English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 September 2004, 02:02   #1
adgloride
Amiga Mod Chipper
adgloride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: UK
Age: 48
Posts: 229
O.S 3.9 Hard disk problems

I have just upgraded from workbench 3.1 to o.s 3.9 on my miggy 1200. I have a internal 20gb hard drive, a blizzard 1230-IV with 32mb of memory fitted and a dvd-rom drive. My problem is that I've got 3 partitions on my hard drive a games partition, work partition, and a workbench partition. These took up the 4gb space on the hard drive before I got o.s 3.9. After I installed 3.9 one of the partitions has vanished the work partition. All the icon says is hd2:uninitialised or something similar.

I have used quarterback tools 2.0 to repair these problems in the past and its always worked with workbench 3.1. I have now tried it on o.s 3.9 it checks all the blocks and the files and comes up with no errors on files when the check is complete. But the same error hd2:uninitialised is still coming up. Can anyone tell me how to correct this?

Also could you tell me how to put extra partitions on the drive since I can now use the full 20gb. I've used the hdtools and it shows the full hard disk is available but all the partitions that are currently on the hard drive do not show. Is there anyway of correcting this? Thanks in advance.
adgloride is offline  
Old 02 September 2004, 15:35   #2
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
first you need to install the two 3.9 boingbags, the second one has the newer ffs that automounts partitions over the 4 gig mark, before this you had to create a mountlist.

as for your harddrive... try booting of a 3.1 workbench floppy, see if the drive comes up, if it does back it up somewhere (ie. spread it over the other partitions) reboot into 3.9, format and copy back...

but try the boingbags first, the drive might just appear after the update...
Severin is offline  
Old 02 September 2004, 16:33   #3
Npl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Age: 42
Posts: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Severin
as for your harddrive... try booting of a 3.1 workbench floppy, see if the drive comes up, if it does back it up somewhere (ie. spread it over the other partitions) reboot into 3.9, format and copy back...
Alternatly to spreading it over other Partitions you could connect the Drive to your PC and use WinUAE to store your data on the PC, format and Partition the Drive and write back the Data.
Npl is offline  
Old 02 September 2004, 21:57   #4
adgloride
Amiga Mod Chipper
adgloride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: UK
Age: 48
Posts: 229
Thanks for the advice, but I found out that installing o.s 3.9 had deleted a lot of games out of my games directory. So I've had to re-format and start again. But I've found unless I redetect the harddrive drive using hd tools I can't get access to the 20gb of the drive. But this causes the hard drive to be wiped so I have to reinstall workbench 3.1 and idefix97 to get the dvd-rom drive working, then reinstall o.s 3.9. The when I look at the drive it shows about 8gb of it is partioned. When I use HD tools to try and find the other missing 10gb of the drive I can't. Is there anyway I can find the other 10gb of the drive, or a different tool I can use other than hd tools.
adgloride is offline  
Old 03 September 2004, 16:31   #5
adgloride
Amiga Mod Chipper
adgloride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: UK
Age: 48
Posts: 229
I've tried installing boing bag 1 & 2 and still the same thing happens. The only solution I can see now is either using WinUAE like Npl suggested, but its a 2.5" drive so I'll need to buy something to connect it up. My other option is the one I think I'll go with I have a 4 way IDE connecter so I can add another hard drive to it. I can then use this and install o.s 3.9 on it. Run o.s 3.9 on the hard drive and use it to detect the internal drive and partition it. Then install o.s 3.9 on the internal disk and hopefully have full use of the 20gb hard drive.
adgloride is offline  
Old 19 September 2004, 00:44   #6
adgloride
Amiga Mod Chipper
adgloride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: UK
Age: 48
Posts: 229
Managed to get my hard drive working to the full 20gb. It was quite easy to do in the end. Just used o.s. 3.9 to make an emergency disk. Booted up via the emergency disk, and it uses ide fix so I can use my ide dvd-rom drive. Use hdtools to re-detect the hard drive to get the full 20gb. Partitioned, formatted and reinstalled o.s 3.9 and it works like a dream now. Thanks to everyone that tried to help.
adgloride is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hard drive cloning problems simon_m74 support.WinUAE 1 13 April 2013 16:28
A600 & Hard Disk problems marcolau support.Hardware 40 11 September 2009 18:00
SCSI Hard Drive Problems Smiley support.Hardware 1 04 May 2006 00:05
Hard Drive problems kaiowas support.WinUAE 4 03 November 2005 20:13
Amiga 4000D Hard disk problems lopos2000 support.Hardware 8 16 June 2005 11:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08528 seconds with 13 queries