English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

Old 26 November 2009, 20:21   #1
squidbass

A4000D upgrade options

Howdy folks,

I've recently acquired an A4000D EC68030 unit. MB not so bad but RTC battery needs attention! You know the score. I'm used to my A1200s and A600 since the 90's but I have little experience of the A4000. I'm wondering what upgrade options I have...for example, should I go down the mediator route? I've read that the subway USB unit can go in an A4000 with the addition of a compatible clock port. So I'm looking for ideas as I'd like to make this my main box. I'm currently on an A1200 with Apollo 1240 and Individion AGA so obvioously this rig is faster. So all you A4000 folk...give me some ideas!

Squid

P.S. Regarding the battery replacement should I go for a coin type battery with socket?
Old 26 November 2009, 20:35   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine

You'd be mad to buy a subway when you can get a Deneb.

The first upgrade should be RAM, get it upto 18Mbytes as soon as possible.

Next upgrade is hard drive, get yourself a nice hard drive and a panel IDE->CF adapter so you can rapidly transfer files from the PC to the Amiga.

Then perhaps a Kickstart 3.1 chip (or even better a home-made KS3.9).

Then a CPU upgrade, perhaps an A3640 as they are ultra cheap at about £30 or go for something more substantial, one with RAM.

Then you've got the decision : Scandoubler or Gfx card. The Indivision A4000 is good, but so is a PicassoIV gfx card.

I wouldn't bother replacing the battery at all but you could replace it with a coin battery if you like, depending on which motherboard version you have there is a set of pins for connecting such things.
Old 26 November 2009, 20:59   #3
squidbass

Hi alexh,

So the DENEB is the way to go for USB...? I should have mentioned that there's 16MB of RAM and an eyetech scandoubler too - yeh!