English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 May 2021, 14:45   #61
DamienD
Banned
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 20,378
@BSzili; no biggie but on occasion I'm getting crashes with "Return to Ruins":
This happens on the first stage, after the moving platform on rails, and if I fall into the lava / die.
DamienD is offline  
Old 06 May 2021, 18:06   #62
BSzili
Registered User

BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 441
Oh boy, that doesn't look too good. That error means the player somehow ended up in the void. Could you make a screenshot of the place where this happens?
BSzili is offline  
Old 06 May 2021, 19:04   #63
rabidgerry
Registered User

rabidgerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: N.Ireland/Belfast
Posts: 801
Runs really good on my Apollo 1260. Probably better than Duke 3d and Shadow Warrior. I aint dabbled with any music files for any of those games but I will get round to it. Amazing work BTW, this game seems really cool. I don't see a save feature, isn't there one? Or am I blind?
rabidgerry is offline  
Old 06 May 2021, 19:14   #64
BSzili
Registered User

BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 441
Thanks! Exhumed has a bit simpler levels, and it doesn't use sloped floors, so probably that's why it runs a bit faster. There are no in-level saves, it uses lives and checkpoints similar to Dark Forces. I definitely recommend playing with music, Scott Branston composed some amazing tracks for the game. I could listen to the menu music for hours.
BSzili is offline  
Old 06 May 2021, 19:54   #65
DamienD
Banned
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 20,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSzili View Post
Oh boy, that doesn't look too good. That error means the player somehow ended up in the void. Could you make a screenshot of the place where this happens?
Sure

It's basically this part:
...and then when I fall into the lava and walk forward I should usually die, which worked this time without the crash:
I guess it occurs sometimes when you hands are morphing into the dead ones.
DamienD is offline  
Old 06 May 2021, 20:10   #66
rabidgerry
Registered User

rabidgerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: N.Ireland/Belfast
Posts: 801
I just played it for half an hour there, really good game!! Interesting them as well. Ok I shall have to sort the music out then
rabidgerry is offline  
Old 06 May 2021, 20:46   #67
Estrayk
Registered User

Estrayk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSzili View Post
similar to Dark Forces.

OFFTOPIC:

https://github.com/Mindwerks/XLEngine

I dont like to make requests to the coders, but this time I have to ask, any possibility of having dark forces one day in Amiga BSzili?
Estrayk is offline  
Old 06 May 2021, 21:34   #68
BSzili
Registered User

BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Sure

It's basically this part:
...and then when I fall into the lava and walk forward I should usually die, which worked this time without the crash:
I guess it occurs sometimes when you hands are morphing into the dead ones.
Drats. As expected it didn't crash for me there. I once encountered this in one of the original levels, so I was hoping I'll be able to catch it this time. I guess the best I can do is add some checks to prevent moving the player's sprite to an invalid sector. Hopefully the side-effects won't be too bad.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Estrayk View Post

OFFTOPIC:

https://github.com/Mindwerks/XLEngine

I dont like to make requests to the coders, but this time I have to ask, any possibility of having dark forces one day in Amiga BSzili?
No, at least not based on XLEngine, as it was built using then modern techniques.
BSzili is offline  
Old 06 May 2021, 21:35   #69
DamienD
Banned
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 20,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSzili View Post
Drats. As expected it didn't crash for me there. I once encountered this in one of the original levels, so I was hoping I'll be able to catch it this time. I guess the best I can do is add some checks to prevent moving the player's sprite to an invalid sector. Hopefully the side-effects won't be too bad.
It seems to be intermittent; I guess out of 6 tries it occurred 3 times.
DamienD is offline  
Old 06 May 2021, 21:38   #70
BSzili
Registered User

BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 441
I tried about a dozen times, but nothing happened. I guess catching it early can't be as bad as exiting the game with the error.
BSzili is offline  
Old 06 May 2021, 22:36   #71
Havie
Registered User
Havie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,146
Had a very quick go on my V1200 - really fast and smooth. Will be spending some time on this at the weekend.
Havie is online now  
Old 06 May 2021, 23:00   #72
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,216
Works as expected both of my 68060 Amigas Apollo 80mhz and Blizzard 66mhz

Bad that there is no timedemo option. Apollo has a Idefix Express and Blizzard has FastATA so hard drive should not be a limit.
utri007 is offline  
Old 06 May 2021, 23:53   #73
Havie
Registered User
Havie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,146
OK - had to have another go before going to bed! Tried 640x480 and seems pretty fast. Enjoying the game and you are right, nothing like the PS1 version I remember.
Havie is online now  
Old 07 May 2021, 05:43   #74
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,754
Nice port and game! Runs very nice on my V2 A1200. But I did notice on the left side of the screen a single white pixel running vertical. (Using NTSC mode)


TjLaZer is offline  
Old 07 May 2021, 06:30   #75
BSzili
Registered User

BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by utri007 View Post
Works as expected both of my 68060 Amigas Apollo 80mhz and Blizzard 66mhz

Bad that there is no timedemo option. Apollo has a Idefix Express and Blizzard has FastATA so hard drive should not be a limit.
I don't think any of the Build games had a timedemo or benchmark feature.
If you have enough memory, the game preloads 99% of the graphics by the time you start a level, so disk speed shouldn't be an issue either way.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Havie View Post
OK - had to have another go before going to bed! Tried 640x480 and seems pretty fast. Enjoying the game and you are right, nothing like the PS1 version I remember.
The setting, weapons and enemies are the same for the most part, but it has its unique levels and game mechanics. This was also the first version to start development, originally under 3D Realms, but later they split off.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
Nice port and game! Runs very nice on my V2 A1200. But I did notice on the left side of the screen a single white pixel running vertical. (Using NTSC mode)
(...)
That's a side effect of color #0 being a bright color in Exhumed's palette. I did my best to get rid of it, I clear the whole native screen with a black color after opening and I turn on the border blanking. My guess is that there's a slight timing issue with the monitor driver that turns on the "electron beam" a little too early. Unfortunately there's not much I can do here, maybe some tweaking of the monitor values can get rid of it, but I never touched those.

Last edited by BSzili; 07 May 2021 at 06:47.
BSzili is offline  
Old 07 May 2021, 07:51   #76
AmyMor
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Calvi Risorta
Posts: 70
I played a bit without going into it and I must say it looks very interesting!

Tested on AMIGA1200 with VampireV2 I confirm that both executables 040-060 work in the same way.

Very fast and super-fluid!
AmyMor is offline  
Old 07 May 2021, 08:33   #77
Havie
Registered User
Havie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmyMor View Post
I played a bit without going into it and I must say it looks very interesting!

Tested on AMIGA1200 with VampireV2 I confirm that both executables 040-060 work in the same way.

Very fast and super-fluid!

I tried both executables and 060 ran in wrong screen mode with doubled graphics. Changed this from the console and it was ok but had graphic glitches appearing. But not really an issue as 040 version is nice and fast.
Havie is online now  
Old 11 May 2021, 06:40   #78
BSzili
Registered User

BSzili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 441
A new version is up. I added a workaround against the occasional "DoKenTest" error and fixed the Caps Lock key shifting behavior in the console. Unless any major issues crop up, this is going to be the release candidate.
BSzili is offline  
Old 11 May 2021, 09:24   #79
Evillord68
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Euerbach/Germany
Posts: 5
@BSzili: thank you great work.
Evillord68 is offline  
Old 11 May 2021, 21:40   #80
Havie
Registered User
Havie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,146
One question about the CD32 controls! What are they?

I have psx to Amiga adaptor and when I put it in CD32 mode it works but I can only move, fire and if I hold down circle button I can strafe left/right. Should I be able to crouch, jump and pull switches via the pad?
Havie is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EON AMIGA AGA - New Amiga port teased by AmigaWave/Goblin Neil79 Amiga scene 106 05 May 2021 14:41
Knightlore amiga port... SyX Amiga scene 55 22 August 2016 20:05
Wonder Dog - Sega Mega-CD and Amiga port enhanced for the Amiga CD32 Neil79 project.CD32 Conversion 2 22 March 2016 01:17
Using PotGo on Mouse Port (Port 0)? Daedalus Coders. System 14 02 March 2016 20:44
Serial port, parallel port, and pipe device mount errors Samurai_Crow support.FS-UAE 4 13 March 2014 00:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.18853 seconds with 13 queries