English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

Old 18 August 2010, 15:37   #1
Jgames

Did you ever crack the protection for a game? (not for scene crackers)

Have you ever cracked a game just for you to play, or maybe spread, but without beign a dedicated cracker or part of a scene?

Back in the early 90's, i started playing EOB 2 on PC, reaching, the second underground level, a copy protection screen showed up, because i couldn't let go the game, i had to find a way to continue play no matter what.
I used pc-tools to show up the game code, and after some tries, found where the protection words were, and deleted or replaced them, and it worked.
Other games i did crack was Mortal Kombat and SSF2T, the protections were very simple, same as EOB 2.

There was a game i couldn't crack, it was Flashback , couldn't play it until a friend gave me his SNES with the game.
Old 18 August 2010, 16:22   #2
BrooksterMax

Not a code crack but I managed to get my Dad to photocopy the Monkey Island code wheel by carefully taking apart the wheel of a PC version a friend had. Had to alter some settings to get the best quality copy!
Old 18 August 2010, 16:33   #3
deicidal
Registered Insane

Quite a few PC titles, cant remember the name of the tsr monitor i used. Mainly just a case of circumventing the cd check.

Lucas arts talky adventures a piece of piss just copy the files appart from the audio file to the hdd, create an empty file with the same name and run the game with the command prompt to disable voice and put it in text mode.

Did a ripper tool for Dungeon Keeper (no actual protection in the game) as well to allow you to choose what you wanted installing to save on disk space.
Old 18 August 2010, 17:43   #4
sneeker

Amiga - Another world is the main one I remember doing.
PC - quite a few in the dos days, cant remember what they where though
Old 18 August 2010, 17:54   #5
jPV