English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 October 2022, 17:24   #1
Tavis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: San Diego / USA
Posts: 144
Strange adf issue between WinUAE and real Amiga computer

Hi, I’ve got a curious issue that I’m wondering if someone can answer.

Why is it that if I create a blank adf disk called “empty”, mount it in WinUAE, rename the disk “myStuff” , copy some files to it, and then eject it, quit, copy that same adf file to my gotek usb stick and mount it on my real Amiga, none of the changes have taken place and the disk mounts as “empty” still (no name change) and there are no files on the disk as if WinUAE did nothing. I then take the usb stick and re-mount it in WinUAE and it shows back up as “MyStuff” and all my files I put on the disk are there?
Tavis is offline  
Old 18 October 2022, 13:25   #2
80'$_Barbar1an
Registered User

80'$_Barbar1an's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: French Alps / France
Posts: 15
Encounter the same problem trying to read an adf diavolo rescue disk made with one winuae machine, when i put the adf and start another machine the disk is empty.


Give it a try with this blank adf : https://www.retro32.com/amiga-resour...&v=InIReYzqHiw
80'$_Barbar1an is offline  
Old 18 October 2022, 19:49   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 25,741
Sounds like some USB filesystem issue where different devices see different file contents. Perhaps FAT corruption?

It is impossible for ADF to have two different volume names simultaneously. Use hex editor to confirm, volume name is about in the middle of the adf file.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 18 October 2022, 23:49   #4
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,564
@Tavis
you could make a try: after you create an "empty" ADF in WinUAE, zip it. Mount zipped file; untick "write protected" (zip adf file are protected by default); write in it. In theory, file wrote in zipped adf should keep everything also when you esport it in other devices).

Last edited by Seiya; 18 October 2022 at 23:55.
Seiya is offline  
Old 28 November 2022, 04:34   #5
Tavis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: San Diego / USA
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Sounds like some USB filesystem issue where different devices see different file contents. Perhaps FAT corruption?

It is impossible for ADF to have two different volume names simultaneously. Use hex editor to confirm, volume name is about in the middle of the adf file.
I think it may have been FAT corruption. I don’t think Flashfloppy gotek software likes drives formatted on a Mac. I reformatted it on a PC and it seems to be happier.
Tavis is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange real amiga harddisk problem Laze support.WinUAE 3 05 November 2021 20:00
WinuAE + ADF-copy __ Read Real AmigaFloppy with WinUAE Giants support.WinUAE 14 02 May 2019 12:17
WinUAE 4.0.0 strange issue with Fullwindow mode and Yo Joe hexaae support.WinUAE 28 12 July 2018 23:42
Strange CD ISO issue in Winuae TreacleWench support.WinUAE 5 30 November 2012 16:44
strange partition beetwen winuae and real a1200 sink support.WinUAE 13 06 September 2007 00:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07336 seconds with 14 queries