English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Amiga Forever

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 March 2023, 03:22   #1
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,516
SPS Plugin

(Update: This was just me being stupid and getting them backwards...)

Is there a trick / special version to get this working in AmigaForever?
I followed these instructions from the website:
-Download the SPS User Plugin for Windows from the SPS (formerly CAPS) site.
-Extract the content of the archive, including the 32-bit and 64-bit versions of the CAPSImg.dll files, to the relevant "Common Files/Software Preservation Society" directories.
-On a 32-bit system, the 32-bit version of the file would normally be copied to "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Software Preservation Society".
-On a 64-bit system, the 64-bit and the 32-bit versions of the file would be copied to "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Software Preservation Society" and "C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Software Preservation Society", respectively.

I downloaded version 5.1 from the SPS site and did the above. I had to create the "Software Preservation Society" directory, and I copied/pasted the filename from the instructions above.
Here is the path to the 64 bit version:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Software Preservation Society
and here is the path to the 32 bit version:
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Software Preservation Society
(I just copied and pasted, so that is the full names of the directories where the versions of CAPSImg.dll are copied.)

Doesn't work.

I copied the 64-bit version of the CAPSImg.dll file to the directory where WinUAE64.exe is and I then ran WinUAE64.exe and it worked fine.

But I haven't been able to get it to work from within AmigaForever .(Launching the system first (A500), and then adding the IPF. It gives me an error about needing the SPS library.)
I am running AmigaForever version 10.0.13.0...

Thoughts?

It's not critical, as I can launch it from WinUAE directly, but wouldn't mind getting it working when launched from AmigaForever.

Thanx

Last edited by desiv; 10 March 2023 at 16:52.
desiv is online now  
Old 10 March 2023, 06:03   #2
Snoopy1234
Registered User

Snoopy1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 341
I have v5.1 64 bit .dll in "Program Files/Common Files/ Software Pres...."
and v 5.1 32 bit .dll in "Program Files(x86)/Common Files/ Software Pres..."

so try them in opposite folders than you have. You've contradicted yourself between your first two paragraphs on this post...

Last edited by Snoopy1234; 10 March 2023 at 06:49. Reason: info
Snoopy1234 is online now  
Old 10 March 2023, 06:51   #3
Snoopy1234
Registered User

Snoopy1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 341
your first 2 paragraphs on this post contradict each other.
Snoopy1234 is online now  
Old 10 March 2023, 16:43   #4
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,516
Thanx,

One of those was a typo, but I can't remember now which.. ;-)

Possible I got them backwards! I'll try that! I should have thought of that, especially knowing myself..
desiv is online now  
Old 10 March 2023, 16:51   #5
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,516
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snoopy1234 View Post
so try them in opposite folders than you have. You've contradicted yourself between your first two paragraphs on this post...
Aarggh!

D'oh!

That was it.

Thanx!
desiv is online now  
Old 10 March 2023, 23:01   #6
Snoopy1234
Registered User

Snoopy1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by desiv View Post
Thanx,

One of those was a typo, but I can't remember now which.. ;-)

Possible I got them backwards! I'll try that! I should have thought of that, especially knowing myself..
I do. I think the same way. Reading your post, I was sure the 64 bit version goes in Program Files(x86) because 64 bit and x86 are the same or at least closer together and the 32 bit bit file goes in the unmarked folder on a 64 bit Windows. How wrong I had to remember that x86 are from the 486 pre-Pentium days of the late '80's - 90's.

Last edited by Snoopy1234; 10 March 2023 at 23:06. Reason: more
Snoopy1234 is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cybergraphics plugin vampire v4 help Jay22 support.Apps 2 16 April 2020 19:11
Sps Ipf??? [SPS vs. ADF dats] NLS project.MAGE 7 10 August 2008 17:41
CAPS (SPS) Plugin... DamienD project.SPS (was CAPS) 8 08 November 2005 09:27
mod plugin Carlos Ace request.Apps 5 30 August 2002 22:13
Mod Plugin in IE6? roaster Retrogaming General Discussion 3 08 February 2002 23:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10430 seconds with 15 queries