English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 April 2018, 01:01   #1
DanScott
Lemon. / Core Design
 
DanScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Tier 5
Posts: 1,212
A2000/030 Level 7 Interrupt

We're trying to fix up our "The Fall" demo to work on all systems. This includes testing on as many real Amigas as we can.

Currently on an A2000/030 there's a Level 7 Interrupt being triggered that is being caught by our demo "kernel".

Does anyone know anything that could trigger a Level 7 on this hardware configuration?
DanScott is offline  
Old 06 April 2018, 02:46   #2
alpine9000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 881
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanScott View Post
We're trying to fix up our "The Fall" demo to work on all systems. This includes testing on as many real Amigas as we can.

Currently on an A2000/030 there's a Level 7 Interrupt being triggered that is being caught by our demo "kernel".

Does anyone know anything that could trigger a Level 7 on this hardware configuration?
Sorry I can't help you, I tried going down the path of handling all the various random interrupts that can be triggered by all kinds of things from network cards, expansion cards etc and in the end the only 100% reliable solution was to keep the OS running in the background and let the OS deal with it.
alpine9000 is offline  
Old 06 April 2018, 09:03   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,519
Unfortunately some hardware generate spurious interrupts. I remember seeing some setpatch/KS(?) update note that mentions NMI vector being changed to simple RTE due to these glitches. I have also seen it with ACA500+ and some 1200 accelerator combinations.

I don't think it is restricted to NMI but other spurious interrupts usually don't matter because most interrupt handlers check INTREQ which is always valid.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 06 April 2018, 09:38   #4
DanScott
Lemon. / Core Design
 
DanScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Tier 5
Posts: 1,212
Thanks Toni

Actually, we have had a spurious level 5 interrupt generated on another machine too.

We will patch all unwanted interrupt vectors to point to a simple RTE, this should be a workable solution.

Is $1f for Level 7 across all 680x0 processors, or is it specific to 68000 ? (that's a question from Leonard, who coded the demo system kernel)

Last edited by DanScott; 06 April 2018 at 09:44.
DanScott is offline  
Old 06 April 2018, 10:15   #5
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat
 
StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanScott View Post
We will patch all unwanted interrupt vectors to point to a simple RTE, this should be a workable solution.
That should do the trick.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanScott View Post
Is $1f for Level 7 across all 680x0 processors, or is it specific to 68000 ? (that's a question from Leonard, who coded the demo system kernel)
Level 7 vector is $7c.w which is valid for all 680x0 processors as long as the VBR is not moved.
StingRay is offline  
Old 06 April 2018, 10:58   #6
alpine9000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 881
So probably not an issue for a demo system, but something I ran into was for example I have a keyboard interrupt enabled and a network card is trying to interrupt on the same line, yet you can never acknowledge the network interrupt so it just bombards the system with interrupts and wastes CPU. Is there a non system friendly way of dealing with this or is just ignoring the interrupt the only way to deal with it?
alpine9000 is offline  
Old 06 April 2018, 18:20   #7
DanScott
Lemon. / Core Design
 
DanScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Tier 5
Posts: 1,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
That should do the trick.



Level 7 vector is $7c.w which is valid for all 680x0 processors as long as the VBR is not moved.
Thanks, I think Leonard will do it this way (we had a little look at some other demos, to see what they were doing too)
DanScott is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to make a level 7 interrupt button for a1200? spotUP Hardware mods 25 09 June 2020 13:19
Trigger level 7 interrupt geir support.FS-UAE 2 15 August 2015 22:45
level 7 interrupt on A600 xc8 Hardware mods 1 26 October 2008 14:53
Creating a Level 7 interrupt file for UAE redblade support.WinUAE 2 28 August 2005 23:49
Level 7 interrupt Kintaro support.WinUAE 1 21 January 2004 17:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:54.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09179 seconds with 13 queries