English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 January 2021, 07:36   #1
Chris71
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 6
A500 second disc drive problem

Hello

I have an A500 with a floppy disc boot selector and two drives (internal and a external drive)
The amiga will boot from either external drive or internal drive when selected. But once workbench is booted from either drive it will not recognize the other dive on the screen.
I.e boot workbench from internal drive "DF0" external drive "DF1" is not seen on the workbench screen.
When I change the boot selector it will boot from the external dive and the internal drive is not seen in workbench?

Any ideas.
Chris71 is offline  
Old 15 January 2021, 22:48   #2
Chris71
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 6
Ok I think I worked it out.
I disconnected the boot selector and you can see both drives plugged the selector back in and now if I boot from the internal drive I can see both drives (must have been not plugged in fully?) But if I boot from the external drive I can't see the internal drive.

I guess that's how its suppose to work by by passing the internal drive?
Chris71 is offline  
Old 16 January 2021, 07:51   #3
PDrill
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Finland
Posts: 59
I have a bootselector in my A500 and A600 and at least in one of them - pretty sure in both - the internal floppy gets disabled when external is used as DF0: but the when the internal is used as DF0: the external is also usable (as DF1.
PDrill is offline  
Old 16 January 2021, 09:17   #4
Heywood
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Brisbane/Australia
Posts: 39
From what I understand the built in floppy doesn’t have the external floppy detection circuitry that external drives have, so when the internal drive is set to act like df1 the Amiga isn’t aware the drive is present. It might be possible to add the drive detect logic to the internal drive?
Heywood is offline  
Old 16 January 2021, 20:58   #5
r.cade
Registered User
r.cade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Posts: 425
Send a message via AIM to r.cade Send a message via MSN to r.cade Send a message via Yahoo to r.cade
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris71 View Post
Ok I think I worked it out.
I disconnected the boot selector and you can see both drives plugged the selector back in and now if I boot from the internal drive I can see both drives (must have been not plugged in fully?) But if I boot from the external drive I can't see the internal drive.

I guess that's how its suppose to work by by passing the internal drive?
Yes.

You can get around it by booting the machine with the switcher disabled (internal drive enable) to the point where it requests workbench, then flip the switch. Both drives will still be detected, and reversed, at least until the next reset.
r.cade is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A500 Floppy Drive problem elspero support.Hardware 18 07 January 2016 11:36
Original disc - Floppy drive on PC - What now? B1MBLE New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 03 February 2014 13:31
Amiga A500 HD+ Impact Series II Hard Drive Power Problem flash1965 support.Hardware 3 19 May 2013 14:12
a500 Floppy disc issues- please help!! AMIGA_FAN_500 Amiga scene 5 26 September 2011 15:42
GVP HD8 for A500 Install Disc TheCorfiot request.Other 4 13 February 2008 16:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07470 seconds with 15 queries