English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 February 2021, 22:53   #1
Wepl
Moderator
 
Wepl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 866
HRTmon

I've made some changes on HRTmon and created a github repository. Download from
https://github.com/wepl/hrtmon/releases/tag/v2.38 or http://whdload.de/whdload/Tools/hrtmon238.lha

version 2.38 Feb 16 2021 (Wepl)
  • added a gnu Makefile to build all components
  • adapted C sources to build all using vbcc, the binaries became larger (assumed worse optimization compared to DICE) but I wanted to make them cross compile, no functional changes, should work as before, also no need to replace the binaries
  • added functions printf and _VSNPrintF
  • output of WHDLoad commands WLM and WI improved
  • new command TT to display the exec tasks
  • some dead code/data removed
  • created public repository at https://github.com/wepl/hrtmon
Wepl is offline  
Old 16 February 2021, 23:16   #2
jotd
This cat is no more
 
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 52
Posts: 8,160
way to make that gem eternal! thanks
jotd is offline  
Old 17 February 2021, 09:31   #3
CFou!
Moderator
 
CFou!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 50
Posts: 4,277
great
CFou! is offline  
Old 17 February 2021, 11:51   #4
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,303
HRTmon rocks! Tanks for developing.
daxb is offline  
Old 17 February 2021, 13:53   #5
kamelito
Zone Friend
 
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 1,801
https://lallafa.de/blog/2011/06/dice...isited-on-mac/
kamelito is offline  
Old 18 February 2021, 11:26   #6
phx
Natteravn
 
phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herford / Germany
Posts: 2,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wepl View Post
  • adapted C sources to build all using vbcc, the binaries became larger (assumed worse optimization compared to DICE)
More likely is some better optimization, which increases size because of function-inlining and loop-unrolling. I saw you used -O2 in the Makefile. If you want smaller binaries I would recommend -O1, which already does some good optimizations (but without global optimizer) and/or the -size option.
phx is offline  
Old 18 February 2021, 15:37   #7
CFou!
Moderator
 
CFou!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 50
Posts: 4,277
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wepl View Post
I've made some changes on HRTmon and created a github repository. Download from
https://github.com/wepl/hrtmon/releases/tag/v2.38 or http://whdload.de/whdload/Tools/hrtmon238.lha

version 2.38 Feb 16 2021 (Wepl)
  • added a gnu Makefile to build all components
  • adapted C sources to build all using vbcc, the binaries became larger (assumed worse optimization compared to DICE) but I wanted to make them cross compile, no functional changes, should work as before, also no need to replace the binaries
  • added functions printf and _VSNPrintF
  • output of WHDLoad commands WLM and WI improved
  • new command TT to display the exec tasks
  • some dead code/data removed
  • created public repository at https://github.com/wepl/hrtmon
Hi Bert,

Thanks for you great job.

What is the WLM & WI improvements?
CFou! is offline  
Old 18 February 2021, 18:51   #8
apex
Registered User
 
apex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 645
A stupid user guide how to use it as Action Replay replacement would be really nice. Including an example how to use the codes you can find in every old magazine.
apex is offline  
Old 18 February 2021, 22:50   #9
Wepl
Moderator
 
Wepl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 866
Quote:
Originally Posted by phx View Post
More likely is some better optimization, which increases size because of function-inlining and loop-unrolling. I saw you used -O2 in the Makefile. If you want smaller binaries I would recommend -O1, which already does some good optimizations (but without global optimizer) and/or the -size option.
the binaries become larger with O1:
-O1 -size -sc
Code:
 9964 18 Feb 22:44 HRTmon
17512 18 Feb 22:44 HRTmonPrefs
-O2 -size -sc
Code:
 9952 16 Feb 22:19 HRTmon
17508 16 Feb 22:19 HRTmonPrefs
But for me the size of the tools doesn't matter. Not worth to spend more time on it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CFOU! View Post
What is the WLM & WI improvements?
only made the textual output a bit nicer
Wepl is offline  
Old 19 February 2021, 11:40   #10
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,303
@apex:
Did you read this (german text)? Starting from "Multitasking-Killer": https://www.amigafuture.de/app.php/GTT/ws/freezer
AR is very similar to HRTmon. If you want to use it with WHDLoad the first command you want to execute is WI to get the needed address space. If you access other addresses you will get an access fault error or something similar. You will notice it. Everything else is knowing the commands, how Amiga hardware works and assembler. However, if you know how AR works you should be able to use HRTmon too.
daxb is offline  
Old 19 February 2021, 12:34   #11
phx
Natteravn
 
phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herford / Germany
Posts: 2,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wepl View Post
the binaries become larger with O1:
Ah, I see. There is not much code to optimize anyway. Then it's probably mainly the different size of vbcc/DICE startup codes and clib-init. You could try to link with minstartup.o or even without startup code.
phx is offline  
Old 19 February 2021, 13:06   #12
apex
Registered User
 
apex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
@apex:

Did you read this (german text)? Starting from "Multitasking-Killer": https://www.amigafuture.de/app.php/GTT/ws/freezer

AR is very similar to HRTmon. If you want to use it with WHDLoad the first command you want to execute is WI to get the needed address space. If you access other addresses you will get an access fault error or something similar. You will notice it. Everything else is knowing the commands, how Amiga hardware works and assembler. However, if you know how AR works you should be able to use HRTmon too.

I will check, thank you.
apex is offline  
Old 19 February 2021, 14:14   #13
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by apex View Post
I will check, thank you.
Sorry, I had a quick search to check my memory and found this old thread: https://www.a1k.org/forum/index.php?threads/3506/
Read it and smile. Similar/same discussion we had with the link to AF.
daxb is offline  
Old 19 February 2021, 16:16   #14
apex
Registered User
 
apex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 645
Lol, good to have the new search function.
apex is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HRTMon - Anyone still maintaining it? Galahad/FLT Coders. General 4 27 July 2020 11:26
HrtMon - wish it has ... amigoun support.Apps 8 25 May 2016 10:25
HRTmon known to work? Apollo support.FS-UAE 2 15 October 2013 15:55
HRTmon metalrules support.WinUAE 2 30 August 2006 18:53
HRTMon *** Version 2.25 *** Jim request.Apps 3 14 April 2004 16:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:18.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09035 seconds with 15 queries