English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 August 2008, 00:36   #1
Binary Stylus
 
Posts: n/a
Issue with my Setup?

Hi All,

Thanks for keeping the Amiga alive - Mine have all physically died but I still love them, and I'm wanting to get back into them again!

Well I'm trying to get going with this WHDload thing. I've got a WinUAE A1200 - KS 3.1 and 3.1 Workbench. I'm pretty sure I've gotten WHDLoad, (latest version), installed correctly, (As soon as I discovered I needed to download the "Installer" program from Aminet).

BTW... I have two hard drives on my virtual machine; DH0, (with workbench on it), and DH1, (Where I'm installing stuff too).

So. . . I'm wanting to get the game Armourgeddon 2 up and running.

I've got my ArmourGeddon2 IPF files. And I've Got the ArmourGeddon2HD downloaded too. I ran the installer and everything was going happy. I also extracted skick346 so that I got a Kickstarts folder in the Devs folder.

But when I click on the ArmourGeddon2 icon in the folder it was installed too I get the "Unable to open your tool "Armourgeddon2"".

I even tried renaming the file "kick34005.A500.PAT" to just "kick34005.A500". My copy of skick346 only contains PAT and RTB files. Should it have others too, like "kick34005.A500"?

So I also tried the game called Zeewolf.

I got the ADF file and the WHDLoad component. But the installer never asks for the disk, and it never asks for an installation location, it just says it's installed it to the "Work" folder. (this happens after the advanced install option screen).

So I can't get the WHDLoad installer to work for Zeewolf.

I'm guessing that there is something wrong with the way my virtual machine is configured then? Which is funny because it works OK just using the disks. Am I missing any other utilities or files?

I feel so useless 'cause everyone is saying WHDLoad is so easy to use, but I've been working at this for just over a week now!!!

Any Ideas?

King regards
Tim
 
Old 21 August 2008, 10:09   #2
Binary Stylus
 
Posts: n/a
Hey there,

OK - I now know that I need to get the actual Kickstart into the kickstart file, renamed to be "kick34005.A500", and that I need that file as well as the PAT and RTB files. [I'm going to be copying these over and renaming them later.]

At this point I'd like to thank the efforts of Killergorilla for his pre-installed WHD packs. ArmourGeddon2 works from his packs, and informed me that the kick file was missing. I got the WHD splash screen, etc. So I think that that is now fixed!!!!!

Reason it wouldn't work for me? I think that maybe disk three IPF was messed up - Would a corrupt disk supplied to the WHDInstaller make the "unable to open your tool" error? I'm not 100% sure the disk is broken.

As for Zeewolf I have no idea - But I can get Killergorilla's pre-installed one and see what else that needs!

======================================================

More question please , (I think they are easy!!!).

Does WHDLoad need to be Installed, (files in c: etc), for the Games to work once they have been made-up to run off the HD?

Or does the WHDLoad stuff just exist to facilitate the creating of the HD install?

Am I missing any other Items that you can think off?
 
Old 21 August 2008, 10:11   #3
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 2,326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Binary Stylus View Post
Does WHDLoad need to be Installed, (files in c: etc), for the Games to work once they have been made-up to run off the HD?
Yes, it needs to live there full time
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 21 August 2008, 10:13   #4
viddi
Moderator

viddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 3,763
Hi Binary Stylus.
Thank YOU for keeping the Amiga alive and welcome to the EAB.

Did you check the official WHDload site?
->http://www.whdload.de/
->http://www.whdload.de/docs/en/index.html
viddi is offline  
Old 21 August 2008, 11:07   #5
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 45
Posts: 5,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Binary Stylus View Post
Hi All,

Thanks for keeping the Amiga alive -
Quote:
Originally Posted by viddi View Post
Hi Binary Stylus.
Thank YOU for keeping the Amiga alive and welcome to the EAB.
i keep it alive just for torture it.
Marcuz is offline  
Old 21 August 2008, 12:20   #6
Binary Stylus
 
Posts: n/a
He He - Found this!!! So I can now make all KickXXXXX.XXXX files I will ever need!!!
  • kick33180.A500, kick33180.A500.RTB (Amiga 500/2000 1.2 ROM)
  • kick34005.A500, kick34005.A500.RTB (Amiga 500/2000 1.3 ROM)
  • kick37175.A500, kick37175.A500.RTB (Amiga 500/600/2000 2.04 ROM)
  • kick39106.A1200, kick39106.A1200.RTB (Amiga 1200 3.0 ROM)
  • kick40068.A1200, kick40068.A1200.RTB (Amiga 1200 3.1 ROM)
  • kick40068.A4000, kick40068.A4000.RTB (Amiga 4000 3.1 ROM)
Hmph - Gonna try and get ZeeWolf Installer working laters. It should do more than just say it's complete to some weird folder!!! I'm gonna see if there's a more up-to-date "installer". Or maybe it needs an older installer .

Cool Cool.
 
Old 21 August 2008, 17:35   #7
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli
Quote:
Originally Posted by Binary Stylus View Post
  • kick34005.A500, kick34005.A500.RTB (Amiga 500/2000 1.3 ROM)
  • kick40068.A1200, kick40068.A1200.RTB (Amiga 1200 3.1 ROM)
You only need these two in your path.
Most games using 1.2 ROM have been patched to used 1.3's.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 22 August 2008, 00:34   #8
Binary Stylus
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks - thats cool - Cheers man!
 
Old 22 August 2008, 01:42   #9
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli
Quote:
Originally Posted by Binary Stylus View Post
1- Or does the WHDLoad stuff just exist to facilitate the creating of the HD install?

2 - Am I missing any other Items that you can think off?
1- This is the purpose of the WHDload dev package, which you don't need to install to play games.

2 - You shouldn't use any ADF to install games with WHDload, since they are the least likely game images to work with it. Usually, Killergorilla puts the right game image with the slave, so most WHDfy'ed games have a functional repack within about 3 months.

Note that games which bear a HD installer don't have/need a WHDload.

It can be a bit tricky at first to organize the bulk of Amiga games you may have downloaded from different sources, that's one of the reasons why Gamebase Amiga was created.

You can 'exercise' yourself at launching games from the HD with the basic games that are bundled with Amikit.

Finally, you might be interested to know that JST was the dignified ancestor of WHDload.

Last edited by NewDeli; 27 August 2008 at 04:37.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 26 August 2008, 15:19   #10
Binary Stylus
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks Deleauvive,

I'm there now. I'm not an authority on any of it, and I don't understand much of it. However I can now make it do what I'm after. So I'm really happy.

I guess it's just when you come to something new, like a new OS and a new Packaging tool, (WHDLoad), and a new Virtualisation technology, (WinUAE), I kind of got a little confused.

The only sure fire way to start to make it happen is to spend time working through it by myself.

I'm really grateful to the community for their support on these pages and on others and the efforts of those in the WHD project and its kin.

Many, Many thanks
Tim Bartlam
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CD+G setup? flibble42 support.WinUAE 24 18 January 2021 17:50
amiga computing vol 2 issue 1 (issue 13 anyone) Mort request.Other 0 30 November 2010 11:27
HDD setup pubzombie New to Emulation or Amiga scene 0 03 January 2010 01:51
setup help Terramex New to Emulation or Amiga scene 40 14 December 2008 04:41
Which prefabbed setup is best? Basquemactee1 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 19 09 June 2007 22:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08918 seconds with 13 queries