddix Coders. AMOS 52 15 August 2022 04:51
AMOS Files from Writing RPG's in AMOS supercruiser request.Other 0 21 April 2020 13:03
Any good AMOS examples and tutorials? amiman99 Coders. AMOS 14 03 April 2016 05:36
Plasma examples anyone? jobro Coders. General 5 27 November 2005 17:25
Where's the amos.library on the 3-disk AMOS set? andreas support.Apps 0 15 November 2001 16:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11409 seconds with 15 queries