English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 13 June 2017, 08:20   #1
skoopi

Hooooo Amiga 600 video trouble

Hi everyone.
I am new here. I hope someone can help me resurecting an old broken A600 I bought as 'parts' for a dime. It's a PAL version.
My skill concerning electronics are average. I am not a pro. I have no scope, just basic stuff.
The initial situation was that the A600 booted but has no video sync. in the RGB output. The composite worked only when I plugged into my capture card when I set it to a strange PAL/60Hz mode. (or in NTSC but then it was b&w).

A few pins in the RGB port where bended (same thing in the Pcmcia port). The machine has had a bad times.

I tested the resistors around the RGB port and found R251 was burned out.
I soldered a new one and managed to get a picture thru the RGB port using a GBS8200 RGV2VGA converter. (I have no TV set)

R251 is in the Hsync line. I think a previous user shorter the 12V pin with the Hsync pin (they are very close) and the resistor acted like a fuse.

The picture is not perfect thought. The bottom lines are trash. At least the A600 is usable, and I can manage that by adjusting the overscan to avoid using the trashed lines.

I cant figure out what's going on. Seems like the number of lines is similar to an NTSC picture even thow this is a PAL model.

The 'PAL goodies' section of the motherboard is populated all right.

By the way, I later changed all electrolytic capacitors and removed the TV modulator in order to install an HDMI output (bought a Vampire2).

So ultimatly I will use HDMI, but I vould like to fix the RBG output anyway.

Some help will be greatly appreciated.

Skoopi.

Old 13 June 2017, 10:01   #2
Daedalus