English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 January 2006, 14:32   #1
pvt_beano
Registered User

pvt_beano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 27
Question A600 and PCMCIA SRAM cards

I've found this:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=423

And I want to know if any PCMCIA card will work? I've found a 2MB one made by Centennial and want to know if it will be compatible with my A600?

http://www.psism.com/sram.htm

Many thanks.
pvt_beano is offline  
Old 16 January 2006, 16:08   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 13,000
Yes they are compatible, but dont pay those prices. You can get 2mbyte cards for about £18 + postage and 4Mbyte cards for about £42 + postage.

There are lots on the market (especially in the US) as they used to be used as RAM cards for printers and the like.

The thing to watch out for are Toshiba Laptop cards. They are the right shape and size for a PCMCIA card however they have staggered pins and of course do not fit.

I thought about buying 5 * 4Mbyte cards recently however I decided I didnt want to get stuck with 4

Last edited by alexh; 17 January 2006 at 10:50.
alexh is online now  
Old 16 January 2006, 16:53   #3
pvt_beano
Registered User

pvt_beano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 27
Quote:
Yes they are compatible, but dont pay those prices. You can get 2mbyte cards for about £18 + postage and 4Mbyte cards for about £42 + postage.
I'm in the UK, are there any online retailers that offer SRAM cards at these prices and will ship to me?


Last edited by pvt_beano; 16 January 2006 at 17:10.
pvt_beano is offline  
Old 16 January 2006, 18:08   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 13,000
Yes, US company Sycom are selling them at those prices. The postage the to the UK for just 1 is the killer though. That is why I was going to get 5.

4 Mbyte@ £42

I wouldnt bother with anything other than the 4Mbyte ones.

Last edited by alexh; 16 January 2006 at 18:16.
alexh is online now  
Old 16 January 2006, 18:35   #5
pvt_beano
Registered User

pvt_beano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 27
Thanks Alex
pvt_beano is offline  
Old 16 January 2006, 20:05   #6
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 48
Posts: 1,536
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
ibm laptom mem cards are unusable too
it has pins
0-0-0-0
-0-0-0-

and pcmcia is

0-0-0-0
0-0-0-0


so it doeznt fyt
Chain is offline  
Old 20 January 2006, 16:35   #7
amethyst
Registered User
amethyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: England
Posts: 38
I've tried using an Epson SRAM pcmcia card in my A1200 in RAM mode but it kept crashing on start up. However, this card works fine in hard disk mode. When I check the status of the card in PrepCard it says it's 2Mb, 250ns and useable as RAM too. Maybe it's not compatible with the A1200. Could be the A1200 pcmcia reset bug as I haven't done that capacitor hardware fix on the reset line but I tried adding the CardReset and CardPatch (from aminet) on startup. Not sure if they actually work though.

Stranger still is that it works fine on my A600 in both RAM and disk mode. Think I'll probably end up using it with the A600.
amethyst is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to set up Pretec 4MB PCMCIA SRAM on A600? onlychipmem support.Hardware 7 10 March 2012 00:00
2MB PCMCIA SRAM card for A600 TjLaZer MarketPlace 0 01 July 2011 07:00
PCMCIA SRAM cards as Fast RAM (A600) Nitrobeast support.Hardware 12 23 July 2008 19:54
1gb SRAM PCMCIA cards in A600 Magno Boots support.Hardware 4 06 April 2008 22:08
512kb & 1Mb PCMCIA SRAM Mem cards - for Amiga 1200 / 600 on ebay drebhaklett MarketPlace 0 25 February 2005 01:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08307 seconds with 13 queries